Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Test your mind power

By Randy A. Salas


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Only you know what's going on inside your head. Or do you? These interactive online tests might help you reevaluate how you think about yourself and the world around you. These are serious tests, by the way. Set aside some time to take them, and follow prompts for any necessary plug-ins you might have to install.



implicit.harvard.edu/implicit

The Implicit Association Test first came to my attention via Malcolm Gladwell's bestseller, "Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking." The quick-reaction tests show inherent biases among people toward gender, race, weight and other touchy areas. For example, the race test, which I took, shows that most Americans generally have an automatic preference for white over black - no matter the test-takers' skin color. To measure this, images of white and black people are flashed in combination with words that have good and bad connotations. How quickly you react to what's being shown and identify it as good or bad, black or white, reveals this automatic preference. (Click on Demonstration on the Project Implicit home page and then follow the links to find the tests.)

My result: No automatic bias toward black or white.



www.mensa.org/workout2.php

The Mensa Workout is presented by the brainiacs at Mensa, the society for people with a high IQ. Even if you've taken intelligence tests, this one will quickly make you feel inferior - and it's not even the official test given for membership in the society. "If two typists can type two pages in two minutes, how many typists will it take to type 18 pages in six minutes?" My head still hurts.

My results: "Your score was 23 out of 30. That is a very good score, you would have a good chance of passing the official Mensa test." Do I get extra credit for noticing the comma splice in that last sentence?



www.startribune.com/a1295

What do you think when strangers smile at you? Do they seem genuinely nice? Or are they faking it just to be polite? Can you tell the difference? The BBC's series of fascinating mental and psychological tests includes this measure of whether you can spot the difference between a fake and real smile after watching videos of various people doing it.

My results: I got 19 out 20 correct. Don't even think about fake-smiling at me - because I'll know.



web.tickle.com/tests/inkblot

Tickle presents this nifty test that evaluates what you think you see in various ink blots. It's quite involved. Most interesting is when the questions reveal what other people have said they saw in the blots. Let's just say that there are a lot of people with dirty minds out there.

My results: "Your subconscious mind is driven most by Peace." Ah, that makes me feel better.



www.queendom.com/tests/alltests.html

QueenDom's Self-Esteem Test (scroll down under Free Premium Tests to find the link) evaluates what you think of yourself. Give yourself some credit for taking it no matter how you do.

My results: "You have a reasonably high level of self-esteem. There is, however, still some room for improvement." I just knew I wouldn't be perfect.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Randy A. Salas is a columnist for the Minneapolis Star Tribune. Do you have a favorite Web site or a question about how to find something on the Internet? Send a note by clicking here.



Previously:

Remain anonymous

© 2006, Star Tribune Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles