Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 15, 2012/ 1 Kislev, 5773

Weep for America

By Jack Kelly




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Defeat fosters introspection, which is good, and recriminations, which are bad.

All Republicans agree the GOP must change to be competitive in future elections. But few agree on what should change.

The problem is our nominee was another moderate Establishment squish who pulled his punches, say some Tea Party types.

The problem is those wild-eyed Tea Partiers, like those bozos in Indiana and Missouri, say some moderate Establishment squishes. They allow the news media to portray us as extremists.

We need to state our principles more clearly and forcefully, conservatives say. We shouldn't back off of them an inch.

We need to compromise more with Democrats, say some moderates. We have to show we're flexible, reasonable.

No good can come from forming a circular firing squad. The GOP lost across the board. Bad candidates lost. So did good candidates. Moderates lost. So did Tea Party favorites. Republicans lost in blue states, purple states, even in some red states.

Republicans didn't lose because they compromised too much or too little, were too strident or too milquetoast. They lost because 38 percent of the voters were Democrats, just 32 percent Republicans. That Mitt Romney came as close to winning as he did with a D+6 electorate is remarkable.

Mr. Romney won the same proportion of the white vote as Ronald Reagan had in his 1984 landslide. Back then, whites were 88 percent of the electorate, but just 73 percent this year. Blacks -- 13 percent of the electorate -- voted for President Obama, 93-6. Hispanics -- 10 percent -- voted for the president by 40 percentage points.

"The people have spoken -- the bastards," joked humorist Dick Tuck after losing a race for the California legislature. In a democracy, no good can come from disparaging the electorate. But before they can ameliorate it, Republicans must understand where their problem is.

America's toes dangle over the edge of the fiscal cliff. Al Qaida is resurgent. Yet today's electorate voted, narrowly, for a status quo polls say a majority finds unsatisfactory.

This flummoxes conservatives. It's as if we're standing on the deck of the Titanic. We see the iceberg dead ahead. But the other passengers are partying in the salon, blissfully unaware of what's about to happen.

Most Americans think the gravy train can't ever be derailed. Most politicians think they can keep whacking off hunks of the golden goose without ever killing it. All are in for a rude surprise.

Republicans must improve their messaging. Conservatives are right about its content. We must paint with bold colors, not pale pastels.

Moderates are right about tone. The most effective conservative I've ever known was Sen. Bill Armstrong of Colorado. He contended without being contentious. Bill never gave an inch on principle, but was regarded as a moderate, because his demeanor was. But there is little Republicans do can fix the larger part of their messaging problem, which Mitt Romney identified in a joke at the Al Smith dinner. The news media, he said, "have their job to do, and I have my job to do. My job is to lay out a positive vision for the future of the country, and their job is to make sure no one else finds out about it."

Few appreciate the imminence and likely consequences of the fiscal crisis mostly because the news media have told Americans so little about it. Unless something happens to shake millions from complacency, Republicans may never win another national election.

But weep not for the GOP. Weep for America. Catastrophe looms.

I was wildly premature, to put it kindly, when I wrote before the election of a "preference cascade." But once we go over the fiscal cliff, many who are complacent now will be confused, frightened, angry.

This will not be a time for half measures. It'll be too late then to prop up the welfare state. Many who voted this year for the status quo will be ready then to accept dramatic change.

If Republicans can keep their heads while all about them are losing theirs -- if they can explain, clearly but calmly, how we got into this mess and how to get out of it -- public attitudes and political allegiances could change as profoundly as after the stock market crash in 1929.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Jack Kelly, a former Marine and Green Beret, was a deputy assistant secretary of the Air Force in the Reagan administration.

Jack Kelly Archives


© 2011, Jack Kelly

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles