Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 8, 2010/ 1 Kislev, 5771

Curtain Up, Progressives Down

By Arnold Ahlert




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | No matter how many ways they try to analyze last week's election, the American left will forever reject the most obvious explanation of all: for the first time since Jimmy Carter, Americans got a long, hard look at progressivism. Not the progressivism cloaked in the mainstream media- and Democrat-concocted facade of high-minded reasonableness. The haughty, elitist arrogance of those who truly believe they are the only lights shining across a darkened landscape populated by misguided misfits--misguided misfits who thoroughly rejected their enlightened benevolence in favor of…what? Here's what:

Pragmatism. Progressives and pragmatism are like oil and water. Nothing represents this better than the total and enduring disconnect between progressives' grand schemes and our ability to pay for them. Thirteen trillion dollars of debt, thousands of unfunded federal mandates and an insatiable desire to keep spending our money, along with that of our children and grandchildren, is the mother's milk of the American left. Americans have had more than enough of this nonsense. What do they know that so many of our Ivy League, nose-in-the-air "intellectuals" don't?

That you can't get blood from a stone, that's what. Spending America into the ground isn't "benevolent' or "enlightened." It's moronic, and more importantly, it's immoral. That's right, immoral when you call it by its proper name: multi-generational thievery.

Respect. Barack Obama thinks he took a beating because he "didn't get his message across?" The media hand-wringers bemoan the "great unwashed" voters' "rage and racism?" The most insufferable snob in politics, Senator John Kerry (D-MA) says we've entered an age of "know-nothingism" and "lost our minds?" Welcome to the Progressive Charm School approach to "winning the hearts and minds" of ordinary Americans.

Those would be the same ordinary Americans sick to death of being belittled by people who finally thought it was safe to bare their contempt. It wasn't, and nothing epitomized this better than the Tea Party movement. Millions of Americans finally saw who progressives really are, so neatly epitomized by the passage of the health care bill, and decided it was proverbial last straw.

The bill was a two-fer: it demonstrated that nothing, not even ten percent unemployment, would stand in the way of progressive priorities--and that the will of the people meant absolutely nothing in pursuing those priorities. We wanted jobs. They wanted government-run health care. Now they wonder out loud how we could've have been so stupid. Priceless.

I would be remiss if I didn't mention one more example of blind arrogance. Former Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi (how I love that word "former") has announced her intention to remain the leader of her now minority House party (how I love that word "minority"). Her rationale? "We have no intention of allowing our great achievements to be rolled back," said Ms. Pelosi.

How's that for respecting the will of the people?

American exceptionalism. When this bunch assumed the reins of power, many of us warned our fellow Americans that we were electing people who assumed this country was fundamentally flawed. It didn't take them long to reveal that assessment. Barack Obama toured the globe apologizing for the "sins" of a nation whose track record of generosity is second to none, whose historical sacrifices of blood and treasure dwarf those of every other nation, and whose commitment to freedom make it a magnet for the poor and oppressed across the entire planet.

Every grandiose scheme concocted by progressives arises from the idea that America's success is attributable to some form of greed and/or cruelty for which we must hold ourselves accountable. We must "level the playing field," not by encouraging other countries to raise their standards, but by lowering our own in order to meet the world half-way.

This "zero sum" garbage is the essence of the progressive mindset in which every reason for our success can be traced to someone else's failure--and only a benevolent government with progressives in charge can right every wrong wrought by the "evils" of capitalism, and a free people exercising free choices.

Don't think for a second that these people aren't truly astounded that Americans would reject such a misguided assessment of our country. Such is the essence of what passes for a college education in modern-day America, and those educated in such settings are completely convinced that the only thing separating the rubes from reality is a sheepskin and a mortarboard hat. It's not. It's a deep abiding love called "patriotism" and people are sick to death of seeing it denigrated by intellectual pecksniffs whose contempt for it and those who believe in it is palpable.

National unity. It's becoming increasingly impossible for most Americans to reconcile the self-professed tolerance of progressives with their vicious attacks on anyone who rejects their agenda. Perhaps the bottom of the barrel was the liberal whispering campaign suggesting Sarah Palin's child, Trig, was really that of her daughter Bristol, during the 2008 election campaign. Coming in a close second was General "Betrayus," attacking a man who has dedicated his life to preserving freedom. And when it become evident that the Tea Party movement could no longer be ignored, progressives began attacking concerned Americans with a fury they have never demonstrated for any of American's genuine enemies--a word the president himself used to characterize his fellow Americans.

In the world of progressives, we are not Americans. We are gays versus straights, blacks vs. whites, men vs. women, rich vs. poor, religionists vs. atheists, and any of a host of other sub-categories all promoted for one purpose: to divide and conquer.

Americans should watch very closely when newly-elected Allen West, a black Republican, attempts to join the Congressional Black Caucus, a move he has indicated he intends to make. The last and only Republican in the CBC was Connecticut Rep. Gary Frank. Mr Frank was often excluded from, or kept unaware of, meetings held by the CBC, some of whose members considered him a "spy" for the opposition--with opposition being defined as anyone who doesn't march in lockstep with the progressive agenda.

The other black Republican elected to Congress, Tim Scott, has indicated he will pass on the CBC: "My experience has been the whole notion of one nation--so I really shy away things that create some kind of boundaries. … It highlights the divisions I've been pushing forward to erase." Perhaps Mr. Scott might consider that working for change from the inside may be far more effective, but his desires are admirable nonetheless.

Florida's Senator-elect, Republican Marco Rubio, is yet another bit of evidence that voters are fed up with the ethnic stereotyping that progressives use to keep non-whites on the Democrat plantation.

Heaven help those progressives if these three men represent a trend. And progressives know it. Expect all three men to be attacked with a viciousness that represents exactly what it is: a wounded ideology's fight for survival. Any serious fissures in the ethnic monolith created and enforced by progressives is the end of the road for those whose success hinges on keeping Americans divided and angry with each other.

A fair and balanced media. Once again the "wisdom" of the progressive punditry was thoroughly rejected--and once again they are utterly clueless as to how that's possible. That so many of them can't connect the dots is becoming farcical. If such cluelessness could be summed up by one idea it could be reduced to, "I don't understand how Republicans were so successful. Everyone I know voted Democrat."

There's a reason why first cousins aren't allowed to marry: highly similar gene pools produce dubious results in offspring. So it is with the leftist media echo-chamber which has hermetically sealed itself off from mainstream America, even as they wonder why America has returned the favor. Better to blame everything on Fox News, and the rest of the "vast right-wing conspiracy."

Whatever gets you through the night, boys and girls. But don't expect an ounce of sympathy--or a ratings boost--from the majority Americans who are as elated with your comeuppance as they are with that of our Congress and the president.

In conclusion, here's hoping progressives keep kidding themselves. Their willful denial of the obvious will hopefully resonate with the public right up through the election of 2012. With any luck, we'll get a whole lot more of them telling us what a stupid bunch of ingrates we are for tossing them out of Washington, D.C.

Think it's over, progressives? This party's just getting started.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Arnold Ahlert's column, by clicking here.



Previously:


11/04/10:
Last Chance, Republicans
11/01/10: By Their Own Words Shall Ye Know Them
10/28/10: Progressive Determination to Undermine American Elections
10/25/10: Shock, but more importantly, action: De-Unionize Public Schools now
10/20/10: Multiculturalism? Check, Please
10/18/10: Healthcare: ‘Alice in Wonderland’ vs. The Constitution
10/11/10: Vote for Restoring the Rule of Law in November
10/11/10: Dems: Running From Clarity
10/07/10: Hypersensitive Hogwash
10/04/10: ‘Comprehensive’ Con Artists
09/29/10: Why Dems Are Going Down in November
09/27/10: The Unholiest of Unholy Alliances
09/22/10: Two Words for Republicans to Remember: ‘I Won’
09/20/10: Purging ‘Me First’ Politicians
09/17/10: No More ‘Lesser of Two Evils’
09/15/10: ‘Recovery’ Arms Race
09/13/10: ‘Bigots’ in the Majority --- Again?
09/09/10: Giving Voters Something to Vote For
09/07/10: Irresponsible Dems, Incomprehensible Bills
09/02/10: War Weary Americans vs. Implacable Islamists
08/31/10: A ‘Dream’ Debased
08/25/10: American ‘Bigots’ Versus Media Propagandists
08/23/10: Recovery Bummer
08/19/10: An Unholy Alliance of Radicals
08/16/10: You've Lost America, Mr. President
08/13/10: The Twin Towers of Progressive Disconnect
08/11/10: A Far Better ‘National Discussion’
08/09/10: It's ‘Only’ One Dead Nun
08/06/10: Incremental Tyranny
08/04/10: Ground Zero Mosque: Context Counts
08/02/10: The Arizona Ruling: a Gift for November
07/29/10: The United Cities of America
07/26/10: JournoList: ‘Coordinated’ Ideological Bankruptcy
07/20/10: Go For Broke Or Get Out of the Way
07/14/10: You're a Liberal/Progressive if You Believe…
07/12/10: $33-an-hour--For Sleeping On the Job
07/08/10: Extortionist Government
07/06/10: ‘Commerce Clause’ Totalitarians
07/01/10: Another Public School Travesty in MA
06/30/10: Calling YOUR Bluff, Mr. President
06/28/10: A Trifecta of Progressive Corruption
06/23/10: Plug the Darn Hole --- In Our Border
06/21/10: Our Empty-Suit-in-Chief
06/16/10: Betraying Our Children
06/14/10: Who Gets the Benefit of the Doubt?
06/07/10: Politically Correct Warfare
06/01/10: Bill Maher's ‘Black’ President
05/25/10: A Mosque At Ground Zero
05/23/10: Libs Stand Tall --- For Mexico
05/19/10: The 'Unintended Consequences' of Liberalism
05/17/10: 'Los' Suns: Stuck on Stupido
05/12/10: Union Audacity: Yes We Will!
05/10/10: Greeks, Leaks and and Double-Speak
05/05/10: Twelve Million Illegals --- or Thirty?
05/02/10: Republicans: Playing Not to Lose Doesn't Cut It
04/28/10: Arizona: Progressivism's Waterloo?
04/26/10: Son of Amnesty
04/22/10: Mortgages and Moral Meltdowns
04/20/10: Bashing Christians — Or Gays?
04/15/10: Personal Integri-‘tea’
04/12/10: Fools, Tools and Ghouls
04/08/10: (Tea) Party On
04/05/10: The Triumph of Mediocrity
04/02/10: Two For the Road
03/29/10: The Innate Immorality of Liberalism
03/24/10: The Art of War
03/22/10: I Want My Country Back
03/18/10: A Perpetual Process
03/17/10: American Exhibitionists
03/15/10: A Light Bulb Moment of Clarity
03/10/10: Little Things Mean A Lot
02/03/10: Budgetary Fork in the Road
02/01/10: Liberal Economic Illiteracy
01/27/10: ‘Roe-ing and Wade-ing’ Back to Reason
01/25/10: Arrogance When Up, Denial When Down
01/20/10: Connecting the Educational Dots
01/19/10: The Next Tea Party?
01/15/10: The Myth That Keeps on Giving
01/13/10: Airport Security Begins Away From the Airport
01/11/10: Secrets and Lies
01/08/10: Embracing Bigotry — or Rejecting Bullying?
01/06/10: Hanging by an Ideological Thread
01/04/10: Our ‘Wonderama’ Bureaucracy
12/30/09: A Day Off
12/28/09: Dangerous Myths
12/25/09: I, Me, Mine
12/23/09: A Very Harry Christmas
12/21/09: My Opinon
12/18/09: The Party of Repeal
12/15/09: Privileged Exemption
11/30/09: ‘Settled’ Science and Unsettled Children
11/30/09: American Sharia Law
11/23/09:The Trial (Travesty) of the Century
11/04/09: American Vampires and Their Political Enablers
11/01/09: ‘Opting Out’ of Insanity?
10/28/09: Cell Phones Cause Brain Cancer. Brain Required
10/26/09: Communism: Nazism With Better PR
10/21/09: Just Asking
10/16/09: Cost Projections vs. Actual Costs, or Hope and Change vs. Reality
10/14/09: News you can use …
10/07/09: Incremental Insidiousness
10/05/09: MIA: Common Sense and Common Decency
09/30/09: Iran: Bad Options and Unpreparedness
09/21/09: Crying Racism: the Last Refuge of Scoundrels
09/11/09: 9/11 Cannot Be Sanitized
09/08/09: ‘Truthers’ and Consequences
09/01/09: A ‘Paper Trail’ Challenge for the Mainstream Media
08/31/09: Drowning in Amorality
08/26/09: The Republican Recovery Program

© 2010, Arnold Ahlert

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles