On Psychology


Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Which Is It: Pride or Arrogance?

By Dr. Debby Schwarz Hirschhorn


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

When is it right to let the world know who you are and when does it cross the line?


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Eight pairs of eyes were starring at me, their expressions serious. "So, Miss Hirschhorn," they continued their interrogation, "what would you say are your strong points?" I was being interviewed for graduate school and I knew I had to sell myself.

"I'm organized," I began, "I'm a hard worker; I learn fast; I'm responsible; I get along well with people; I enjoy helping; I like to write; I'm not stupidů"

"Hold on, there," the professor with the dark eyes interrupted. "Why did you do that?"

I was startled. "Do what?" I asked.

"It was positive, positive, positive all the way through your list until you got to the end. Then it was, 'I'm not stupid,' he pointed out. Why did you do that?"

Oh, boy, now they got me. Caught red-handed with anava (humility). What an awful time for that. How am I supposed to sell myself?

Taking a deep breath, I said in a tiny voice, "I didn't want to brag."

"Well," piped up a petite lady with honey-blonde hair, "if you did want to brag, what would you say?"

The air fizzled out of me like a tired balloon. "I'd say I was smart," I admitted.

I got in. Anava lost; boastfulness won. Well, I suppose there were other reasons I got accepted for doctoral work that fateful morning all those years ago, but, clearly, these people wanted to hear what I thought was the unadulterated truth out of my lips, no beating about the bush.

And so, the question is: Did I do the right thing the first time? Shouldn't I have laid it on the line right up front and not presented myself like some sort of wimp who can't accurately assess herself? And, taking this question further: When is it right to say, "I know what I'm doing," "I'm good at what I do," or I'm in charge here and you'll do it on my terms" and when does that become arrogance? Is there some sort of foolproof test to determine which it is in any given situation?

Let's start with some definitions. "Pride" is nothing more than awareness of one's capabilities. We become aware of someone's pride when that person speaks up in some way. Although Moses led the entire nation out of Egypt, he was considered to be the humblest man on Earth. That's because he was honest about his strong points while seeing clearly his limitations. He was humble — but he was proud, too. He asserted his authority when necessary many times over. So, we can say that an outcome of pride is the natural leadership the proud person takes in his or her areas of specialty.

"Arrogance" looks awfully much the same. The person is aware of his skills and talents in an area and assumes leadership in that area. The only difference is that those around him or her are bothered by it. For some reason, that control feels pushy and out of place. The observer is inclined to think, "Who does he think he is?" There seems to be a divide between the individual's self-assessment and that of onlookers.

That runs us right into the next question: Who's responsible for that — the person or the spectators? After all, if beauty is in the eye of the beholder, wouldn't that also be true for another person's talents and management? Perhaps, when there is a difference of opinions, the arrogance lies not with the person in charge but with the viewers. Perhaps it is the viewers who have misplaced arrogance rather than the presumptive leader. How are we to tell?

Here's one clue: A person who knows his (or her) strengths, also knows his weaknesses. You'll frequently find a person who is proud and takes leadership roles in one domain, deferring to others in different domains of activity. The arrogant person won't do that. The arrogant person seems to know everything about everything and won't give up a stronghold on anything. Thus, in judging who the arrogant person really is, ask yourself: Which one of these two people thinks he or she knows everything about everything? Which one has all the answers on all subjects? That's one clue.

The problem with this clue is that sometimes one individual is really, really well versed on life. Being widely knowledgeable does not connote arrogance. What's more, if the presumed arrogant person appears to be a know-it-all on topics that he has, indeed, specialized in, he has a right to be considered an expert on them. Oprah has interviewed thousands of people and has read hundreds of books; maybe she has a right to be considered an expert in many social issues. Or, put differently, rabbinic experts confront legal and many social issues simply because of the number of people who have come to them with stories and problems in need of solution. So, a second clue is to ask: What is this person's specialty? Perhaps his line of work entitles him to expertise.

Here's a third clue: How do most people think about the individuals in question? Is the supposedly arrogant one well regarded? Is she or he respected in the community? Does he rub many people the wrong way or is it just this one person who judges him to be arrogant?

Of course, there's also a problem with this reasoning. There can be several people who feel the same negative way. In the history of psychology, when two people share the same delusions, it's called a "Follie a deux" — mistakes by two (people). As we have seen from the ranks of skinheads and other fringes, there can be many people sharing a view — and they can all be wrong. Therefore, if more than one person feels he is arrogant, we must next ask: Who are these people? What do they have in common and what do they mutually object to in the one they consider arrogant?

Finally, what is the general demeanor of the person under question? Is he for the most part humble, gracious, kindly, thoughtful, and considerate? Good qualities usually go together (though not always.) Moses was both humble and proud. A few ne'er-do-wells thought he was arrogant — but they were wrong.

Let's apply these clues to the original question: When is it right to let the world know who you are and when does it become arrogance? Had I been uniformly positive, I would not have seemed arrogant according to all three clues presented here. My own case is a good example of staying on the safe side and thereby avoiding being wrongly accused of arrogance, but you know what? I'm glad my professors had me ditch the false modesty. If you try not to sound like a know-it-all, are generally well-regarded, and have all-around good character, I say, go for it! Let the world know who you are! Hiding who you are is not a good formula for using what you have in the service of Hashem.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes inspirational material. Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dr. Debby Schwarz Hirschhorn is an Orthodox Marriage & Family Therapist. To comment, please click here. To visit her website, please click here.

Understanding the dynamics of attraction
Tell Your ‘Inner Child’ to Just Keep Out of This
‘Is’ is Dangerous
Are the High Holy Days About Guilt?
Confessions of a religious feminist
Kindliness and Blood: A Passover Thought
Arguing: It's a Jewish thing

© 2008, Dr. Debby Schwarz Hirschhorn