Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 6, 2012/ 21 Mar-Cheshvan, 5773

Those dumber than you

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | “In America, anyone can become president. It’s one of the risks we take.”

This quotation, from Adlai Stevenson, is one of my favorites. I have used it in the past because it sums up all the hopes of our democracy and all of its perils.

Good presidents, bad presidents, liars, straight shooters, strong presidents, weak presidents — we’ve had them all.

A poor child born in obscurity can overcome great barriers and become president.

A wealthy child born to privilege can use his affluence and connections to maneuver his way to the highest office in the land.

Either can be great. Either can disappoint.

Our ability to peer into the souls of our politicians is limited. Heck, sometimes we can’t even peer into their tax returns.

Our media, for the most part, do their best. They try to see what is behind the curtain and expose the truth. They try to report without fear or favor.

But they are up against an enormous industry of consultants, managers, ad-makers, image crafters, manipulators and smoke-blowers.

If the media manage to convey a few slivers of truth about the candidates, we should count ourselves lucky.

“We have to work together,” Mitt Romney said Monday while campaigning in Virginia. “We’ve got to be united as a nation.”

“We’re all in this together,” Barack Obama said Monday from Wisconsin. “We rise and fall as one nation and one people.”

Yet, nothing drives us further apart every four years than our national elections.

Rarely, to use the famous phrase of Abraham Lincoln, are “the better angels of our nature” appealed to.

Instead, we are barraged with ads that do not just play to, but encourage, our prejudices, fears, hatreds, suspicions and divisions.

Our democracy depends on expressing the will of the majority while protecting the rights of the minority.

Yet Washington has descended into a zero-sum game where there are only winners or losers. Compromise, which should be the very essence of our modern political system, is scorned. And with neither side able to attain total victory, Congress has decided that inertia, lethargy and torpor are preferable to cooperation.

We are told by both candidates that we are engaged in a great national struggle between fundamentally opposing views of government. One side wants to use government to solve problems, and the other wants to limit government in order to unleash individual initiative.

But don’t kid yourself. Whoever is president, he is unlikely to solve the greatest problem facing our country today: Washington is the place where dreams go to die. There is no desire for unity in our politics, only the desire to be reelected.

This means our politicians appeal to the extremes and not the middle — assuming such a middle actually still exists.

I am not saying it does not matter whether Obama wins or Romney wins. It matters a great deal. Abolishing our national health care system, which is barely in its infancy, would be a huge step backward. Promises of tax cuts, increased military spending and a balanced budget are a fantasy wrapped in a delusion. A foreign policy based on belligerence could lead us into endless conflict around the world.

And making war on women and immigrants is not the kind of war that makes us stronger as a nation.

Climate change? Urban policy? Poverty? Gun violence? Maybe our presidential candidates will get around to seriously discussing those issues. Next time. Or the time after.

Leon Trotsky once said, depending on which translation you believe: “You may not be interested in war, but war is interested in you.”

He meant that you can ignore thinking about unpleasant things, but those things may often end up controlling — or even ending — your life.

You may not be interested in politics, but politics is interested in you.

It is traditional at this point to urge everyone to vote. Unlike paying taxes or serving on juries, which are the only other things that our government asks of us, there is no penalty for not voting. Nobody will arrest you or fine you or put you in prison.

But you could be placing your future in the hands of people who may be dumber than even you.

And do you really want to risk that?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate