Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 22, 2012/ 8 Kislev, 5773

Fall movie season ends with lessons learned

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) This Friday has a nickname. It's known as "Black Friday," and it marks the start of the holiday shopping season.

Wednesday doesn't have a nickname, but it is a significant day in Hollywood nonetheless. It is the official start of the holiday movie season.

That's right; you blinked and missed another movie season. Pay attention now: the summer movie season gives way to the fall movie season which gives way to the holiday movie season which gives way to Oscar season. Nobody cares about March and April. Those months are a season-free zone.

Before we move on to the holiday movie season, we should look back at the fall movie season to see what can be learned. It's important to learn lessons from each movie season because mistakes made during the fall season can return as Adam Sandler movies in the summer.

1. IT'S TIME FOR THE WACHOWSKIS TO TALK AGAIN: I believe I had the last known interview with the Wachowski brothers. It was a few days before the opening of their groundbreaking film "The Matrix," and I suggested that the notoriously media-shy brothers would have to sit for more interviews if their new movie was as big as everybody assumed. They laughed, and said that if it was successful, they'd never give another interview. Well, they pretty much kept their word, but it was a mistake for Andy and Lana (she used to be Larry) Wachowski not to speak up to defend and explain their movie "Cloud Atlas." Audiences stayed away in droves, and I think it's time for the filmmakers to promote their movies.

2. IT'S NOT QUENTIN'S WORLD ANYMORE — Somebody probably thought that rapper RZA's directorial debut "The Man With the Iron Fists" needed some star power to attract audiences so we're guessing that Quentin Tarantino stepped in and said, "Hey, put my name above the title, like in 'Quentin Tarantino Presents,' and every cool person on the planet will show up." Frankly, nobody cared that he presented the movie. And nobody cared that Russell Crowe, an Oscar winner, was one of the stars of this martial arts misadventure. Jeez, what happened to his career?

3. OLD DUDE RULES AGAIN — When 60-year-old actor Liam Neeson stunned Hollywood with his action hit "Taken," everybody assumed it was a fluke. Well, "Taken 2" hit theaters with a trunk-full of bad reviews, and people still lined up to see it. Fluke this.

4. "GIGLI" HAS BEEN FORGOTTEN AND FORGIVEN — The people who were shocked at how much they enjoyed "Argo" obviously never saw Ben Affleck's first two directorial efforts — "Gone Baby Gone" and "The Town." Both showed great promise, and "Argo" delivered on that promise. Look for Affleck and "Argo" to do well during Oscar season, which as you might remember, follows the holiday movie season.

5. PUT THAT DRESS BACK ON — Tyler Perry, best-known for his broad "Madea" comedies, tried to stretch his acting muscles as a brilliant detective in the little-seen "Alex Cross." He took over a role (based on a character created by crime novelist James Patterson) previously played on the big screen by Morgan Freeman in "Kiss the Girls" and "Along Came a Spider." Those shoes might have been a bit too big for Perry to fill. Perhaps, he should stick with a nice pair of oxfords?

6. WE'LL WAIT FOR JAMES — One of the worst-kept secrets in Hollywood was that the bankruptcy of MGM stalled production of "Skyfall," the 23rd James Bond adventure. It took four years to bring the latest 007 film to theaters, but the wait was worth it, if we are to believe mostly rave reviews and box office numbers usually reserved for geeky wizards and blood-thirsty vampires.

7. DID WE MENTION IT WAS TIM BURTON? — One of the biggest shocks of the fall movie season was the lackluster showing of Burton's animated film "Frankenweenie." Disney went all out promoting the film, but it practically disappeared as soon as it appeared. Some people might point to Burton's decision to make the film in black and white, which family audiences usually don't like, while others might point to the director's choice of killing the dog Sparky in the film, although he was quickly brought back to life through the magic of the Frankenstein legacy. However, I think it had more to do with the release just a week before of "Hotel Transylvania." I think audiences felt they had already seen and done that by the time "Frankenweenie" came out. And they had seen and done that in color.

8. THEY DON'T CALL HIM DENZEL FOR NOTHING — Here's an idea: hire a director who has been immersed in animated projects for more than a decade (Robert Zemeckis) to make an adult-themed, live-action film about an alcoholic pilot. Sounds like an airborne disaster, doesn't it? Well, with Denzel Washington as the pilot, "Flight" took off at the box office.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

The 10 best Bond villains ever
Readers weigh in on confusing movies
10 most confusing movies of all time
Do you enjoy going out to the movies?
Sylvester Stallone, the Dalai Lama and me
Watch August movies at your own risk
Nothing new in the new Spider-Man movie
Grading the summer movies . . . so far
Readers are angry about TV network practices, too
TV networks have some explaining to do
The night Johnny Depp made me a star
Summer movies: the dark horses
Lindsay, Ashton, Kim --- are they kidding?
Readers pick their favorite baseball movies
Our 10 favorite baseball movies
The most over-hyped movies of 2012
The 10 worst best pictures ever
The greatest Oscar acceptance speech NEVER given
The worst biopics ... ever
20 celebrity questions that must be answered in 2012
The Golden Globes are meaningless
The 10 Most Annoying Celebrities of 2011
The funniest comedy teams
Fake celebrities ignite real controversy
Hollywood: Stop spoiling our movies
Mob expert reveals his favorite gangster flicks
Good riddance, Harry Potter
The coolest car movies ever made
Our favorite teacher movies
Are women funny?
Our special snarky summer movie guide
The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles