Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 14, 2012/ 29 Mar-Cheshvan, 5773

Petraeus Dumb, She's Dumber

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | David Petraeus never should have resigned as director of the Central Intelligence Agency because he was involved in a sex scandal.

Petraeus should have resigned because, if he were any more dimwitted, you would have had to water him.

I know this is not what we have been told for years about Petraeus. I know we have been told he is some kind of towering genius: West Point grad, Princeton PhD, four-star general. But add one other quality: blockhead.

No, not because he committed adultery. Adultery is commonplace in our society. It may someday be mandatory.

And his paramour was perfect for him. Paula Broadwell — a name, as someone said, that could have come from a James Bond novel — is also a West Point grad, has a master's degree from Harvard and is a fitness freak with biceps that could crush walnuts.

Oh, yeah, one more thing: She is as smart as a bag of hammers.

Leaving aside the sordid, yet fascinating, details — as CIA director Petraeus demanded fresh pineapple be placed by his bedside every night — here is what did in these two soaring intellects:

Petraeus sends Broadwell sexually explicit messages through his Gmail account, messages so explicit that they leave no doubt in the minds of FBI investigators that the two are having an affair.

Got that? The head of the Central Intelligence Agency thinks Gmail accounts are secure and untraceable. What, he couldn't have checked with a tech-savvy 12-year-old first? (Which is about every 12-year-old in America.)

Still, Petraeus might have skated, kept the affair private, gone on to a life of running clandestine operations for his country during the day and consuming tropical fruits at night.

But no, Paula Broadwell sends a series of allegedly threatening messages to a woman she thinks might be a rival for Petraeus' affections. These messages apparently are so aggressive that the woman goes to the FBI. Oh, yeah, I am forgetting one thing: Broadwell sends these message from an email account she shares with her husband.

Wow. I am surprised the spymaster and his Harvard-educated girlfriend didn't decide to conduct their affair by Podcast.

And just to add to the general weirdness of the story, the Wall Street Journal reported Monday evening that an FBI agent involved in the case is under investigation for allegedly sending shirtless photos of himself to the woman Broadwell was allegedly harassing. But this is collateral damaged.

Some see the main story as involving two brilliant people brought low by true love. I don't see it that way. Petraeus and Broadwell are not Abelard and Heloise. They are more like Dumb and Dumber.(cq)

When Bill Clinton was caught in a sex scandal, he acted sensibly: He lied through his teeth until they came up with the DNA.

Not Petraeus. He folded immediately when the FBI confronted him and admitted everything. Still, Petraeus did not have to resign. The FBI determined he did not breach any security, nor had he committed any crime. Clinton gutted it out and today is one of the most popular figures in the world.

But fooling around always had been part of Clinton's good ole boy image. Not Petraeus. His image was so straitlaced that it was almost sexless. "I spent a lot of time with him, and I never heard him say, 'Wow, she was hot,'?" one former aide told the Washington Post. "I never recalled hearing him say anything crass or even mentioning the good looks of a person."

That was not the Petraeus way. He was intent on building his image and (mainly) seducing people who could help him climb to the top.

John McCain was dazzled by him. On a small plane from Cedar Rapids to Davenport, Iowa in February 2007, I taped an interview with McCain than included the following exchange:

McCain: By the way, did you have a chance to see Petraeus in action? He's very good. Very impressive. Most impressive guy I've met, seen in action in a long time.

Me: What do you mean by action?

McCain: Testifying, talking, interfacing.

Me: What is it that's he got?

McCain: Charisma, a lot of charisma.

Me: Obviously, charisma alone is not enough to make a difference [in Iraq].

McCain: One thing he did was he had a bag of money, and he would go around and say, "OK, build this irrigation ditch, buy yourself a generator."

This impressed me. Having started out as a columnist in Chicago, I knew the value of carrying around bags of money with which to dispense favors. But I was never convinced Petraeus was the savior of Iraq or of Afghanistan. (Have we saved either country?)

But many influential people were impressed by him and now blame Broadwell for seducing Petraeus and bringing him down.

Google the name "Paula Broadwell" — and I know you probably already have — and you find headlines like "Broadwell Depicted as Aggressive and Unhinged" with a link to a New York magazine column that appears with the more demure headline: "Paula Broadwell Depicted as Ambitious and Inappropriate."

Most of her inappropriate behavior in public seems to have involved clothing. She wore "tight shirts and pants" in Afghanistan, according to the Washington Post, "where Western-style attire can offend local sensibilities."

Big deal. I say if we're going to spend $1.7 trillion, nearly 20,000 casualties and 12 years conquering a country, we get to wear what we want and the locals get to wear what they want.

More ominously, however, the Post reported that, once back in the United States, Broadwell helped Petraeus "pick out a wardrobe of tailored suits he would wear at the CIA."

Ladies, here is a tip: If a buff, beautiful, younger woman helps your husband pick out his clothes, they are probably doing it.

But now the shopping trips are over. And the blazing star that could have landed David Petraeus in the White House has now landed him in the soup.

A tragedy, his friends and acolytes say. An American tragedy.

Me, I don't see that.

"Tragedy requires unmerited suffering," historian David Goldfield has written.

If you deserve the suffering, it isn't tragedy. It's justice.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate