Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 17, 2008 / 19 Mar-Cheshvan 5769

Dean: Dems ‘big tent’ party now

By Roger Simon


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | When Howard Dean got to Washington just under four years ago, he didn't know what to expect.

Well, no, that's not true. He did know what to expect. He expected to find the kind of people he had always detested: Washington insiders, slick operators and politicos.

Thursday, I asked Dean what he had actually found. He quoted Harry Truman.

"Your friends in Washington are the ones who stab you in the front," he said.

But then Dean, chairman of the Democratic National Committee, hastened to add: "I really enjoyed it, despite the fact I campaigned against Washington [when he ran for president in 2004]. I don't exactly like armed combat, but I enjoyed most of the people here.

"The culture here is a little tough sometimes. But I feel pretty good about the caliber of the people who represent us [in Congress]. I have to say I like them, and most keep their word. I can't think of anybody who has lied to my face. I couldn't imagine saying that four years ago."

Those warm feelings apply, however, only to Democrats.

"I don't have much dealings with anybody but Democrats," Dean said. "Maybe someday in the future."

Dean will not run for a second term as chairman of the DNC. Under him, the party picked up 50 House seats in the last two elections and at least a dozen Senate seats. A Democrat has also been elected to the White House.

Whether Dean would like to join the administration of that Democrat, he would not say. (Which usually means yes.) He is a medical doctor who began his presidential run in 2004 not by talking about the Iraq war, which became his signature issue, but by talking about health care, especially child health care.

And Dean did have praise for Obama's new chief of staff, Rahm Emanuel, who has clashed with Dean in the past. Emanuel wanted the DNC's money spent for the election of Democratic candidates to the House, and Dean wanted to spend a lot of it on putting paid DNC staffers in all 50 states, even some states that Democratic candidates rarely won.

"This is all business," Dean said Thursday. "Rahm had his job to do to elect as many people as possible immediately, and my job was to take a long view for the Democratic Party. It was never personal, colorful as we both may be. And Rahm has more than landed on his feet. He has got a great job now."

The DNC is now at least $15 million in debt, in part, Dean said, because it was fighting in places where it had never really fought before and winning such formerly Republican states as North Carolina and Virginia. "And we are going to defend North Carolina and Virginia next time," Dean said, "which is better than throwing rocks uphill, which is what we had to do this time."

Obama's campaign manager, David Plouffe, sent out an e-mail recently asking for contributions to help retire the DNC's debt. "We'll get to work transforming this country. But first, we need to take care of the DNC," Plouffe wrote.

And it is quite possible that Obama will have enough saved from the vast sums of money he raised as a presidential candidate to wipe out the DNC's debt himself.

"This will not be a big problem," Dean said. "We have every confidence it will not be a big problem at all."

What is also not a big problem for the Democrats is reappraising what their party stands for and how to make it more appealing to voters. The Democrats won. Winners don't reappraise. They enjoy. Agonizing reappraisal is for the Republicans.

I asked Dean if he took any secret pleasure in that.

"I don't take great pleasure in their distress," Dean said. "We've won, and now have the worst economic crisis in 70 to 80 years to deal with. I think the party has come together, and we did it by having the most unifying person in politics for a long, long time as president, and secondly, by allowing individual state parties to make their own decisions about the message and using their resources."

Dean said that the Democratic Party was now a big-tent party. "We didn't have just one message," Dean said, speaking of those Democrats who ran for Congress and other positions. "You could be pro-life, pro-choice, a conservative and get supported and get resources."

Throughout his term as DNC chairman, Dean also tried to open a dialogue with people who rarely voted Democratic. "We began a dialogue with evangelical Christians, especially those under 35, and I think it paid off," Dean said. "We noticed from all data we were collecting that they were worried about the things Democrats are worried about: poverty, climate change, Darfur. And now they don't have to feel that just because a Republican didn't win they don't have a friend in the White House."

"We want to put the old politics of division aside," Dean said, "and focus on the new politics of unity."

But he couldn't resist taking a shot at the Republicans, anyway.

"I think this new generation is the generation that really wants to solve problems rather than exploit differences, which has been Republican modus operandi," Dean said. "This last election harnesses the desire of the American people to work together."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2008, Creators Syndicate