Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov 18, 2011 21 Mar-Cheshvan, 5772

Deep in the White House weeds

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | To describe the daily operation of the White House, one has to get so deep in the weeds it is almost subterranean.

There has recently been a change in those operations, though how important a change is a matter of some debate. Shortly after I published an interview with Bill Daley, the White House chief of staff, Daley “handed off some daily responsibilities,” as POLITICO’s Glenn Thrush put it.

Some wrote on the Internet that Daley had been “demoted,” causing White House press secretary Jay Carney to tell reporters: “A little bit more is being made of this than is in fact happening. Bill Daley is the chief of staff and retains responsibility.”

I went back to the transcript of the interview I did with Daley on Oct. 25 in order to explain what those responsibilities are.

Sitting in his West Wing corner office that day, I began by asking: “What is it that you do?”

He chuckled and began an explanation that involved a certain amount of “alphabet soup,” the language that is second nature to those who work in the White House.

“It’s a combination of managing the people who run different pieces of the actual White House,” Daley said. “The NEC [National Economic Council] , the DPC [Domestic Policy Council], the communications operation, the outreach operation, which includes, in this setup, the OPE [Office of Public Engagement], Valerie’s [Valerie Jarrett’s] shop, which is intergovernmental affairs, the constituent groups, all of that sort of outreach.

“So it’s partly the management of the functioning of all the different departments, the link at the very senior level to the agencies, the Cabinet people, the heads of agencies and departments that the president has appointed.

“Then, there’s to a degree — and this is where it shifts depending on the president — [being] somewhat of a political adviser and giving judgment on things, questions that come before [the president]. I give everything from my two cents’ worth on national security if he cares to hear it, because I sit in on all the briefings.

“So it’s kind of a combination of helping to manage with the staff, advising outreach with other senior government people, Cabinet, whatever, doing some political work. All of the above.”

So when the president says call them, you call them?

“Not just him,” Daley said. “My saying, ‘OK, we got a problem here, get hold of Vilsack [Tom Vilsack, secretary of agriculture], here’s what we need you to do Tom, boom, boom, boom, boom, boom.’

“Part of the difference is that Rahm [Rahm Emanuel, Daley’s predecessor, now mayor of Chicago] was the legislative director, he was the communications director, he was the national security adviser, Rahm did everything — tried to do everything. I do it differently.”

Daley gets up at 5 a.m., having gotten about six hours of sleep, works out from 5:30 to 6, gets to the White House by 7 and prepares for the all-important 7:30 a.m. meeting.

“It’s with all the senior people, the top 15-20 people in the office,” Daley said. “I run it. We go over the day, we go over the issues, we go over the press.”

At that table? I asked, pointing to a long, dark wood conference table next to his desk.

“There and here,” he said, indicating the setup of armchairs and a sofa that we were occupying. “Every seat is taken in the place. It’s everybody from the scheduler to Pete [Rouse, counselor to the president] and Valerie and Plouffe [David Plouffe, senior adviser] and communications, Pfeiffer [Dan Pfeiffer, communications director] and Cutter [Stephanie Cutter, deputy senior adviser, soon to become Obama’s deputy campaign manager in Chicago,] Denis McDonough of NSS [deputy national security adviser, National Security Staff], Kathy [Kathryn] Ruemmler [White House counsel], Gene [Sperling, director of the National Economic Council,] Melody Barnes [director of the Domestic Policy Council], and my two deputies.

“That’s 7:30 to 8:15, at 8:15 we do a broader meeting of about 40 people to 50 people, many of the people who run the pieces underneath all of these people.”

It sounds horrible, I said. (I am not a meeting person.)

Daley laughed and shook his head. “Sometimes it only runs 20 minutes or so. It’s not long,” he said. “And then … some days by 8:30-8:45 everybody should be done with what’s going on in the world and what are we doing today and what do we have to respond to or what do we have to react to and then everybody is able to go and begin to do what they have to do.”

I asked Daley how much time he spends with the president, and he replied that he meets with him every day for the PDB — President’s Daily Brief — which is described on the CIA’s website as “the Intelligence Community’s highest level intelligence analysis targeted at the key national security issues and concerns of the President.”

“Then I’m in and out, different meetings, see him, sometimes he walks in here late in the day, just comes in sits down, talks,” Daley said. “And I usually do a wrap-up around 6, 6:30 p.m., whenever, right before he leaves.”

I asked Daley the most important advice he had ever given the president, but Daley declined to say. He did repeat, however, one of the most important pieces of advice that James Baker, a former chief of staff to Ronald Reagan and George H.W. Bush, had given him.

Daley said: “Baker’s admonition to me was: ‘Just remember the most important part of your title is staff, not chief. There’s only one chief on those 18 acres, and don’t forget that.’ ”

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate