Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 28, 201214 Kislev, 5773

Let's Get Fiscal

By Ron Hart




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The self-inflicted drama of the "fiscal cliff" is playing out in Washington like a Greek comedy --- or tragedy, depending on how much you know about economics.

In preparation for appearing on CNN, I read the Congressional Budget Office reports, which are like Ambien in ledger form. To sum up: We have made promises and increased spending to a level that we cannot sustain, and this must be addressed. Aside from more than $16 trillion in debt, now 100% of our GDP, it is estimated that with Medicare and Social Security we have $99 trillion in pending, unfunded obligations.

The 'fiscal cliff' is the expiration of the Bush tax cuts for 90% of Americans, resulting in more than $500 billion in new taxes. Most sane economists agree that this will spark another recession. On the bright side, just to kick the can past the election road, the sequestration agreement (for whatever that is worth in Washington) says they have to cut $109 billion in expenses. Half of the cuts must come from entitlements, worrying the dependency-addicted Democrats, and half from our Defense Department, which concerns the trigger-happy Republicans.

Complicating the matter, many in Obama's "economic team" are leaving Washington soon. They want to spend more time taxing and regulating their families. Given what they have done with our economy during their reign, they might be arrested by Washington police for leaving the scene of a crime.

Considering what their policies have done and will do to our country, Japan now realizes it got off pretty easy being hit by just U.S. atomic bombs and not by our economic policy makers.

Most Americans expect politicians to work out a back-room deal to avoid embarrassing themselves again. The politicians feel these deals are too ugly for us to watch, so they are compelled to spare us the indignity of the "most transparent President" ever. Political deals are like sausage; it is best not to watch the product being made. The difference is, sausage as an end product is actually good.

In the Democratic vernacular, taxes have changed to "revenues." Long ago they replaced the word "spending" with "investments," especially when wasting money on Solyndra and the like. They think we are stupid.

When Clinton so famously "balanced the budget" with the Internet boom and all the taxes from those stock sales, the GOP and Newt Gingrich passed a budget (yes, Congress used to do that) of $1.7 trillion in expenditures. Adjusted for inflation, our federal government would be spending $2.3 trillion today and collecting $2.5 trillion in "revenues," resulting in a $200 billion surplus. But instead of increasing government spending in line with normal inflation, under Bush and Obama we are spending $3.8 trillion today. Democrats, who believe we have a "revenue" instead of a "spending" problem, must also think they have a bartender, not a drinking, problem.

Those Republican neo-cons who have never seen a country they do not want to bomb because it looked at us wrong, have to give on defense. We spend $1.19 trillion a year on defense -- more than the other top ten countries combined and more than six times what second place China spends.

We have more generals than we had during World War II, and they have plenty of time on their hands to chase women. The sex triangle of Generals Petraeus and Allen might turn into a sex pentagon.

As General Eisenhower warned us about the "military industrial complex," it will grow and spend as long as you fund it. When you have a hammer, you are always looking for a nail, thus all these wars and conflicts overseas. Noble men and women serve in our military, so we always want to support the troops. But we have to rethink supporting demands of military generals whose power is based on their budgets and on making wars.

The D.C. spending precept remains: if you don't spend all of your budget this year, it gets cut next year.

In short, the "fiscal cliff" will play out like most political events. Politicians will do what they do best: kick the can down the road. They will probably let us go off the "fiscal cliff" so they can magnanimously "save us" from what they created. It will be more like a fiscal bungee jump, with some mishmash of agreements that preserve their jobs and sweep government growth under the table.

=<<


BUY THE BOOK


Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).


Comment by clicking here.


JWR contributor Ron Hart grew up in Tennessee and began writing a column for his hometown paper in 2002. He attended The University of Memphis and the Institute for Political and Economic Systems at Georgetown University. Ron graduated Magna Cum Laude and was elected student government president. Upon getting his MBA, he went to work for Goldman Sachs. He was appointed to the Tennessee Board of Regents by then Governor Lamar Alexander and is now a private investor. He appears on CNN and has been quoted in numerous publications including the Wall Street Journal.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Previously:

Hostess with the Least-est

Tax Collectors Find There is Gold in That Thar' Stripper Glitter

Sandy is reminder of all other broken Obama campaign promises

'Hope and Change' have become Smirk and Disdain

The Town Hall Debate: Angry Birds II

Boorish Biden needed to be put in time out

Media and Their Polls Declare Obama Winner

The United Nations: U.S. Attends Annual 'Despot Lecture' Series

Root of evil? Modern-day hitchhikers of virtue

You didn't build that' Speech Justifies Obama's Confiscation of Our Money

Anthony Weiner Reinserts Himself --- Into Politics

The 'Food Stamp President' Loves the Dependent, Mostly for Their Votes

The Fourth and Family

Fatherhood: Blame starts early if you allow it

Toothless Law Sets Doofus Free: The John Edwards Hung Jury

The Dangers of Government's Creeping Incrementalism

Affable dolt, highly excitable and eager to please, Biden does Obama's Bidding

First Person Forward

The Secret Service: Not that Secret about getting Serviced

Who are Really the Heroes?

GSA Vegas excesses? Bush's fault

Temptation of the Tebow

ObamaCare---Once They Get their Commerce Claws in Us, What's the Limit?

Obama's Campaign Theme: Taxation and Demonization

DNA and Me: Family Facts not Genome for Years

College for Everyone? Some Children Need to be Left Behind

Hope for the Hip-Hop-ocrisy at the Grammys

The Bain of Our Existence

Confusing Obama and 'Go Bama'

E-conning the Public, Washington Spending, and Other Shell Games

Looking Back at 2011

Kim Jong Il: North Koreans Love You Long Time --- it's Mandatory

What the MF-- Global?

The GOP Primaries: The Adultery of Hope

No Thankfulness at Thanksgiving for the OWS Crowd

Cain Mutiny, or a ‘High-tech Lynching?’

Slipping into an Envy-ocracy

An honest, if unconventional, assessment of those vying to wipe that smirk off Obama's smug mug

The Unwashed Masses Descend on New York City

Obama ‘pivots to jobs’ --- his

Washington: Blame No One. Do Something!

Our Debt Problems: Politicians Extend and Pretend

No Child Left --- To the Left

Dems' debt ceiling demagoguery

Golf Summit --- I Like Spike(s)

Nancy Pelosi Finally Demands a Weiner Probe

The porkulus political payback project

Schwarzenegger, please!

An ILL Wind for Business --- Boeing, Boeing Gone?

Osama's 72 Virgins --- and Obama's 72 Versions

Bin Laden was taken out by seals and now sleeps with the fishes

Trump: Got 99 problems, but rich ain't one

Why you should see the ‘Atlas Shrugged’ movie

Why The Donald trumps the Bamster

O-Bomb-A

Mid-East Megalomaniacal Despots on the Run

Truther or Dare

Facebook ‘Un-friends’ Our Increasingly Regulation-burdened Capital Markets

Egyptians Unfriend Mubarak

Hold 'em liable --- the colleges, that is

Follow your Hart in a look back at 2010

GOP wins in showdown

WikiLeaks --- Danger or Disinfectant?

The Angle of the Rangel

Where We Let Terrorists Really Hurt Us

Time to starve the spending beast

The TSA: We Do Chicken Right!

A Red Wave

No Juan Left Behind at NPR

Capitalism in Time Saves Mine

The Broader Picture of What These Elections Mean

Dem-moralized: ‘Dead Fish’ taken to the trash cant

Ships Passing in the Night

Obamanomics continue to add up . . . for Republicans

She had Tiger by the tail: If Elin did not get Tiger's money, Obama would have


© 2010 Ron Hart

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles