Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 4, 2008 / 6 Mar-Cheshvan 5769

A surprise for Obama in the Middle East

By Frida Ghitis


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article


What the Arab street really believes — and why

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | AMMAN, Jordan — By now you can picture the Arab world in a frenzy of excitement over the elections in the United States. I certainly expected that when I landed here. After all, one of the candidates, Barack Obama, presents a sharp departure from traditional American presidents. He has a name that you can actually write in Arabic without pondering the correct spelling. One could hardly imagine anything but breathless anticipation and a strong dose of optimism at the prospect of Obama, the candidate with Muslim roots, moving into the White House.


Imagine my surprise, then, when the first person I asked about the U.S. election told me he thinks Obama is not experienced enough and believes John McCain would make a better president. I could scarcely believe my ears. He quickly read the astonishment on my face and pleaded with me not to reveal his name. Apparently, the views of this well-educated middle-class man are in the minority. The favorite here to become the next American president is definitely Obama, not McCain. And yet, the pro-Obama enthusiasm I thought I'd find in the Arab Middle East is not exactly bubbling over.


After that first conversation, I imagined that even if the candidate preference was not unanimous, at least interest in the American election must be sky high. In every other region where I have traveled the local papers featured frequent and prominent pictures of the candidates with extensive articles on the campaign. Europe, for one, is buzzing with anticipation. With a few days until the polls open in the United States, surely, the Jordanian papers would be no different.


Wrong again. The papers here always carry pictures of the monarch, King Abdullah, doing his work for the people. The U.S. candidates are nowhere to be seen on the front pages of local Arabic-language newspapers. Pictures from the campaign trail appear in the English-language press, usually buried in the back pages.


I thought my impressions might be unusual, perhaps limited to one country, but a new opinion poll in the Muslim world confirms my experience. A Gallup survey of six Muslim countries found support for Obama is stronger than for McCain, but rather underwhelming. In fact, the poll showed a strikingly low level of interest in the American election.


In Pakistan, an astonishing 90 percent said they don't know who they prefer, or refused to answer. The rest were divided equally between the two candidates, with support at a pathetic 5 percent for each. Obama's highest support came in Saudi Arabia, at a not-quite-resounding 50 percent. Only 33 percent of Palestinians and 32 percent of Kuwaitis said they prefer Obama, but that was three times more than support McCain. Ironically, Obama fares better with Jews in the United States than with Muslims in this region. A recent Gallup poll showed 75 percent of American Jews plan to vote for Obama.


It may also stem from the undercurrent of mistrust in the Arab world, which ascribes incalculable and sinister powers to Jews. Conspiratorial suggestions that the Jews will choose and control the next American president have been rife in the Arab media.


Jordanians with whom I have spoken are following the American elections, and almost all favor Obama. Still, among his supporters few hold great illusions that he will bring a great deal of change to this region - and this is the good news for Obama. They expect whoever is elected will be looking out for the interests of the United States. People here know about the economic crisis, and they believe that the next U.S. president will focus on that, rather than on the problems of the Middle East.


The initial wave of euphoria that greeted Obama's candidacy in this region has given way to a tradition of cynicism about what happens in the West, particularly in the United States. The good news for Obama is that in the Arab world he will not face the trap of excessively high expectations. The bad news is that an Obama election may not automatically repair damaged attitudes, as so many had predicted.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Frida Ghitis heads International Insights, Inc. an international consulting firm. She is also the author of "The End of Revolution: A Changing World in the Age of Live Television." Previously, she spent more than 15 years at CNN as a correspondent, producer and unit manager. She has worked in more than 50 countries, traveling to places as varied as Tibet, Iraq, Burma, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Haiti, Cuba, Somalia, Colombia, Nepal and many others.


Up

© 2008, Frida Ghitis