Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Brett, it's time

By Rabbi Joshua Hess




Favre needs to turn to Ecclesiastes for career advice



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Adults and children, men and women alike, are taught and encouraged to push their limits. It is explained to them that the Divine only gives us limited time in this world to make an indelible impression on family, friends, and others; therefore we should try to stretch ourselves as much and as best as we can in order to impact the lives of others and to preserve our legacies for future generations.

This is, to be sure, prudent advice. We should never be satisfied with our current predicament or state of being; rather, we should always share a desire to improve and grow in whatever aspect of life that we have chosen. By pushing our limits we will probably achieve a decent amount of success, and some may experience tremendous successes.

I believe that most people attempt to push their limits and some do so successfully. There are various reasons why people push their boundaries, but almost everyone does so in at least one area in their lives.

The bigger question that has been on my mind for some time is: Does there come a point in time where we need to stop pushing our limits? Could it be that, eventually, we can be satisfied with how far we've come, and decide that it is good enough?

I am not discussing matters of the spirit; for if there is no growth in our relationship with the Divine, there is a decline and the relationship will deteriorate. Let us instead focus our conversation on physical growth.

When is it time to stop inflicting ourselves with indescribable pain, to call it a career, before it's too late? Take Brett Favre, for example. The man is 41 years old. He has had an amazing career as the quarterback for the Green Bay Packers, and most recently, the Jets and Vikings. He has played in 291 consecutive football games. He is the Cal Ripken of football. But the guy is literally falling apart before our eyes. He can barely walk, his arm is practically falling off when he throws the football, (besides for all the other personal infidelity issues that he is going through) and now he has two fractures on his ankle. And guess what? He hopes to play on Sunday!

It's not surprising to hear that from Favre. The guy really is tough and wants to help his team win. But seriously, when is enough, enough? How much longer can he continue to push his limits? Better yet, perhaps it's time for him to stop?

Let's be honest, Favre is not playing football to show that he can still be effective at his advanced age. He's not out to prove people wrong. He's simply addicted to the game. He can't fathom being home all year long for the rest of his life with nothing to do! Instead he is choosing to torture himself for the sake of his sanity. But Brett, it's time. Enough is enough. You need to come to terms with moving on. It was torturous enough to watch Michael Jordan come back with the Wizards. Sure, he was able, on occasion, to play at a high level; and there were Michael Jordan flashbacks, but he was never the same Jordan. Brett, your time has come.

As a society, we need to really think about maintaining proper boundaries and keeping proper perspective on life and on our personal goals, before we continue to push ourselves too far.

I feel that its appropriate to adapt a verse from Ecclesiastes to help guide Brett and all the others contemplating whether to continue pushing at a time when they have reached the end of their careers: "There is a time for war and a time for peace"; there is a time to push and push and push until we need to be lifted off the field by teammates, and there is also a time to simply, "shut it down."

Good luck, Brett.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes inspiring articles. Sign up for our daily update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Rabbi Joshua Hess is spiritual leader of Congregation Anshe Chesed, a growing, friendly, and inclusive Orthodox Shul, in Linden, NJ.

© 2010, Rabbi Joshua Hess