Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 3, 2005 / 1 Mar-Cheshvan, 5766

Mullah-crats of the world, unite!

By Michael Graham


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "Sometimes it is said that man can not be trusted with the government of himself. Can he, then, be trusted with the government of others? Or have we found angels in the forms of kings to govern him?"—Thomas Jefferson

In the battle royale over the appointment of Sam Alito to the US Supreme Court, the real fight to watch won't be the Right vs. the Left. It will be "Democrats vs. Democracy."

In this corner, weighing in at 300 million citizens, is the fundamental premise of American government, self-rule. The idea that South Carolina belongs to South Carolinians and ought to be run the way the people who live there want it to be. Sounds crazy, I know, but 135,000 American soldiers are getting shot at in Iraq over that very notion right now.

In the opposing corner, weighing in at 5 votes to 4 in a Washington, DC courtroom, is the antithesis of democracy, judicial dictatorship. It is the belief held by certain ideologues—Kennedy, Schumer, Boxer and Osama, to name a few—that the will of the people has no value at all. They believe instead a mullah-ocracy, where a handful of holy men determine right and wrong for the great unwashed.

In other words, the terrorists shooting at our American soldiers in Iraq have the same, fundamental worldview as the politicians taking potshots at Sam Alito.

I am not saying that American liberals are terrorists. That would be giving Sen. Durbin and Co. too much credit. Osama's gang understands what they're fighting for. They're very clear about it. "We know we're good and you infidels are bad, and that's why we're killing you."

The opponents of Judge Alito have no such clarity. When Sen. Kennedy moans that Judge Alito is going to "take away the reproductive rights of women," he shows his utter ignorance of where these "rights" are supposed to come from. I will no doubt be labeled a "right-wing wacko" (to quote one Democratic staffer's description of Alito), but allow me to quote a dead, white guy named Jefferson: Governments derive their just powers from the consent of the government.

If you want abortion to be legal in every state, all you have to do is convince a majority of the people in every state to allow it. The same is true, by the way, of physician-assisted suicide, medical marijuana and the use leeches for medicinal purposes.

That's democracy. That's Alito's way.

Osama's way, as practiced in Iraq, Saudi Arabia, and San Francisco, deals exclusively in divine revelation. Alito's opponents "know" which medical procedures are good (abortions for 13-year-old girls without their parents' knowledge) and which are bad. They also know what forms of speech are good (taxpayer-funded urinals filled with crucifixes) and which are bad (any TV ads reminding the voters about liberal support for urine-covered crucifixes within 60 days of an election).

Once enlightened by holy scripture, psychic visions and careful reading of the New York Times editorial pages, why in the world would you allow the common folk to wander down the road of sin, perdition and Republicanism? The Supreme Court Sen. Kennedy wants isn't bound by any silly notions of constitutionalism or the rule of law. Why, they're on a mission from G-d!

Right, Mullah Omar?

Supporters of the Supreme Court mullah-ocracy are quick to point out that the American people sometimes do bad things. After all, they note smugly, the American people once supported slavery and segregation.

That's true. But one needn't be smug to point out that the US Supreme Court also upheld slavery (Dred Scott) and segregation (Plessy vs. Ferguson), too. And if the new mullah-crat standard of "once decided, never overturned" being applied to Roe v. Wade today had been in place back in the day, slaves would still be landscaping the lawns of segregated, public schools.

That's the problem with the Kennedy/Schumer/Boxer system of allowing "angels to govern us" from the Olympian heights of the Supreme Court. Every 20 years or so, we get new "angels." And just as suddenly, those infallible rulings of indisputable truth are abandoned for even more infallible findings of even truer truths by the next batch of sharia lawgivers.

And because our way of life is being changed by five judges behind closed doors—as opposed to by 200 legislators in open session before the voters who elect them—we mere mortals must accept these changes without question, resigned to the notion that the Supreme Court rules in mysterious ways, its wonders to perform.

To do otherwise is to be denounced as a "radical," a member of the "far-right base," and (of course) a bigot, sexist, homophobe, etc., etc.

I remember the good ol' days when it was the Jerry Falwell "religious Right" crowd that wanted the courts to decide what was good and bad, and it was the secular Left who kept reminding them that, no, courts decide only decide what is legal and illegal. I remember when it was the Left that argued that there were all kinds of actions that might be wrong—burning the flag, saying naughty things, etc.—but were perfectly legal.

Well, call me a radical, because I confess that I do not know, with absolute certainty, what is good and what is bad. I will further confess that, even if I received this knowledge directly from the hand of G-d—or even from Sandra Day O'Connor—I would not feel the right to impose my standard on others without their consent.

Perhaps that's why I am not a liberal.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Michael Graham is a talk show host and author of the highly acclaimed "Redneck Nation: How the South Really Won the War." Listen to "Michael Graham, Unleashed" weekdays at www.rightalk.com. To comment, please click here.



Archives


© 2005, Michael Graham

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles