Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 8, 2010 / 1 Kislev, 5771

‘I'm not drunk, I'm alert’: A Boozy Up-and-Down Makes This Loko Loco

By Mitch Albom






http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Can we agree that young people need no help in getting drunk?

And can we agree that young people are attracted to the following:

Large cans.

Sweet flavors like lemonade or fruit punch.

A cheap price.

Staying awake.

Put those all together, and you can understand why Four Loko is one of the fastest-growing alcoholic beverages in the country.

And why so many older people are worried.

Four Loko comes in brightly colored, 23.5-ounce cans. In case you don't remember measurements from high school (which is the age of many kids drinking this stuff), old-fashioned Coke bottles used to be eight ounces. A typical can of beer is 12 ounces.

Four Loko is not only nearly twice that, it is also 12 percent alcohol content (versus 4 percent or 5 percent for a beer). And, oh, yeah, it only costs a couple of bucks -- at a 7-Eleven, gas station or other easily accessible places.

This may be why, the last few months, several dozen students at Washington and New Jersey colleges were hospitalized after reportedly drinking Four Loko. And why campus across the country -- and this past week the entire state of Michigan -- have banned it and other alcoholic energy drinks from being sold.

THE DESIRE TO BE HUMMING 24/7

If people want to guzzle Four Lokos until they collapse -- in their house, not behind the wheel -- they have that right. May be a waste of life, but they have the right.

I am more worried about kids -- high schoolers, college freshmen -- stuck in that adolescent wrestle of wanting to be cool versus not wanting to damage themselves. A yellow or purple can, with kiwi or grape flavoring, that also promises to -- and this is critical -- keep you awake, is a dangerously tempting product.

Remember, while many of us went through the sneak-a-beer phase, these energy drinks are a whole new game. The only beverage we drank for energy was cola or coffee, and coffee tasted bitter, it was our parents' drink (this was long before Starbucks) and we only did it if we had a final exam.

Today, kids guzzle energy drinks as if popping chewing gum. Red Bull. Monster. Full Throttle. Rockstar. You see 15- and 16-year-olds with this stuff all the time. For an edge in sports. To do hours of homework. To be up all night on the computer.

Staying awake has never been so attractive.

And crashing has never been so dangerous.

THE DESIRE TO BLACKOUT

The problem with Four Loko is that the caffeine, taurine and guarana -- all stimulants -- can mask the effects of all that alcohol. Initially, you feel the jolt and say, "I'm not drunk, I'm alert."

So you have another.

But when the stimulant wears off, the depressant takes over. And you have kids blacking out, waking up on lawns, or worse, reporting they were sexually abused but barely remember it.

True, stores should never sell this stuff to minors. And parents should teach their kids to be responsible. And we should all love our neighbor, give to charity and maintain the proper body weight.

But since that world is fantasy, this world requires some help. I don't mind the ban on this stuff. The guys who started Four Loko -- college buddies from Ohio State -- knew exactly whom they were targeting when they created the brew. You know what kids call it? "Blackout in a can." If you think that's a product we must save, we're on a different page.

Teens can mix rum and Coke. They can make Irish coffee. You can never fully stop underage drinking. But you don't have to dress it in fruity colors and sell it cheap.

There are many words I'd like associated with our kids. "Loko" isn't one of them.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2009, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles