Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 27, 2012/ 13 Kislev, 5773

Don't Be Sad; We'll Be Back

By Dick Morris




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Cut it out! Pick your chin up! We lost a battle, not the war!

Here’s how to look at it: We are right and Obama is wrong. The issues at play here are not subjective with fuzzy answers, each a little right and a little wrong. They are objective. Either Obama’s approach to the economy is correct or not.

If Obama is right — which he’s not — his policies will solve the economic problems we face. And if he is wrong, they won’t. They’ll get worse. And then, worse again.

By 2013 and 2014, the truth will become increasingly apparent. Unemployment will worse, driven by Obama’s brilliant idea of taxing job creators more heavily. Economic growth will have halted and a contraction (recession) set in. The consequences of Obama’s policies will be too evident for even the most hardened Democrat to ignore.

It is true that the elections of both 2008 and 2012 stemmed, ultimately, from a national demographic change. But the fact that someone is black, Latino, a single woman, or young doesn’t mean they lose their powers of perception and reasoning! Obama will school an entirely new group of voters — and a new demographic — in the shortcomings of leftist economic policies. They will see, in their own lives, the disastrous consequences of his ideas.

Why don’t they get it now? Haven’t they suffered enough already? Apparently not.

Some do. Obama’s vote share dropped by 2.5 points from 2008 to 2012, most notably among the young where he fell from 66% of the vote in ’08 to 60% in ’12. The process will continue. More and more disillusioned voters will leave Obama’s ranks. His name will become a modern equivalent to what “Hoover” meant in the thirties.

That the Republican Party will rise again is inevitable if Obama’s policies are wrong.

What is our task between now and then?

To stop this Administration from doing permanent damage while they are in power. They will continue to accumulate debt, pile on spending, and raise taxes. But what went up can come down once we get power.

But some things cannot be reversed:


  • We must stop any cessation of American sovereignty to the UN (read Here Come the Black Helicopters). Once we give up our sovereignty, we’ll never get it back.

  • We need to block the EPA and the Labor Relations Board from so altering the rules of the game for domestic business that it forces our manufacturing jobs offshore. Once they are gone, they won’t return.

  • We’ve got to enact immigration reform to end the GOP’s war with the Hispanics while, at the same time, making clear that we are conferring legal status only for work, not for citizenship or voting. For that, they need to go to the back of the line.

  • Stop Obama from enacting euthanasia-like health care changes. Block the implementation of any cuts his 15 member board will propose that would shorten lives or condemn those who could be saved to an early death.


These are the fundamental elements of what we must do.

But, above all, we need to end our collective depression. Depression is not an option for our brave troops in harm’s way and it shouldn’t be for us sitting comfortably at home.

Get back in the game!

Dick Morris Archives


BUY THE BOOK

Buy it for 40% off the cover price by clicking here or in KINDLE at a 48% discount by clicking here.

(Sales help fund JWR.).


Comment by clicking here.


=<<

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



© 2012, Dick Morris

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles