Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov 8, 2011 / 11 Mar-Cheshvan 5772

A toilet as smart as its occupant

By Dale McFeatters




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Slowly but steadily I am being left behind by modern consumer technology. With perseverance and trial and error I can work a TV remote, but I am at a total loss when confronted with a whole tray full of them on the coffee table in front of the big-screen TV and its assorted little electronic friends.

In spite of the fact that I could manage only minimal functions on my old cell phone -- make calls and, with a little luck, sometimes answer them, and once I took a photo but I don't remember how -- the family decided I needed a newer, sleeker one.

As happens in our household, the instructions were promptly thrown out but my children assured me the phone was intuitive and that I would figure it out. It wasn't and I haven't.

I am not alone in this. I have friends in a similar fix, driving cars half of whose dashboard is a complete mystery to them. It doesn't matter because past a certain age you can't read all the little numbers, letters and symbols anyway, certainly not when the car is moving.

That's why I feel the following dispatch from the Personal Tech section of The New York Times is only fair warning.

Kohler, outfitter to America's bathrooms, is coming out with a high-tech toilet called the Numi. (Excuse me, but "I have to go Numi" sounds too much like baby talk.) The Numi sells for $6,400, a lot when you consider you can't drive it to work, although that day may be coming.

The Times' Sam Grobart explains Kohler's reasoning: "First, it brings attention to the toilet market, not generally a closely watched industry." Nor should it be since all the really sophisticated work is done by your intestines; the rest is basically garbage removal.

Second, and here we're getting to the point, Kohler is battling a Japanese firm for preeminence in the over-the-top toilet market.

The Numi's controls -- and there seem to be 14 of them -- are done through a touch screen remote control that Grobart describes as "somewhat larger than an iPod Touch." (I'm quoting him because I have no idea how big that is.)

The Numi will wash and dry the user. Graphics on the keypad tastefully illustrate the choice of which parts get washed -- steady blast or oscillating spray -- and dried. Maybe it's just me, but letting an unsupervised robot work on your private parts requires more faith in technology than I can muster.

Grobart says it's easy to become accustomed to a throne with music and mood lighting, much like driving a luxury car with "a backup camera or heated seats." A backup camera on a toilet doesn't even bear thinking about.

The Numi stores "user profiles" so it can adjust the temperature, lighting and music for different members of the family. The toilet glows at night and there is a special Light Emitting Diode to help males with their aim. When it senses someone coming, the toilet seat gently rises and then lowers itself on departure, solving a problem that has bedeviled male-female relations at least as far back as the invention of the outhouse.

The Numi has a built-in FM radio and stereo speakers and a connection for an MP3 player, meaning if you have a teenage daughter you are never going to get her out of the bathroom. Men, who grow immersed in Sports Illustrated or Playboy and lose track of time, might be convinced to speed up the process if, at its successful conclusion, the toilet played Handel's "Hallelujah Chorus" at full blast.

Sensors on the eco-conscious Numi adjust the flushes for Number 1 and Number 2. Or, if you insist on personally taking control of the flush, there are two icons, showing a small swirl and a big swirl, clockwise if it really matters to you.

Don't say the Times didn't warn you.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:

11/07/11 Prerevolutionary gems in need of TLC

11/04/11 Feds must stop scam of stealing from dead children

11/03/11 Bank listens ‘very closely’ to customer lynch mob

11/01/11 TV that's leading the people away from ‘core socialist values’

10/31/11 NATO should not be a victim of its success

10/28/11 Iran mulls getting rid of president and presidency

10/27/11 Bienvenidos a Dayton and bring your businesses with you

10/26/11 Archivists long for Obama's teleprompter

10/25/11 United Nations to run the Internet?

10/24/11 Attention, world: You've got the cash. We've got the houses

10/19/11 Oil pipeline must be in America's future

10/18/11 U.S. plans ‘limited’ mission in an Africa with no limits

10/17/11 Social Security's grave mistakes

10/12/11 NASA's help-wanted sign for astronauts

10/10/11 Saving Thomas Jefferson''s chimneys

10/06/11 Uncle Sam's answer to deadbeats --- robo-calls

10/04/11 Christie should ignore jibes on his weight

10/03/11 Iran says its warships will head for Jersey shore

09/29/11 Europeans bristle at Obama's lectures

09/28/11 Jessica Rabbit for the defense

09/27/11 Russia learns outcome of next March's presidential election

09/26/11 Another try at leaving no child behind

09/23/11 This generation needs a job more than a name

09/22/11 In the lane next to you: A driverless car

09/20/11 Cloudy, cool, chance of falling satellite

09/14/11 Humanitarian extortion

09/13/11 Paging Dr. Watson; he's there in 3 seconds

09/09/11 Forecasting 100 percent chance of heavy metal

09/08/11 A jobs program at Obama's doorstep

09/07/11 Iran's government afraid of the water

09/06/11 Congress returns, tanned, rested and testy

09/05/11 Space nations must clean up after themselves

09/02/11 Osama bin Laden died a failure and he knew it

09/01/11 Time to retire political pie in the face

08/31/11 Labor Day celebrates what, exactly?

08/30/11 These arrestees really are framed

08/25/11 When in an earthquake, block traffic

08/23/11 A case for discretion in deportation arrests

08/22/11 Tough times or not, parents shell out for school

08/18/11 Being unpleasant for fun, profit, promotion

08/17/11 Time to prepare for the end game in Libya

08/16/11: ‘Super Committee’ starts facing reality

08/15/11: World's fastest plane disappears even faster

08/12/11: British cops track rioters through security cameras

08/11/11: Relax. There is no Death Star

08/10/11: House pages run final errands

08/09/11: U.S. treading water on job creation

08/08/11: Uncle Sam, the world's permanent guest

08/05/11: Most 9/11 victims not on federal death records

08/04/11: Russian PM calls U.S. a ‘parasite.’ He should be so lucky

08/03/11: Congress goes from one bind to another

08/02/11: D.B. Cooper may no longer be a mystery

08/01/11: Libya's latest weapon against NATO --- lawsuits

07/29/11: He'll always be known as Hot Wheels Handler

07/25/11: Recruiting children to save a dying town

07/22/11: Bachmann's admirable medical candor

07/12/11: Social Security's grave mistakes

07/08/11: Debt crisis need not be constitutional crisis

07/07/11: Startups entice new talent with kickball, treehouses

07/05/11: Stranded tourists get rare treat

06/30/11: The dollar Americans refuse to spend

06/27/11: The hangman doesn't cometh





© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles