Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 14, 2013 / 10 Mar-Cheshvan, 5774

Out of the mouths of politicians --- huh?

By Ann McFeatters




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It turns out that the one-syllable expression "huh?" is universally understood, no matter the continent, the country or the culture.

Researchers at the Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics in the Netherlands said that even "mama" doesn't translate as widely as everyman's "Huh?"

While linguists ponder the wonder of this, it occurs to us that politicians across the globe have come up with universal phrases that everyone everywhere understands.

For example, there is the ubiquitous, "I'll have to get back to you on that," which obviously means, "I haven't a clue what this is all about or what I am supposed to say. I need my people to brief me. Help me out here, people."

Then there is, "I am resigning to spend more time with my family." This is the accepted phrasing for "I really, really messed up and nobody will look me in the eye again so I have to go home where they have to take you in no matter what you have done."

And who hasn't snickered at "We had a frank and candid discussion with the president." It needs no explanation that this means "we absolutely couldn't agree on a single thing and the old muttonhead is so stubborn he won't give us the time of day."

A personal favorite is "We have come across a few irregularities but nothing that can't be straightened out." We know from recent experience that this means, "Corruption! You want to talk about corruption! We found it up to our eyeballs. But, legally, we haven't got a smoking gun so nobody's going to jail."



Innumerable times on the floors of the House or Senate we hear: "I would like to associate myself with the remarks of my worthy colleague." What we are really being told is "I am too lazy to write my own remarks, but if I don't support Joe's bill, he won't support mine."

How many times we have heard this one: "We must support the family; we must shore up the family; the family is all-important." What is meant is this: "If I say enough times how much I support families, nobody will notice that I propose cutting food stamps, health care, after-school programs, pre-school programs and funding for family services."

In campaign season we can't turn on TV without hearing, "I have traveled across this great country and listened to the people and they are begging me to run to help take back this country and make it great again." That means, "I have enough people willing to donate to my campaign because they believe as I do that there is too much regulation on business and that rich people who make a lot of money are unfairly targeted by tax collectors. Besides, I don't have anything better to do."

The current mantra on the right side of the aisle is this: "Government isn't going to help you get ahead. It's going to hold you back." What that really says is, "You're on your own, sucker. Forget about clean air and water and housing subsidies and affordable college loans and Head Start and toxic dump cleanup and consumer protection and help for disabled veterans."

So then you hear politicians ranting about the $17 trillion national debt that amounts to $53,000 owed per person, and your response is "Huh?"

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:


11/14/13: American adults lack life skills, tests indicate
10/07/13: Finally sometyhing America is No. 1 in
06/21/13: Obama is guiding us toward a slippery slope in Syria
06/14/13: Summer '13 offers rays of sunshine for Americans
03/13/13: Democratic Party, stuck in a sorry state
03/13/13: In Washington, signs of civility emerge
02/22/13: The start of World War III? Why China's cyber hacking is frightening to the United States
02/01/13: Buy American and rebuild an economy
01/18/13: There should be a (nother) law: No super-whoopee inaugurations for second-term presidents
11/29/12: Congress hates us
11/16/12: A holiday gift guide for our politicians
08/10/12: Rise in independent voters imperils moderates
07/23/12: Looking forward to the presidential debates
07/13/12: A do-nothing Congress exacts high costs
06/25/12: Take a vacation: It's your duty
06/19/12: Dems: 'Do something'
04/30/12: Will Mitt Romney finally let a hair down?
04/23/12: Warning: Nasty presidential race ahead
04/02/12: We need to talk about aging
03/26/12: A Clinton-Bush matchup in 2016?
03/19/12: Autumn presidential debate topics lining up nicely
03/12/12: Unpacking presidential campaign myths
03/05/12: Time for Romney's vision, not goofiness, gaffes
01/13/12: Romney makes life difficult with many flubs
11/24/11: Obama has most to fear from Huntsman
10/04/11: Romney looks like ‘The One’
09/28/11: At last some good news on energy
09/21/11: Time to make pols squirm
08/29/11: America still shows the power of the individual
08/17/11: Like us, Lady Liberty in disrepair, but still strong




© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast