Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov 17, 2011 / 20 Mar-Cheshvan, 5772

The funniest comedy teams

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Rufus T. Firefly: Gentlemen, Chicolini here may talk like an idiot, and look like an idiot, but don't let that fool you: he really is an idiot. I implore you; send him back to his father and brothers, who are waiting for him with open arms in the penitentiary. I suggest that we give him ten years in Leavenworth, or eleven years in Twelveworth.

Chicolini: I'll tell you what I'll do. I'll take five and ten in Woolworth.

That 78-year-old exchange between Groucho Marx and his brother Chico in the classic movie comedy "Duck Soup" is a gentle reminder that film comedy hasn't changed that much since the so-called "Golden Age" of comedy teams.

I'm not comparing Laurel and Hardy with the stoner guys in "A Very Harold&Kumar 3D Christmas," which opened Friday, but I am saying that John Cho and Kal Penn, the actors who now have played Harold and Kumar in three movies, are part of the same cinematic lineage that brought you this exchange:

Rufus T. Firefly: Hey, you want to be a public nuisance?

Chicolini: Sure! How much does the job pay?

OK, it's silly, but memorable. I'm still quoting it nearly eight decades later.

We remember movie moments like that because it was the Marx Brothers, just as we remember the comedy of Abbott&Costello, Hope and Crosby, the Three Stooges and Cheech and Chong. It also could be Jack Lemmon and Walter Matthau, Dean Martin and Jerry Lewis and even Beavis and Butthead.

We love comedy teams, and we don't care who knows it.

They can be real brothers (Marx), fake brothers (Blues), married couples (Burns and Allen) or no relation at all (Monty Python). They even can be actors thrown together so memorably for a movie that they become an unexpected comedy team (Gene Wilder and Richard Pryor).

We ask only that they make us laugh, and here are our favorite comedy teams of all time. The list was compiled by a distinguished panel of laugh counters, who apparently aren't big fans of the Ritz Brothers.

1. The Marx Brothers - OK, one more classic Groucho line from "Duck Soup" as he addresses the troops: "Men, we're fighting for this woman's honor, which is probably more than she ever did."

2. Martin&Lewis - Dino and Jerry were the Justin Bieber and Selena Gomez of their day, except that they weren't teenagers, or singers or a couple. But they were comedic rock stars in every sense of the word.

3. Abbott&Costello - Who's on first?

4. Laurel and Hardy - This is another fine mess you've gotten us into.

5. Hope and Crosby - If Bob and Bing were making movies today, they'd be on the road to Vegas.

6. The Three Stooges - Hey Moe. Hey Larry. Hey Curly. N'yuk. N'yuk.

7. Gene Wilder and Richard Pryor - My favorite movie is "Stir Crazy," and my favorite scene is when they arrive in prison and are trying to act tough. "We're bad."

8. Cheech and Chong -- I wonder how funny "Up in Smoke" really is?

9. Monty Python - The Holy Grail was never in better hands.

10. Jack Lemmon and Walter Matthau - Don't watch "Grumpy Old Men. Watch "The Odd Couple."

11. George Burns and Gracie Allen - Say goodnight, Gracie.

12. Tim Conway and Harvey Korman - There are too many sketches to mention, but let's just say "the dentist."

13. Jay and Silent Bob - It's such a pleasure not to hear Kevin Smith talk.

14. Mel Gibson and Danny Glover - The "Lethal Weapon" movies are not comedies, and Mel's character is psychotic, but as cop buddies go, they're hysterical.

15. Harold and Kumar - Sweet stoners.

16. Beavis&Butthead - Many people singled out these animated morons as symbolic of the dumbing down of America, but I think the joke was on us.

17. The Blues Brothers - They were on a mission from G0d.

18. Chris Farley and David Spade - I may be alone on this, but I think "Tommy Boy" is better than it seems.

19. Kid 'n Play - Nice hair.

20. Bill&Ted - Remember what I said about Beavis and Butthead? These guys really were stupid.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

Fake celebrities ignite real controversy
Hollywood: Stop spoiling our movies
Mob expert reveals his favorite gangster flicks
Good riddance, Harry Potter
The coolest car movies ever made
Our favorite teacher movies
Are women funny?
Our special snarky summer movie guide
The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles