Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 19, 2013/ 16 Kislev, 5774

If Bill Clinton Becomes First Lady

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Last week, when Bill Clinton said President Obama should allow people to keep their health-insurance coverage - an early attempt to distance Hillary and himself from ObamaCare - I began to worry that the Clintons may be serious about another run at the White House.

I surely don't want Hillary to be our next president, but I think it would be great if Bill became America's first "first guy."

How can you not like the man? He's clever and witty. He was born into modest circumstances and, through his considerable wits, achieved a fine education and navigated his way into the biggest job in the world.

The truth is, I'd love to have a beer with him. I'd love to hear about the incredible experiences he has had in his truly remarkable life - but only if I am assured that my sisters are out of town.

If Bill ever does become first guy, we can only imagine what kind of trouble he might get into.

He'd probably stroll around the White House in a Hugh Hefner robe, chomping on roast beef sandwiches and winking at the staff. He'd probably ban children from the White House Easter Egg Roll and invite coeds.

Always a pragmatic Democrat, he'd outsource the White House kitchen to Hooters. He'd establish a Domino's franchise in the Blue Room. He'd auction the Lincoln Bedroom to the highest bidder.



Goodness knows what his "first lady"-style mission would be. Michelle Obama promotes good nutrition for kids. Laura Bush promoted literacy. Barbara Bush promoted volunteerism. Nancy Reagan, as part of her "Just Say No" campaign, discouraged drug use.

I think Bill would embrace "Just Say No," too - "Just Say No to Hillary."

With Bill as First Guy, there would likely be many embarrassments.

While Hillary meets the leaders and dignitaries of other countries, Bill, like all first ladies before him, would be tasked with entertaining their spouses. What could go wrong there?

First ladies often direct remodeling at the White House. Under Bill's direction, would the billiard room be turned into a beer-pong parlor?

What would happen if Bill takes "Department of Veterans Affairs" literally?

America is really struggling these days. Our economy continues to sputter and our debt keeps getting racked up.

Our government's attempt to transform America's health-care system is an unmitigated disaster and nobody knows how the chaos will further harm our already shaky economy.

Our freedoms are suffering now that the government is meddling with the most personal of matters, health care, and dictating how and when we go about getting it.

Boy, do we need some comic relief about now.

But, unlike many presidents before him, President Obama is just unable to provide it. Like or hate his policies, there just isn't much about Obama that is very funny.

Like I said, I hope Hillary doesn't become our next president, but if she does, Bill would become first guy and America would get its sense of humor back.

With Bill as First Guy, Hillary would need another "don't ask, don't tell" policy - not for the military, but for the White House.

America would need to establish a special Secret Service detail - not to protect Bill from the public, but the public from Bill.

Bill would be good for the economy, too. T-shirt and bumper-sticker sales would soar. This one would be a best-seller:

"What happens in the White House, stays in the White House."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR Contributor Tom Purcell, author of 'Misadventures of a 1970's Childhood,' is a nationally syndicated columnist. Comment by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2013, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast