Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 9, 2012/ 24 Mar-Cheshvan, 5773

Readers weigh in on confusing movies

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Judging by last weekend's box office, few people were confused about whether they should shell out good money for "Cloud Atlas," the three-hour movie that begs the question: "What?"

The lavish production grossed less than $10 million, which barely pays the catering bill on a typical studio movie.

In last week's column, I used "Cloud Atlas" as an excuse to list the 10 most confusing movies of all time. The list included: "The Matrix Revolutions," "The Tree of Life," "Vanilla Sky," "Inception," "Mulholland Dr.," "The Fountain," "Donnie Darko," "Inland Empire," "The Jacket" and "2001: A Space Odyssey."

Here is a sampling of what readers had to say:

Margot Pierrong: "I loved your article about movies that make your head spin. And I was so happy to see you listed some films that I watched and said to myself: 'Boy, I sure didn't understand this movie at all.' But I am wondering if you viewed the film 'Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy?' I have watched that movie twice and I am still scratching my head. I like challenging. Confusing? Well, not so much."

Steve Reiland: "Enjoyed your article on confusing movies. Recently, my wife and I saw 'The Master.' Leaving the theater, her first words were: 'And this was your idea?' Several days later, she said: 'I want to see that movie again. I now think I appreciate it.' Clearly, a confusing movie."

Mike Gibson: "I am glad to say that I have never seen any of the movies you mentioned today in your column. I get confused just watching Mickey Mouse cartoons, so I would have really been lost in those movies."

Terry Crow: "Your usual good job listing confusing films. For your consideration, I give you the following, in no particular order: 'The Shining,' 'Fight Club,' 'Lost Highway,' 'What Dreams May Come,' 'Blue Velvet,' 'Total Recall' and a Jim Carrey double-header, 'The Number 23' and 'Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.' I would like to have my money back. Who do I contact?"

Todd Cumberland: "As usual, your list is good, although I really like 'Vanilla Sky.' Two movies I would add are 'Total Recall' and 'Through a Scanner Darkly.' To this day, I cannot tell what that movie is about. I just realized that both are based on Philip K. Dick novels."

Carlos Lopez: "I think you forgot to mention 'Inception' as being one of the worst movies of all time. That movie was so hard to understand, and a waste of money and time."

Joey Haban: "Perhaps the list should be entitled '10 Films That Confused Me Personally?' Yes, you really need to say more about 'Mulholland Dr.' (not 'Drive'), especially since it's one of Lynch's most accessible movies. I take it you never saw 'Eraserhead?' This is a shallow and dismissive list, including several movies that have quite a bit more to them than 'Uhhh, I didn't get it.' "

Jim Gutel: "How could you leave off 'Eye of the Beholder' with Ashley Judd and Ewan McGregor? I should have asked for my money back for that one."

Kurt Volmer: "Great column last Sunday. Regarding 'Inland Empire': I am completely mystified. I know some people have linear dreams, but I would guess that most of us have dreams similar to a David Lynch movie - disjointed packets of scenes that we just can't quite remember precisely upon waking. Why should I pay to end up feeling like I just woke up? I had trouble with 'Mulholland Dr.,' but for some reason, I loved that movie. I would say that it has to do with the tension he creates with the point-of-view, the lighting, dialogue and that menacing hum you can feel in your chest. And the naked scene."

Timothy Mangan: "'The Big Sleep.' Who killed Sean Reagan? Who is Sean Reagan?"

Julie Gallego: "I still love 'The Big Sleep,' even if I don't understand what happened."

Alex Esquivel: "I understood all of those. I love 'The Fountain.' "

Dennis Brownlie: "I vote for 'No Country for Old Men,' 'Five Easy Pieces,' 'Memento' and 'Pulp Fiction' as confusing movies I never figured out. Since I love movies that make no sense and have no plot, my daughter recommended 'Inception,' which I have not viewed."

Jeanine Sansone: "I have enjoyed reading your articles over the years. I feel sorry for all the people who will stumble into 'Cloud Atlas,' believing the hype and being cheated of their money and time. With your soapbox, please keep telling people that you panned the movie. People want to leave a theater uplifted, not confused by what they saw."

Mrs. R. Geggie: "As always, I do enjoy your columns. Don't think I will see 'Cloud Atlas' because it seems too close to being another 'Melancholia' or 'The Tree of Life.' I agree with most of the others in your column, but I loved 'Donnie Darko,' after I saw it a few more times and maybe understood it. Ask your editor if you can write more columns."

Dwayne Takeda: "All (the films on your list) are from the 21st century, except '2001.' Does that say something?"

Corina Tinker: "I thought 'Vanilla Sky' was brilliant. I just shared that movie with my son, and he really liked it."

Brenda Lee: "Ummm ... I'm confused."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

10 most confusing movies of all time
Do you enjoy going out to the movies?
Sylvester Stallone, the Dalai Lama and me
Watch August movies at your own risk
Nothing new in the new Spider-Man movie
Grading the summer movies . . . so far
Readers are angry about TV network practices, too
TV networks have some explaining to do
The night Johnny Depp made me a star
Summer movies: the dark horses
Lindsay, Ashton, Kim --- are they kidding?
Readers pick their favorite baseball movies
Our 10 favorite baseball movies
The most over-hyped movies of 2012
The 10 worst best pictures ever
The greatest Oscar acceptance speech NEVER given
The worst biopics ... ever
20 celebrity questions that must be answered in 2012
The Golden Globes are meaningless
The 10 Most Annoying Celebrities of 2011
The funniest comedy teams
Fake celebrities ignite real controversy
Hollywood: Stop spoiling our movies
Mob expert reveals his favorite gangster flicks
Good riddance, Harry Potter
The coolest car movies ever made
Our favorite teacher movies
Are women funny?
Our special snarky summer movie guide
The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles