Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 7, 2006 / 16 Mar-Cheshvan, 5767

The world's shortest course in becoming a great leader

By Marty Nemko

Nemko
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Even if you're just a clerk, you can become a leader. A wonderful leader. Here's how:


Envision yourself as a leader in your own image. Great leaders aren't alike. They come in flavors. The naturally great speakers spend more time speaking. The brilliant strategists stay in their office strategizing. The masters of efficiency focus on making every aspect of the business hum. Before you get your first leadership position, assess yourself: What are you best and worst at? Mold your leadership style to emphasize your strengths, and plan to delegate or outsource the rest.


Hire cleverly. No matter what flavor, leaders must hire wisely. Nothing is more important. Don't waste time placing ads-there's too much dishonesty in résumés and cover letters. Better to ask everyone you respect for solid candidates. In job interviews, don't bother asking obvious questions such as "What is your greatest strength and weakness?" It's easy to prepare smart answers to those. Instead, simulate tasks the candidate will do on the job, then grade his or her performance. When you're down to a few finalists, ask each for 10 references. Call them at night, when you know they won't be in the office. Leave a voice mail saying, "I'm considering Joe Amazing for a very important position. If you think he's truly excellent, call me back. If not, don't call." If you get seven or more calls, you have the right person.


Speak well. I'll be honest with you-if you're a dullard, you could learn all the speaking techniques in the world and still be a terrible speaker. But assuming you're bright, here are a few keys to effective speaking: Keep it simple. Use anecdotes and metaphors where appropriate. Speak at a moderate pace and in your most pleasing tone of voice. (Try different parts of your vocal range in a tape recorder. Learn to use your favorite.) Do the same in everyday communication, but remember that the key to effective conversation is listening to what is said and what is not said. Also, watch for changes in body language. Listening well is much more difficult than people think. And it's crucial.


Develop an inspiring vision. You can develop an exciting vision for your employees, no matter how mundane the organization. Let's say you're heading the long-term-care division of an insurance brokerage. All but the most jaded employee would be inspired by your announcing: "We are going to ensure that all of our customers get the very best insurance at the very best price, which will give them the peace of mind and security they deserve, without breaking their budget. We're going to trumpet our excellence so we get more customers. And with all the money we're going to make, I'm going to ensure that you are all well paid. We'll even adopt a local school, and I'll give it 5 percent of my own salary. We are going to make a difference in our community." Throughout every moment of every day, live the realization of that vision. Work hard to follow through on implementing that vision, and celebrate little accomplishments along the way. Be generous with praise, cautious with criticism.


Fire fast. If quick efforts to remediate a bad employee don't work, fire the person quickly. A bad employee can infect the rest. To avoid lawsuits, try to counsel the person to leave voluntarily, offering to help the person find a position at which he or she might be more successful.


Prioritize decisiveness over inclusivity. The best managers know when to encourage team involvement in decision making and when to act unilaterally. Today's corporatethink too often emphasizes decision making by consensus. Usually, the result is a tepid idea that took a long time to generate. It's hard to get a bold idea that an entire group will agree on. Great leaders generally get a modest amount of input and then make bold decisions on their own.


Know just enough tech. You don't need to be an expert at information technology, accounting, or the science behind your product. In fact, acquiring high-level tech expertise is usually not a good use of a leader's time. You must simply know enough about these fields to be able to understand, ask questions, and then provide direction to those technical experts. Often, the best way to do that is what I call the "Hey, Joe" school. You simply call an internal or outside expert in those fields and say, "Hey, Joe, would you meet with me a couple of times to give me an overview of what I need to know about computer servers [or whatever]?"


Manage time. Constantly have a little voice asking, "Is this a wise use of my time?" Nothing is more important than making the most of your time: not a PDA, not a Day-Timer, not a filing system, not anything. Effective leaders don't rush, but they recognize that time is their most valuable commodity. And they're miserly with it. That means saying no or delegating a task when you could better use your time elsewhere. It also means that everything doesn't need to be done perfectly. Sometimes, good enough is good enough. (But you have to know when!)


Look good. Alas, we live in a shallow, beauty-obsessed society. So, if you don't look good, you start out with a strike or two against you. Fortunately, leaders are not expected to have Hollywood looks. But it's worth a bit of primping to persuade all those shallow folks to think of you as leaderly. Wear attractive suits in timeless designs. Choose moderate hairstyles and makeup. Tip: If you're on a budget, rather than buy cheap new clothes, shop at high-end thrift shops. That $500 suit can often be bought for 75 bucks.


Work long hours. I'd rather disappoint you with the truth than anesthetize you with lies. No matter what you may have heard from Oprah, success at the top generally requires you to work long and work smart. In addition to accomplishing more, working long hours provides a role model for your workers. If you want to work just 40 hours, fine, but don't expect to be a great leader. I know dozens, and their average workweek is 60-plus hours. But there's a big payoff: Being an effective, beloved leader of an important enterprise is one of the best ways to feel that you live a meaningful life.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

400+ of Dr. Nemko's published writings are on www.martynemko.com. Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2006, Dr. Marty Nemko

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles