Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 25, 2013/ 22 Mar-Cheshvan, 5774

ObamaCare, utopia and the Constitution

By Diana West




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Post-shutdown, I'm still mulling two things: Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid doesn't seem to know what the House of Representatives is supposed to do, and President Obama doesn't seem to know the way "checks and balances" are supposed to work. Either way, We the People are in danger until more leaders with an affinity for the U.S. Constitution are elected.

Reid first. Throughout the shutdown, House Republicans passed "mini" spending bills to fund key government functions, each of which Reid blocked from coming to a Senate vote.

This was the Democrats' "all or nothing" strategy. They kept "all" of the government closed so that "nothing" (Obamacare) would be subject to compromise. In other words, no matter what those talking heads, headlines and microwaves targeting your brain tell you, the Democrats were the Mr. No's of this shutdown.

Rankled by House votes to open parts of the government, Reid asked: "What right do they have to pick and choose what part of government gets funded?"

What right? The answer is "they" -- House members -- have every right; in fact, it's their job! Article 1, Section 7 of the U.S. Constitution says: "All bills for raising revenue shall originate in the House of Representatives; but the Senate may propose or concur with amendments as on other Bills." Of course, we never think of Congress "raising revenue" to spend as they go, item by item. They just seem to fund everything.

But not this time, not for 16 days. House Republicans, who were returned in the majority in 2012 to defund Obamacare, tried, along with their conservative counterparts in the Senate, to hold the line for their constituents.

It didn't work. There are still too many tax-and-spend liberals in Republicans' clothing in Washington: GOP legislators who have less in common with Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) than with Harry Reid, not to mention Barack Obama. Washington's crocodile tears over the "cost" of the shutdown (the figure $24 billion is flying around) shouldn't fool anyone -- not when the Congressional Budget Office projection for Obamacare's first decade is $1.8 trillion, and this same establishment doesn't bat an eye. And what about that "debt ceiling" they refuse to bring any closer to earth?



It's not the economy and fiscal responsibility so much that concerns the winners of this round of the budget battle; it's the government -- namely, the continued expansion of the government.

"We don't know yet the full scope of the damage, but every analyst out there believes it slowed our growth," President Obama said after it was all over. The president, of course, was talking about the economy, but it almost sounded like he was also talking about the government. Meanwhile, if "damage" to the economy bothers Obama so much, why didn't he push Senate Democrats to work with House Republicans to open up the government, sans Obamacare, weeks ago?

Obama also said this:

"But to all my friends in Congress, understand that how business is done in this town has to change."

"Has to change"? The president sounds as if he's addressing a gang of outlaws in the Old West, not a co-equal branch of government, of which many members sought to exercise their constitutional duty not to rubber-stamp bills they oppose. That's how "checks and balances" are supposed to work, and no president has the constitutional power to change that.

President Obama continued:

"We all know that we have divided government right now."

For a conservative, divided government is the next best thing to small government. The less the government gets "done," the better. But stalling poses a threat for the social Democrats in the Washington establishment. It slows growth -- government growth.

The president then rhapsodized about the role of "the government" in our lives -- not just in the military and law enforcement, he said, but "caring for our seniors and our veterans, educating our kids, making sure our workers are trained for the jobs that are being created, arming our businesses with the best science and technology so they can compete with companies from other countries. ... It plays a key role in keeping our food and our toys and our workplaces safe. It helps folks rebuild after a storm. It conserves our natural resources. It finances startups. It helps to sell our products overseas. It provides security to our diplomats abroad."

(A tone-deaf remark, given events in Benghazi.)

"So," he continued, "let's work together to make government work better, instead of treating it like an enemy or purposely making it work worse."

No, making it work less. As we've seen with the Obamacare rollout, government works worse all by itself.

And then:

"That's not what the founders of this nation envisioned when they gave us the gift of self-government."

Aside from the fact that "checks and balances" is exactly what the founders set in place, is self-government a "gift" in the sense that it is something that may be taken away? "We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all mean are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among them are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness."

As history shows us, socialists, statists, Marxists and the like always want to regulate and constrain our Creator-endowed rights, rendering them, in fact, not unalienable. Interposing ever-expanding governments between men and their Creator, they seek to become keeper and dispenser of rights. Obamacare is another such Utopia by a different name.

Like all Utopias, it won't work. But, in Utopia, neither will our Constitution.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


BUY DIANA'S LATEST BOOK ...
at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.) by clicking HERE.

Comment by clicking here.


Archives


Up


© 2009, Diana West

Quantcast