Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 1, 2005 / 29 Tishrei, 5766

Negotiating a Better Salary

By Marty Nemko

Nemko
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Negotiating is scary: "If I ask for a raise, might he fire me?!"

Negotiating is especially scary today. With employers cutting labor costs in every way possible—substituting technology for people, offshoring, downsizing, and converting permanent jobs into project-length positions—how in the world can you negotiate a salary increase?

Here's the advice I give my clients on how to overcome the fear and get that raise.

1. Wait for the right moment. The right time to ask for a raise is right after you've achieved something significant, for example, completed a tough project under budget, or when your boss or other key person has complimented you.

But what if you're a new employee? Your moment of maximum negotiating leverage is when you're offered the position but haven't yet accepted it.

2. Assess your negotiating position. Does the boss like you a lot? Is your job essential to the organization? Would it be difficult for the employer to find someone at your current salary who could replace you? Would a new employee need significant time and training to get up to speed? The more yeses, the more money you're probably safe in requesting and the firmer you can be in responding to a "no." As important, knowing, up front, the strength of your negotiating position will make you more confident in the negotiation.

3. Try to get your position upgraded. It's easier to justify a higher salary if you can get your job description changed to include higher-level work.

4. Figure out how much to ask for. If possible, give your boss an estimate of how much your efforts add to the company's bottom line, and certainly, try to obtain comparable salaries. You may get them at salary.com, a salary survey posted on your professional association's website, and/or by asking colleagues and recruiters in and outside your workplace. Put those comparables onto a one-pager, and at the bottom, estimate your fair market value in light of those comparables. That will help convince your boss and give your boss something to show to higher-ups to justify giving you the raise. That one-pager will also add to your confidence in the negotiation.

5. Make your boss compete for you. Nothing enhances your negotiating position like another job offer or expression of interest. So, even if you intend to stay put, put feelers out. If another employer or headhunter expresses interest, you can legitimately tell your boss, "I'm quite happy here, but there has been interest from another employer, I have learned that I'm underpaid relative to the market, and so I wanted to talk with you about a raise."

6. Ask for what you want. For example, "I appreciate your thank-you note, but recently, another employer has expressed interest in hiring me. I'm happy here and would like to stay but I got this list of comparables, and in light of that, I realize I'm significantly underpaid. What do you think?"

On average, women find it more difficult to ask for a raise. In the book, Women Don't Ask, Carnegie Mellon economist Linda Babcock cites research that men initiate negotiation four times more often than women do. If you believe you deserve a salary increase and don't ask for it, it's probably unfair to complain that you earn less than men do.


BUY THE BOOK
Does this book sound intriguing?

Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).

If the boss says money isn't available, you might try, "Would you like me to work fewer hours until the company's financial situation improves?" Or, "Will you give me the raise in three months?" Get it in writing.

If the boss turns you down flat, calmly say "I understand your position" and leave the room. That often scares the employer more than an aggressive response. Often, within a few days, an offer comes. If, after a week, you hear nothing, come back with, "It sounds like you think my request was unfair. What am I not understanding?"

If you can't get anywhere on salary, and even if you can, you might try for a non-cash, tax-free goodie: the right to telecommute, a more prestigious title, flex hours, an employer-paid week at a professional conference that just happens to be in Hawaii.

The newly hired may face a ticklish situation. For example, the employer asks, "What's your most recent salary?" Your heart sinks because your current salary is $20,000 less than the job warrants. Possible response: "I wanted the opportunity to (learn X, work on Y, or work for Z.) Now I'd like to be paid fairly. What's the salary range that's been budgeted for the position?" or, "I took a poorly paying job because I wanted an interim position to figure out what I really want to do. This job is it. Now I'd like to be paid fairly. What is the salary range that has been budgeted for the position?"

What if your current salary is higher than your desired position can pay? Model answer: "I was better paid for my previous position than this position can pay. I recognize that the job market is tougher now and, in addition, I'm excited about this job, so I'm willing to accept a lower salary."

Advice I'd Give My Child

Don't overnegotiate. The extra money you get, after taxes, is rarely worth the ill feelings and risk of getting fired. Even if your tough negotiation prevails, your employer will expect top-dollar performance—screw up once and you may be in the doghouse. My rule of thumb: reject the first offer; accept the second.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

400+ of Dr. Nemko's published writings are on www.martynemko.com. Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2005, Dr. Marty Nemko

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles