Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Time to starve the spending beast

By Ron Hart




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "Politicians will always spend every penny of tax raised and whatever else they can get away with."

– Milton Friedman

The bipartisan debt commission headed by Democrat Erskine Bowles and Republican Alan Simpson was tasked with recommending ways to reduce the national debt. These seasoned Washington insiders came up with some reasonable recommendations, which will be treated like most smart decisions in Washington: They will be totally ignored.

Both sides will, no doubt, talk in their speech about cutting spending, but rest assured, the commission is all for show. As we know, all politicians do is act like they care about an issue and ask for money. Then they consider the problem solved.

President Obama has one solution for our financial problems: raise taxes. What Washington is saying is give the government more money via tax increases and it will spend less. That is like Kirstie Alley saying if you give her more food, she will eat less.

The notion that we can spend our way out of debt is like thinking you can eat your way out of obesity. Cutting spending is never done without some pain, but we can either have a little pain now or a lot of pain later.

Historically, each new dollar in taxes results in $1.17 to $1.81 in new spending. We have to starve the monster that is Washington, not feed it. The more we feed it, the more it will want later.

Aside from the debt it racks up, the more money we give to the federal government, the more we cede our power and our freedoms to politicians. Entitlement teaches dependency.

Politicians squander money. There was even an excuse by the Obama administration and its auditors that the dispensing of stimulus funds was held up because there were not enough federal workers to administer the spending. In short, there are not enough government bureaucrats to spend money we do not have to "create" jobs that have not materialized. And now we are out of stimulus money. So you tell me: should we give these Bozos more money?

It is clear that neither Obama nor many in his administration understand business and how it has been responsible for all the gains in standard of living enjoyed by Americans over the past 200 years. Twice he has taken slanderous jabs at Las Vegas by telling people not to go "blow their cash" there. At least in Las Vegas you have a chance of getting some return on your cash. By contrast, Washington is a financial black hole.

Taxes take money from the most productive part of society (the person or business who made the money in the first place) and redistributes it, after government's nefarious hands take their cut, to the least-productive part of society. The moochers take money from the producers, distributed by politicians who grease the hands of their cronies in the process. Money in private hands is always better for the economy.

Greece almost went under from massive government spending and unsustainable entitlements. Most of Europe is cutting spending to get their act together. Our president was treated like a pariah on his overseas trip to the G20 summit for demanding that everyone else spend money in order to stimulate the economy. There has not been a worse trip overseas since the Griswalds' trip with Chevy Chase in the 1980s. We now have President Obama-adopolis, who is better suited to have been running Greece in the ground, rather than a sane economic policy.

I am reminded of a story that best summarizes what needs to be done here. Two farmers are going broke, and one says to the other, "I am going to have to get rid of my blue tick hound dog." The other farmer asks why, and the first farmer says he cannot afford to feed the dog. The second farmer says, "Why don't you do what I did? I started feeding my dog poke salad. It grows abundantly in the field, it's nutritious, and it's free." The first farmer says, "I don't think my dog will like eating poke salad." The second farmer says, "You know, my dog didn't like it much either for the first few days."

=<<


BUY THE BOOK


Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).


Comment by clicking here.


JWR contributor Ron Hart grew up in Tennessee and began writing a column for his hometown paper in 2002. He attended The University of Memphis and the Institute for Political and Economic Systems at Georgetown University. Ron graduated Magna Cum Laude and was elected student government president. Upon getting his MBA, he went to work for Goldman Sachs. He was appointed to the Tennessee Board of Regents by then Governor Lamar Alexander and is now a private investor. He appears on CNN and has been quoted in numerous publications including the Wall Street Journal.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Previously:

The TSA: We Do Chicken Right!

A Red Wave

No Juan Left Behind at NPR

Capitalism in Time Saves Mine

The Broader Picture of What These Elections Mean

Dem-moralized: ‘Dead Fish’ taken to the trash cant

Ships Passing in the Night

Obamanomics continue to add up . . . for Republicans

She had Tiger by the tail: If Elin did not get Tiger's money, Obama would have


© 2010 Ron Hart

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles