Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 21, 2005 / 19 Mar-Cheshvan, 5766

Thank Heaven for America

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | There's been a lot of complaining lately, some of it warranted, but for the most part too many of us forget how blessed we are to be Americans. So let me take a stab at remembering some of the things we have to be grateful for this Thanksgiving.


Thank you, G-d, that I am able to say "thank you, G-d." I'm able to go to any church I want to or none at all. I'm able to stand on street corners and preach the word or file suit to have your name taken off the dollar bill. And no matter what I say or do nobody shoots me or throws me in jail or worse.


Thank you that Michael Jackson isn't in the news any more.


Thank you that terrorists have not struck on American soil since 911. I'm as amazed as anyone. So blessed have we been in this regard that some of us forget that terrorists felled two sky liners and killed thousands here well before President Bush began his war on terror. So safe have we been that opportunists have turned our enemies into martyrs and our president into "lair."


Thank you that the leader of the most powerful country on the face of the earth is not so powerful that he can do as he pleases. As unpleasant as it sometimes is for him and for us, he must answer for his decisions and he must defend his actions, unlike in countries run by dictators where absolute power corrupts absolutely.


Thank you that our wealth and resources are so vast that when things go horribly wrong, as they did in the wake of Hurricane Katrina, we are outraged and demand answers from our government. Thank you, too, for our generosity. We contributed millions of dollars and many took time off work to help people victimized by the storms firsthand.


Thank you that Michael Moore isn't in the news any more, too.


Thank you for the technological innovation that has led to dramatic improvements in American life. I am able to sit in a coffee shop or pub and draft an article on a laptop computer - a computer that 15 years ago was as big as a train car. Thanks to a cellular broadband modem, I have Internet access anywhere. I am able to make a good living in blue jeans providing services to a corporation that is 300 miles away.


Thank you for the freedom of thought that is getting better as our great republic gets older. Technology has enabled millions to voice their opinions, debate government policies and spotlight truth. Though hacks and charlatans have the same ability to voice their opinions as more thoughtful folks, debate is healthier than it's ever been, to the benefit of any democratic system.


Thank you for an economy that is so energetic even large natural disasters are unable to quell it. The American economy continues to generate wealth and prosperity that are the marvels of the world - it continues to encourage other countries to follow our basic principles, which celebrate life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.


Thank you that Barbara Streisand, Al Franken and Cindy Sheehan ARE in the news to remind us how loony America's left really is.


Thank you that my parents, and millions of others just like them, are able to enjoy retirement in such comfort. They have a beautiful home, a new car, a healthy family, and they are enjoying the fruits of their labor in a way that was unimaginable even 50 years ago.


Thank you for competition and free markets, two simple concepts we often take for granted. Competition drives efficiency, which drives down costs, which means the American consumer is able to buy more goods with the same dollar. So accustomed have we become to inexpensive goods, we are free to complain that some companies, such as Walmart, aren't charging enough.


Most of all, thank you for letting me be born in America, where I and millions of others, with a little hard work and sacrifice, can become whatever we wish to be.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2005, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles