Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 2, 2012/ 17 Mar-Cheshvan, 5773

10 most confusing movies of all time

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Two women walk out of a movie theater.

"Well, there are three hours of my life I'll never get back," says one woman.

"That was so confusing, my head hurts," adds the other woman.

I was filing out of the theater ahead of the women after watching an early media screening of "Cloud Atlas."

Based on the novel by David Mitchell and directed by Andy Wachowski, Lana Wachowski and Tom Tykwer, the three-hour epic is a bit confusing, but my head didn't hurt. I'm still pondering it days later to decide if I liked it, but I can say that I was never bored, and I think that is something positive to say about a three-hour movie.

Oscar winners Tom Hanks and Halle Berry each play six characters in the film, which jumps from scene to scene continuously over a 500-year period. I think, but I am not sure, that the characters played by Hanks and Berry each follow the same gene pool. The filmmakers say that the point of the movie is that choices and actions made by one generation have consequences in other generations.

I wouldn't bet serious money that I actually explained this movie properly.

It is a challenging movie, which is good. I'm always complaining about the lack of challenging movies, so I can't whine when a film bends my brain a bit.

But there is a fine line between challenging and confusing.

For instance, "Chinatown" and "The Usual Suspects" are very confusing, but intentionally so, and there is a worthy pay-off at the end.

Other movies are utter failures because they pretend to be challenging, but are just confusing because the filmmakers lost their way. Or perhaps they never had a way in the first place.

Of course, one person's confusion is another person's "Citizen Kane."

Still, in honor of those two confused women at the screening, we salute the 10 most confusing movies of all time. If we somehow touch upon one of your favorite movies, we apologize. Obviously, we just didn't get it.

1. "The Matrix Revolutions" (2003) — The third part of the "Matrix" trilogy was a real head-scratcher. The aforementioned Wachowskis (they were known collectively as the Wachowski brothers then, before transgender Larry became Lana) were responsible for the brilliant first film "The Matrix," but they either got sloppy or cocky by the time they got around to concluding their tale. Frankly, I could just as easily included the second "Matrix" film on this list because it also was a mess.

2. "The Tree of Life" (2011) — OK, Terrence Malick fans are going to come after me for this one. Listen, I agree that there is a wonderful movie buried in there somewhere, but the mysterious director chose to drop about 40 minutes of psychedelic mumbo-jumbo in his otherwise linear tale of a Texas family in the 1950s. Malick probably doesn't care about being on this list because he likes to confuse people.

3. "Vanilla Sky" (2001) — I like Cameron Crowe a lot ("Almost Famous"), but he missed the boat by several berths on this one. Who doesn't love dreams within dreams movies?

4. "Inception" (2010) — Writer-director Christopher Nolan loves to challenge viewers to the point of confusion. A 2001 Nolan film called "Memento" confused and annoyed a lot of people, who were angry with its backward movement, but I think it paid off. And I enjoyed "Inception," although I admit that it got bogged down in confusion near the end as characters entered different levels of dreams.

5. "Muholland Drive" (2001) — David Lynch. Do I really need to say more?

6. "The Fountain" (2006) — Darren Aronofsky is a very smart guy. It appears as if he out-smarted himself in this convoluted tale that crosses time zones. He probably thought it was a good vehicle for girlfriend Rachel Weisz, but she eventually left him to marry James Bond. We're not saying that this movie had anything to do with her leaving Aronofsky, but we're trying to confuse you as much as he confused people who tried to watch this movie.

7. "Donnie Darko" (2001) — Jake Gyllenhaal couldn't save this film from itself. Once again, a filmmaker (Richard Kelly) works in the dreamscape realm, which has proved to be a graveyard for overly ambitious filmmakers.

8. "Inland Empire" (2006) — It's David Lynch again, and while Laura Dern is worth watching, trying to figure how what you're watching is almost too much to ask of discretionary income-paying customers.

9. "The Jacket" (2005) — I think Adrien Brody is one of our finest actors, but even he seemed confused by his time travel in this well-intentioned disaster about a Gulf War veteran.

10. "2001: A Space Odyssey" (1968) — Don't get me wrong. I think it's one of the greatest movies ever made. But you must admit that most people find it incredibly confusing.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

Do you enjoy going out to the movies?
Sylvester Stallone, the Dalai Lama and me
Watch August movies at your own risk
Nothing new in the new Spider-Man movie
Grading the summer movies . . . so far
Readers are angry about TV network practices, too
TV networks have some explaining to do
The night Johnny Depp made me a star
Summer movies: the dark horses
Lindsay, Ashton, Kim --- are they kidding?
Readers pick their favorite baseball movies
Our 10 favorite baseball movies
The most over-hyped movies of 2012
The 10 worst best pictures ever
The greatest Oscar acceptance speech NEVER given
The worst biopics ... ever
20 celebrity questions that must be answered in 2012
The Golden Globes are meaningless
The 10 Most Annoying Celebrities of 2011
The funniest comedy teams
Fake celebrities ignite real controversy
Hollywood: Stop spoiling our movies
Mob expert reveals his favorite gangster flicks
Good riddance, Harry Potter
The coolest car movies ever made
Our favorite teacher movies
Are women funny?
Our special snarky summer movie guide
The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles