Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 25, 2013/ 23 Kislev, 5774

Obamacare --- Big Business Gets Screwed Again

By Bruce Bialosky




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | As a columnist I am supposed to dispassionately convey a viewpoint to educate my readers about the topic du jour. But I am hopping mad. Not at Obama or Queen Kathleen because I lost faith and confidence in those two long ago. After the escapades of the last week, my anger is totally focused on the leaders of the businesses who are in cahoots with Obamacare -- either through providing insurance or working on the website. Once again big business allowed their greed to cause them to be exposed to politicians defaming them.

After more than three years of working hand-in-hand with the people trying to nationalize health care in this country, health insurance companies have found out who is going to get the blame when things go wrong. Our President, trapped in a downward spiral that even his political allies could not tolerate any longer, called an audible. Finding that the country would not tolerate millions of Americans having their health insurance plans cancelled to accomplish Obama's goal of a nationalized health industry, Obama offered a one-year reprieve so that Democrats in Congress would be able to continue on their sinking ship past election day -- November 4, 2014. With senators and congressmen seeing their future without their free health insurance, they forced Obama to care politically about someone other than himself. But the problem is Obama's solution is nearly totally unworkable, and when it fails there will be someone to blame -- and it will not be politicians.

It goes even deeper than that. The insurance companies have known for a long time that they were going to be cancelling the policies of just about one in the individual insurance marketplace. If they were honest with their customers and they were not in cahoots with Obama and his cronies, they would have warned Americans about this looming disaster ages ago. They knew this before the election last year, but kept their mouths shut. The only rationale for such behavior is they saw that they were going to line their own pockets; i.e., greed.

In fact, they have been keeping their mouths shut about the coming Tsunami. While the President and his human mouthpiece (Jay Carney) minimize the pain of 16 million Americans as only "5% of Americans," the truth is that almost every small business health care plan is going to be cancelled by the end of 2014. That is tens of millions of Americans. The only reason they have not been cancelled is the illegal reprieve given to business plans by the President. I know; I have a small business health insurance plan myself and I have been informed by multiple authorities that the cancellation notices are coming. The reason the insurance companies are not telling us the truth about that is — yes, you guessed it — greed.



If you are not sure I am correct, then take it from Karen Ignagni, President and CEO of AHIP (America's Health Insurance Plans), which is the industry's trade group. On their website they bill themselves as "one of the most effective trade associations in Washington D.C." When appearing on Fox News Sunday, she was asked by host Chris Wallace a direct question: "When the President was going around the country promising 'if you like your plan, you can keep your plan', did you know that was not possible under the terms of Obamacare?" Her answer "Chris, I am not in the blame game biz," and then she went on.

I am not against greed. I agree with Gordon Gekko from the movie Wall Street when he said "Greed is good." But everything has its limits, and in this case the limit is counterbalanced by one of my favorite sayings "There is a responsibility level to being a Capitalist." When Capitalists act irresponsibly, the Socialists in our country pounce with new laws and restrictions on our activities. There is always a bigger picture than just lining your own pockets. It may not be illegal what the Health Insurers are doing, but it certainly is immoral.

The health insurance companies should have seen this coming. They could have learned from recent episodes where politicians ran and hid after creating the conditions for the housing collapse. Or they could have seen the pounding that Jaime Dimon has taken from the government after they begged him and JP Morgan to take over failing companies during the 2008 financial crisis. The government is now extracting penalties from his company for the actions of the acquired companies in the period prior to acquisition. Get it straight — when you get in bed with leftist politicians they are always going to run for the hills when there is a problem, and it is guaranteed they are going to blame capitalist greed for their failed policies.

It is very interesting the difference in the attitude of small business and big business. Almost universally, small business people loathe government. They see governments as troublesome and invasive. Small business owners want the government as far away as possible. But big business is different. I am reminded of the conversation I had with a big businessman in September, 2010. He told me his cronies were leaning toward supporting Jerry Brown for Governor of California over Meg Whitman (former CEO of EBay, now CEO of HP) because Brown would be better for business (i.e. their business). We were in a social situation so I was unable to ask "Are you out of your mind?" No, they were just greedy. The proposed change by President Obama cannot work; and, if it were able to work, it would only last until after his comrades in Congress miss the chopping block in 2014. When it does not work Obama, Queen Kathleen, the Undertaker and Ms. Nancy will blame the insurance companies, and we will be one step closer to socialized medicine.

Thus, Ms. Ignagni -- please ask your board: is being in bed with Obama on this worth it to you and the American people? I would suggest it is now time to come clean on what a mess the government has made of the health insurance situation and help to salvage a free America.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Bruce Bialosky is the founder of the Republican Jewish Coalition of California and a former Presidential appointee.


Previously:


11/18/13 Shocking News: Dems Want New 'Revenues'
11/11/13 Do You Want A Nationalized Drug Industry?
11/04/13 Obamacare Schadenfreude
10/28/13 The Second Biggest Issue in America
10/21/13 The New Welfare State





© 2013, Bruce Bialosky

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast