Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov 2, 2011 5 Mar-Cheshvan, 5772

Daley: Uncivil Politics Reflects Us

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | When Bill Daley took over as White House chief of staff in mid-January, the reviews were good. Articles said that he was experienced, serious and wise to the ways of Washington.

"I said to my wife when we got here — and we had great press when we got here — I said: 'Six months, that's about how long, then they'll kick the s—- out of us.' So I got nine months out of it. That's pretty good," Daley told me with a laugh.

We were sitting in his West Wing office, he in an armchair and me on a couch. My digital recorder sat between us on a low coffee table.

"This is on the record?" Daley asked.

Yes, I said, but if you want to go off the record, just say so, and I won't use that part. In the hour or so that followed, Daley never went off the record. He spoke frankly about how difficult the first three years of the Obama administration had been and what President Barack Obama intended to do in the future.

The day that my column appeared, it was the subject of the first, second and fourth questions by members of the White House press corps at the daily briefing. (The third question was about the Occupy Wall Street movement.)

When I was invited on CNN's "John King, USA" to talk about my column that day, King's first question was whether Daley and I had been drinking. King was joking, and I laughed, but I also assured him (truthfully) that we had not been. But I took the question as a compliment.

There were other shows and stories and blogs and tweets. Which raises the same question after any White House interview that makes a splash: Who was using whom?

Had I really gotten Daley, a political veteran, to say anything he had not intended to say? Or had Daley used me, a press veteran, to convey White House talking points?

My answer is simple: Don't know, don't care. You can drive yourself crazy asking yourself that one. The column met my ultimate test, the test a column has to pass before I hit the send button: I liked it. I thought it was good; I thought it was fair; I thought it conveyed something.

Mike McCurry, Bill Clinton's very able press secretary, once told me: "The modern presidency is defined by the manipulation of the news flow 24 hours a day."

And I always keep that in mind. But the manipulation of that news flow has gotten more and more difficult over the years.

In my interview with Daley, I asked him: How much more difficult does the media make your job?

"What's the media today?" Daley replied. "Everybody's got a camera, everybody's got a website. Everybody whose got a telephone can be a media person. And how people get their information and communicate is very different.

"It's very much more difficult, I believe, today, to govern in this very diffuse way in which people get and give information. There isn't anything we do here (in the White House) that gets to the American people that isn't filtered."

I had first heard the term "filtered" applied to the media by the late Lee Atwater, who was George H.W. Bush's campaign manager in 1988. Atwater may not have invented, but he perfected, what is today nearly universal for political operations: formulating a "message of the day," the talking points that all members of the operation push to the media.

Either you control that message, or the media pick their own message. And you don't want the media picking their own message.

"It's not like a campaign where you buy ads," Daley said to me about the downside of White House incumbency. "So everything you do is filtered. There's a thousand ways people get that information, but every piece of it is filtered maybe multiple times, and it makes it very hard to get into the consciousness of the American people."

So the media is a filter, not a neutral conveyor of news? I asked.

"The fragmentation of the media over the last 25 years is a big change," Daley said. "There are liberal radio stations, TV stations, magazines. You've got conservative TV, radio, etc. You don't need to go near what you don't want to believe in today."

This may be a return to earlier centuries, when nearly all the press in America was partisan. But that is not necessarily a good thing. Today, many believe there is too much partisanship.

"The politics reflects the society," Daley said. "A lot of people say: 'Oh, politics is so uncivil. Isn't that terrible? Why can't they get along? Gee, I've never seen anything like this.' Well, it should be better, but maybe it's more reflective of society."

Daley talked about the popularity of reality TV, where "everybody yells at each other, they throw things at each other, they're obnoxious to each other, they swear at each other."

"And watch the cable (news) shows," he said. "What gets (ratings)? The angry, the nasty, the insulting, the edge thing. So maybe politics is just more reflective of society than we want to admit."

He paused. "We want to think politics should be better," he said. "But maybe it is more reflective of us. And that may be what we don't like to see."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate