Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 9, 2007 / 27 Mar-Cheshvan 5768

Computing in Amman: What to Bring

By Mark Kellner

Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | AMMAN, Jordan -- When you go to the capital of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, don't forget your sunscreen, even in November. There's a strong sun here, evident in even a few moments out of doors.


At the same time, don't forget to bring your laptop, cell phone and other digital gear. The kingdom is well wired for the 21st century. Spending three nights at the Grand Hyatt in Amman, I was delighted to find high-speed wired Internet service available. The $22-per-day cost isn't so wonderful, but it's better than what I found in Izmir, Turkey, some 15 months ago.


As far as which laptop to bring, I'd go for something small and light. I'm carrying an older-but-still-very-useful model of Apple's MacBook, with a 13-inch widescreen display and enough horsepower to handle various tasks. I could just as easily have packed Fujitsu's T-2010 tablet PC, reviewed here a few weeks back. The key is small and light - your shoulders will thank you.


On the telephony side, once you've signed up for the high-speed Internet, there's nothing better than Skype for calling back home. I made two 15-minute "calls" back home to landline phones in the U.S. and spent less than $1, far better than what my U.S.-based cellular carrier would charge. Call quality was excellent at both ends, in part thanks to my using Logitech's $49.99 ClearChat Pro USB headset, released in late August. The headset is comfortable, has a built-in, swing arm style microphone, and, as the name implies, used the USB port for digital audio. The device made calling a delight.


Cell phones and similar devices using the Global Standard for Mobile, or GSM, work just fine here, but forget about using CDMA phones, such as those from Sprint and Verizon. That network doesn't operate in this city, which is a shame: Sprint's CDMA data modem was a lifesaver at both Reagan National and John F. Kennedy International airports. By the way, Palm's travel kit is very handy, coming as it does with electric connection adapters for many nations, including Jordan, letting me recharge a Palm Treo easily.


Travel of course brings many opportunities for photo taking. I'm using two cameras from Fujifilm USA, one a shirt-pocket model and the other a fixed-lens camera with an 18-times optical zoom, going from the equivalent of 27mm to 486mm. Full reviews will appear here later, but I'm impressed that the Fujifilm cameras take both SecureDigital , or SD, storage cards as well as the Fuji-Olympus xD format storage card. When I placed a 2 Gigabyte SD card in the fixed-lens FinePix S8000fd , it showed that I had just under 1,000 pictures available at 8 megapixels, the equivalent of more than 27 rolls of 36-exposure film. Sweet. Also in my camera bag is the Olympus E-510, also reviewed here a few months back. Sometimes an SLR camera is what you need, and the Olympus is a winner.


One interesting sidelight of modern-day travel is that my electronic gear can respond to varying electrical voltages; use the correct wall adapter and the computer, phone or battery charger knows what it's getting and handles it appropriately.


For those interested in tourism to Jordan, which abounds in biblical and antiquarian sites, the Internet Web site www.seejordan.org, hosted by the Jordan National Tourism Board, is a great place to start. Over the next few days, I hope to see some of those wonders, and I'm confident that my digital travel gear will come in handy.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2007, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles