Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 9, 2006 / 17 Mar-Cheshvan , 5767

Finding the fat is a heavy job

By Lori Borgman

Lori Borgman
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It was dusk when I found the private investigator who had been doing the leg work on the trans fat case. He was catching his breath at his desk in a basement cubicle.

"You're not an easy guy to find," I said. "I don't know how many Taco Bells, McDonalds and Long John Silvers I've been to today."

"Ma'am, my work is never done, at least not as long as trans fat lurks on the streets, in the barrios and in the blood vessels of my fellow Americans."

"So you do this out of love for your fellow man, is that it? By the way, you're looking a little plump if you don't mind me saying."

"Of course I do it out of love. Why else would I want to dictate to my fellow man every bite he puts in his mouth. As for my weight, you'd be wearing a 42 waist if you were eating coconut shrimp, chicken strips and bloomin' onions all day, too."

He yanked open his bottom desk drawer and removed a silver flask. He pulled a long swig then wiped his mouth on his sleeve.

"Little Jim Beam to ease the tension?" I asked.

"No, Starbucks. House blend. Rumors at HQ are that caffeine is next on the hit list. Once we finish off the trans fat, we're going for your coffees, colas and black teas. But until it's official ..." He took another swig. He glanced around nervously, wedged the stopper into place and tossed the flask back in the drawer.

"I was wondering if you could give me any clue as to how far this trans fat investigation will go?" I asked.

"Tomorrow I head to Savannah," he said, puffing his chest. "Ever heard of one Paula Deen?"

"I love Paula Deen. She's adorable."

"Yeah, well Miss Adorable made fried biscuits on television last week."

He shoved a leather bound notebook across the desk. I flipped it open to a picture of Paula Deen holding a basket of hush puppies. It said, "WANTED felonious trans fat violations in two restaurants, three states and the Food Network.

There were others as well, the Keebler Elves, Entenmann's and Little Debbie.

I shuddered and closed the book. "After trans fat, then what?"

"That's classified," he smirked.

I tipped my open handbag in his direction to reveal a box of Frango mints.

"Every man has his price," I said.

He grabbed the chocolates. "You didn't hear it from me, but you know that little tram in Pennsylvania that takes you on a tour of how Hershey's chocolate kisses are made? A year from now that will be a tour on growing hydroponic tomatoes."

"And after that?"

He ripped into the second layer of chocolates. "After chocolate we're targeting white sugar. It's gonna be so bad Hawaii may secede from the union. From there we're moving to salt. That little gal on the blue box isn't going to need that umbrella much longer."

"Has HQ ever considered that thinking for adults who should learn to think for themselves creates a class of perpetual children? Some nights I don't sleep enough. Is the government going to mandate a bedtime? What about the freedom to exercise our own wills?"

"Exercise," he scoffed. "Good pun, but it's too late and we're too fat."

He stood up, grabbed his coat and lumbered down the corridor, a square of Krispy Kreme tissue paper stuck to the bottom of his shoe.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lori Borgman is the author of , most recently, "Pass the Faith, Please" (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) and I Was a Better Mother Before I Had Kids To comment, please click here. To visit her website click here.

ARCHIVES

© 2006, Lori Borgman

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles