Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 22, 2005 / 20 Mar-Cheshvan, 5766

Remember this: Newspapers are vital

By Leonard Pitts, Jr.


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It was the week after the storm and Biloxi, Miss., was a wilderness.


James Bates, a photographer for the Sun Herald newspaper, had agreed to show me around but first he had to provision the car with emergency supplies. I don't remember what all he crammed into his backseat. I do remember what sat on top: a stack of newspapers.


Biloxi was cut off from the world, so the paper was a lifeline. Bates told me people were amazingly grateful when you gave them one. Small wonder. In doing so, you gave them information. You also gave them human society. You made them less alone.


I find myself returning to that post-Katrina episode a lot lately as people in the newspaper business try to make me feel better about working in the newspaper business. Actually, it's not just me they seek to encourage, but all of us who are employed by the 32 papers in the Knight Ridder chain.


As you may have seen on the business page, three groups of shareholders are pushing the Knight Ridder board of directors to put the nation's second-largest newspaper company up for sale. This, because stock prices continue to slip despite aggressive cost-cutting measures. The shareholder revolt has created uncertainty in KR newsrooms and, I would wager, newspaper newsrooms around the country.


After all, this is an uncertain time in the newspaper business. Between the lies of Jack Kelley [formerly of USA Today, not JWR's] and Jayson Blair, the drumbeat accusations of liberal or conservative bias, the new figures showing that readership continues to erode like beaches and an abiding sense that today's young adults lack the time and inclination to read news printed on dead trees, newsroom morale is at less than an all-time high.


And the hits just keep on coming. In response to the shareholder pressure Knight Ridder announced this week that it would explore all its options, including sale of the company.


So you can understand the effort to rally the troops. On Sunday, Amanda Bennett, editor of the Philadelphia Inquirer, a KR paper, published a column attacking the "common wisdom" that newspapers are dying because of either competition from television (the Philly papers and their Web sites, she wrote, reach more people than the newscasts on the top three local TV stations combined), from radio (a story in the paper reaches more people than one broadcast in drive-time on all 83 Philly stations combined) or from the Internet ("We are the Internet," wrote Bennett, noting that her paper reaches more people online than any other local site).


In response, Miami Herald Managing Editor Judy Miller (not to be confused with the ex-New York Times reporter of the same name) issued an interoffice e-mail to her troops making essentially the same points about her paper's influence.


Given all that and the fact that the newspapers still routinely return profits of 20 percent, you have to wonder: from whence the woe? Why is revenue down? Why the cuts in staffing and benefits? Why do investors circle this industry like vultures?


I guess there are reasons. I'm just saying I don't understand them. I doubt I ever will.


I'm also saying this: Thank you for the pep talk but me, I don't need it. Years before I ever drew a paycheck in this industry I was convinced that newspapers — and, more broadly, the news — are not a business. They are a mission — a vital, irreducible mission.


I guess that's why my thoughts keep returning to that parking lot in Biloxi. Inside the damaged building, dozens of journalists, volunteers from all over the country and locals who had just lost loved ones and homes in the storm, were subsisting on cheese and canned ham, wearing donated clothes, working the phones, designing pages ... putting out the paper. A bundle of which James Bates threw into the car so we could give them to people we met, people who needed them.


It was a pep talk that will last me a lifetime.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR contributor Leonard Pitts, Jr.'s column by clicking here.

Leonard Pitts, Jr. Archives

© 2005, The Miami Herald Distributed by TMS

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles