Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 16, 2005 / 15 Kislev, 5766

'Tis the season to re-gift

By Lori Borgman

Lori Borgman
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | What do you know? It turns out women do it, men do it, even etiquette mavens do it.


They re-gift.


Re-gifting is when you give someone a gift that someone else gave to you.


Re-gifting may be the only trend in our lifetimes in which the husband and I are ahead of the curve.


When we were married, a friend of the family gave us a large, framed picture titled The Feast. To envision this work of art, picture medieval peasants crowded around a long banquet table. Some are sprawled in their chairs with their boots on the table, passed out cold. Others are two sheets to the wind, gnawing on mastodon bones, knocking over beer steins and grabbing at the voluptuous barmaids.


We were young, starting out, and not too bright. We were also invited to an open house for a sophisticated couple that was into goat cheese, artichoke leaves, designer shoes and 5,000-thread-count linens. So we gave them The Feast.


Word got back to us they suspected it was a re-gift.


"We should take that as a compliment," I told the husband.


"Absolutely," he said. "They expected something classier from us -- something like those dogs playing poker."


When my parents opened gifts after their golden wedding anniversary bash, I urged my mother not to open a gigantic box of Godiva chocolates.


"We've had our sugar quota for the century," I said. "Why not pass those along to someone else?"


My mother paused briefly, considered my suggestion, and tore open the chocolates. Inside was one colossal chocolate blob oozing hazelnut praline. Whoever gave the Godivas had transported them in the trunk of their car. In August. That is what you call a re-gift near miss.


Despite potential hazards, people have been quietly re-gifting for years. Take fruitcake. Please. And don't gift it back.


When potpourri was all the craze, we were so heavily endowed that I began sprinkling it in dresser drawers. The day the husband came home from work, pulled a cinnamon stick and dried apple out of his pocket and asked why I was making him smell like hot cider was the day I considered re-gifting our surplus potpourri.


The few times I have re-gifted, I've always felt a twinge of guilt. But we live in a world of excess, and re-gifting just keeps the merchandise moving. Waste not, want not.


The other problem is that once you start to re-gift, you begin wondering which of your gifts were re-gifts? And has a re-gift ever made the journey back to the original gifter? Did The Feast ever find a happy home? Did the Magi re-gift, or were those originals?


It eases my mind to know that Emily Post has given the nod of approval to re-gifting as long as it is done discreetly. This probably means not re-gifting used gifts, worn gifts and popcorn tins with the cheese flavored section half-empty. And, unless you want to sit alone at the next family reunion, do not pass a relative's gift to another relative. Oh yes, you should also be careful to remove all gift cards, name tags and crinkled tissue paper in the gift bag.


When it comes to giving, the important thing is not the gift but the thought behind the gift. Well, that and not leaving a paper trail.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lori Borgman is the author of , most recently, "Pass the Faith, Please" (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) and I Was a Better Mother Before I Had Kids To comment, please click here. To visit her website click here.

ARCHIVES

© 2005, Lori Borgman

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles