Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Coping with illness

By Randy A. Salas


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Blogs aren't just for politics, techno-babble, entertainment and other common topics. People suffering from serious illnesses use them to help cope, to let friends and relatives know how they are doing, and to serve as a resource and inspiration for others. Here are some of their stories and struggles.

www.npr.org/mycancer

Former ABC News and CBS News journalist Leroy Sievers maintains the most visible blog on today's subject as he chronicles his fight with cancer for National Public Radio and its website. "After that day, your life is never the same," he says in an introduction. " 'That day' is the day the doctor tells you, 'You have cancer.' " Besides written updates each weekday, the site offers podcasts of his monthly NPR commentaries and weekly audio segments. You can also sign up for e-mail updates.

Recent entry: "I'm starting to feel like a human being again," he wrote, after being taken off nauseating chemotherapy treatment early. "For the time being, even if it's just a day or two, I just want to feel like myself. It feels good."

www.healthdiaries.com/blogs/pilgrim

Pilgrim -- she doesn't reveal her real identity -- chronicles her struggles with dissociative disorder in her blog Pilgrim's Journey. "Although there are many people who share my body with me," the young woman writes in her intro, "we are all learning to work together and live a better life." Her entries often include frank language.

Recent entry: "Inside I was just crying and feeling like a total freak and an idiot," she writes about a trip to the fabric store in which she lost a receipt for her cutting order, requiring a manager's intervention. "Why can't I just go to the store and do a NORMAL THING like normal people? Why does it have to be so complicated?"

grove.ufl.edu/~johndon/blog

For more than two years, Florida resident Jacki Donaldson has been recounting her "journey with breast cancer." Besides writing about being a survivor of a disease that kills an estimated 40,000 U.S. women each year, she helps run the informational Cancer Blog (www.thecancerblog.com).

Recent entry: "Two years ago, I wanted another baby. Instead, I got breast cancer. ... If I never have another child, I will be OK. Because I have my life. And I am thankful to simply be alive."

www.kweaver.org/blog

In Living With Diabetes, Texas teacher Kathleen Weaver writes about "how I cope with and deal with diabetes on a day-to-day basis."

Recent entry: "Dealing with diabetes makes it worse," she says about traveling. "I have to bring at least one extra bag of stuff and of course have the constant worry. I e-mail my husband at every stop and tell him where I am, just in case. ... Diabetes lurks behind almost every thought."

www.lithiumsea.blogspot.com

Lithium Sea isn't written by someone with a mental illness, but by someone it affects: "a mother struggling to help her son who is bipolar and possibly schizophrenic, as well as trying to heal after her son's attempted suicide."

Recent entry: "Though relieved I knew this mood could be a symptom of mania," she says after her grown-up son, David, turned unexpectedly cheery during a phone call with her after a rocky weekend. "I reminded him to take his medicine, told him I loved him, and bid him goodnight -- then like many other nights I lay in bed praying that the goodnight would not turn into goodbye."

www.caringbridge.org

If you're suffering from a serious illness or know someone who is, writing about your experiences might help you cope and keep the people who care about you informed, even if it's done more privately than in today's examples. The nonprofit website Caring Bridge offers free blogging space that can be visited only by those people with whom you choose to share it.

Donate to JWR


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Randy A. Salas is a columnist for the Minneapolis Star Tribune. Do you have a favorite Web site or a question about how to find something on the Internet? Send a note by clicking here.



Previously:

Some serious face time
In reply to your e-mail ...
Turn your handwriting into a computer-based font that will allow you to churn out homespun greetings
Music for everyone
'Elusive planet' can be viewed clearly from Earth with the naked eye
Central characters
E-mail @ 35
Idle chatter
Funny money
Classic artwork in motion
For an unusual Thanksgiving
Your slip is showing
Best of the worst
Test your mind power
Remain anonymous

© 2006, Star Tribune Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles