Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov 15, 2011 / 18 Mar-Cheshvan, 5772

Lazy, soft and unimaginative

By Rich Lowry




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | President Barack Obama was wrong to say at the Asia-Pacific economic summit that America has gotten "lazy" in the past few decades at attracting foreign investment.

What he should have said, in light of his administration's handling of the proposed Keystone XL pipeline, is that America has become quite adept at blocking it. To delay the project for more than three years and then, after giving every indication that it would go through, announce the ultimate decision will be kicked past the 2012 election takes hard work and brio.

TransCanada wants to invest $7 billion in building a pipeline across the United States to carry oil from Alberta, Canada, to the Gulf Coast. If we were merely lazy, we'd have accepted the project and the thousands of associated construction jobs long ago. That would be the path of least resistance, not to mention common sense.

But we refuse to take the easy way out. The bureaucrats produce exhaustive studies. The enviros stage protests. The brightest lights in Hollywood mobilize. The White House calculates its political interest. This churning activity is the necessary predicate to delay and inaction. How thoughtless of President Obama to underestimate the effort expended in rejecting a foreign investment.

The president's "lazy" comment is one of a series of remarks carrying an undercurrent of disapproval of the country he is so luckless to govern. A few weeks ago, he observed that Americans had gotten "a little soft and we didn't have the same competitive edge that we needed over the last couple of decades." At a San Francisco fundraiser, he lamented that "we have lost our ambition, our imagination, and our willingness to do the things that built the Golden Gate Bridge and Hoover Dam."

Obama is prone to the posture of the dispassionate critic, floating above the foibles of America. It never seems to enter his mind that he might have disappointed us, but he certainly seems to think that we have disappointed him. We've been lazy and soft in our practices going back decades, hopeless until the advent of one Barack H. Obama, the would-be Redeemer President frustrated by the recalcitrant national material with which he's forced to work, Michelangelo with a bum piece of marble.

Heaven knows we have long-festering problems, but the loaded words in Obama's statements suggest we suffer from a collective lack of elan. If only we were made of sterner stuff; if only we dreamed bigger. It calls to mind Michelle Obama's admonition prior to the 2008 election that "Barack Obama will require you to work." She warned us that we would have to tap the deepest reserves of our national character to meet the exalted standards of her husband.

The distance between President Obama's self-image and the reality is yawning. Ambition? His heroic stimulus bill funded roadwork to create temporary insta-jobs and subsidized green-energy projects, some of which would have happened anyway. Imagination? He perpetually wants to send federal money to the states to prop up their existing unaffordable structures. Willingness to do the things necessary to build? He can't even disregard his left on Keystone XL. His National Labor Relations Board is harrying Boeing for the offense of building state-of-the-art aircraft in a nonunionized South Carolina plant.

It's within the president's power to do a few major things to make us more competitive. He could cut a deal with Republicans to reform individual and corporate taxes, exchanging lower rates for loophole closings. He could cut a deal restraining entitlements, sending a signal to the markets that Washington can begin to control its budget. Sen. Pat Toomey, a Pennsylvania Republican on the "super committee," has offered a compromise plan along these lines. The president has shown no interest. He apparently prefers waging a blunt-force campaign against a "do-nothing Congress" and carping about what's wrong with us.

If this helps him win a second term, he can add poor judgment to his running indictment.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Rich Lowry Archives

© 2011 King Features Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles