Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 21, 2013/ 17 Mar-Cheshvan, 5774

Conservatives, change tactics but don't retreat

By Star Parker




JewishWorldReview.com | A number of years ago, I was between flights on a business trip and was sitting in an airport restaurant having lunch. It was right after the 2008 presidential election and I knew that the election of America's first black president, a man of the hard left, would make my job bringing a conservative message to black communities much more challenging and difficult.

As I ate my sandwich, I glanced at the wall and saw a sign with a quote from Gen. Douglas MacArthur. It said, "We are not retreating -- we are advancing in another direction."

I was immediately energized by this quote from the old general. It was exactly what I needed at the moment. It totally captured my state of mind. Perhaps my mission needed a change in tactics, but certainly there was no change in commitment and objectives.

There is no smooth sailing in any tough mission. Setbacks are always part of the game. But if you are committed and right, setbacks are opportunities to regroup and improve.

Those who think that the current deal to temporarily fund the government and open the door to yet even more government borrowing amounts to some kind of defeat for tea party Republicans need to think again.

The tea party is in for the long haul. One skirmish may be lost, but the war continues.

A recent Gallup poll shows 18 percent of Americans satisfied with the way the country is being governed. For a little perspective, this stood at 26 percent in mid-1973 in the midst of the Watergate scandal that led to the resignation of the president of the United States.



Early in 2009, shortly after President Barack Obama was elected, 56 percent expressed satisfaction with our government. It's just been downhill since then.

According to a new Economist/YouGov poll, 15 percent say the country is going in the right direction and 74 percent say it is on the wrong track.

Americans may have different opinions about what is wrong with the country. But there is plenty of agreement that the patient is sick.

Broad opposition to the health care law continues. A new Associated Press/GFK poll finds 28 percent favor the health-care law and 38 percent oppose. Sixteen percent strongly support and 29 percent strongly oppose.

And regarding our debt, here's the Congressional Budget Office from its most recent outlook report: "Federal debt held by the general public is now about 73 percent of the economy's annual output. ... That percentage is higher than at any point in U.S. history, except a brief period around World War II, and it is twice the percentage at the end of 2007."

Why is it a national disaster when some 400,000 non-essential government workers get furloughed for a couple weeks, with pay, paid with our tax dollars, when the vast mismanagement in government and of our national budget has sidelined millions in the private sector?

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, as of August, there were 4.3 million long-term unemployed -- those unemployed more than 27 weeks. This constituted almost 38 percent of all unemployed Americans.

Let's also not overlook the warning in this year's trustees report of Social Security and Medicare: "Neither Medicare nor Social Security can sustain projected long-run programs in full under currently scheduled financing, and legislative changes are necessary to avoid disruptive consequences for taxpayers and beneficiaries."

The country is sick, folks.

Per Rep. Paul Ryan, R-Wis., regarding this latest deal: "Today's legislation won't help us reduce our fast-growing debt -- we're kicking the can down the road."

The tea party is not going away. Fortunately, we have brave patriots who care more about our country's future than they care about the chitchat on editorial pages and talk shows.

We're not retreating -- we're advancing in a different direction.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Star Parker is an author and president of CURE, Center for Urban Renewal and Education.



Previously:


10/14/13 Budget crisis has its roots in erosion of values
10/07/13 'Hostages' of a system that works perfectly
09/30/13 Compromise in politics? No, confront
09/23/13 Ted Cruz isn't abnormal; Washington is
09/09/13 Our moral leader? Obama's actions undermine his stance
09/02/13 To build black wealth, change policies
08/26/13 March on Washington 2013 brings liberal distortion
08/19/13 Pastors must take back civil rights movement
08/12/13 Somehow those who brought us tthe ObamaCare nightmare are the moderates?
08/05/13 History will record that those who refused to 'compromise' today were not only stubborn but visionaries
07/29/13 A magnificent economic miracle has occurred during Obama's presidency
07/22/13 Free to succeed or: Stop picking on Wal-Mart!
07/15/13 Ex-Dem can express what GOP, U.S. need
07/08/13 Confused country: That place called America
07/01/13 Same-sex marriage is war on religion
06/24/13 Abortion: We're still having a hard time with words
06/17/13 Why 2 black Republicans switched parties
06/10/13 Kill Social Security before it kills our seniors
06/03/13 This Lady Liberty hails from New England much to libs' dismay
05/27/13 Suffering indignities from the party I embraced 25 years ago
05/20/13 The ultimate 'pro-choice' irony
05/13/13 Mark Sanford, welcome back to Washington
05/06/13 Planned Parenthood targets black women
04/29/13 Killer instincts: Seniors beware
04/22/13 Philadelphia abortion monster isn't an exception
04/15/13 Making Ben Carson cry 'Uncle' . . . Tom
04/08/13 Gang of 8 illegal alien proposal makes a bad situation even worse
04/01/13 Ending the enforcement of government-funded brainwashing
03/25/13 Pay attention, America, to the pathology for which low-income minority Americans are paying the dearest price
03/18/13 Let Israel trip open President Obama's eyes
03/11/13 The problem are the nuts, not the 'gun nuts'
03/04/13 P reserve gun rights, save black rights
02/25/13 Is the last line of Republican resistance to ObamaCare disintegrating?
02/18/13 Presidential Medal of Freedom winner owes Obama no apology
02/11/13 Does the Republican Party have a future?
02/04/13 Push for gun control misplaces blame
01/28/13 How the GOP can help destroy America
01/21/13 Are MLK's Christian values welcome today?
01/14/13 Roe v. Wade, 40 years later
01/07/13 D.C. is de-tached . . . from reality
12/31/12 Blacks are NRA's natural constituency
12/24/12The lesson of Newtown isn't guns. It's that there are social truths as well as individual truths
12/17/12 We must fight to restore America
12/07/12 Wonderful, innovative, compassionate --- and irresponsibly wrong
12/03/12 The Republican Hispanic challenge
11/26/12 A society in decline: Our definition of marriage should follow process, not principle?
11/19/12 Leadership is about identifying the truth, believing it and telling it in a way that people can grasp
11/11/12 How conservatives can win over blacks and Latinos
11/05/12 Racial divide has worsened under Obama
10/29/12 How trillions are poured down a black hole
10/21/12 Missouri Senate race model for the nation
10/15/12 On the road to 'death panels'
10/08/12 Why the Obama bubble still hasn't burst
10/01/12 To promote freedom abroad, practice it here
09/24/12 A time for truth, not word games
08/20/12 America ready for Paul Ryan's adult conversation
08/13/12 Our economic crisis is a values crisis
08/06/12 Black pastors press Democrats on gay marriage
07/30/12 Is Christianity now un-American?
07/23/12 Entrepreneurs, not politicians, build the nation's prosperity
07/16/12 The new American food stamp plantation
07/09/12 In search of conservative leadership
07/02/12 Light v. darkness in racial politics
06/25/12 Republicans missing chance on education
06/11/12: Raise levels of personal responsibility, not the minimum wage
06/11/12: Free societies soon won't be free if its citizens see freedom as something that should be of responsibility
06/04/12: Americans have become decidedly more pro-life
05/28/12: Booker's comments about Bain, capitalism should not surprise
05/21/12: Obama forcing blacks to make hard choices
05/14/12: Fairness? The struggle in our public spaces is about competing worldviews, not neutrality
05/07/12: Morality and economy are separate universes?
04/30/12: How to keep the poor poor
04/23/12: Obama's real 'stay-at-home mom' problem
04/16/12: Obama makes foul call for economic 'fairness'
04/09/12: GOP's black, Hispanic problem
04/02/12: A wakeup call to a nation still sleeping through a crisis
03/26/12: Supremes to confront new, energetic efforts to undermine the principles upon which this nation stands
03/19/12: Republican race is just getting started
03/12/12: Contraception flap 'defines deviancy down'
03/05/12: Breitbart's final message to the Left
02/27/12: Support for Santorum will grow despite attacks
02/20/12: Libs' recent victories fuel Santorum surge
02/06/12: Memo to Mitt: Whole nation is on government plantation
01/30/12: Obama's vision puts America last
01/23/12: Court ruling on ultrasound law worth celebrating
01/16/12: Capitalism on trial
01/09/12: NAACP plantation masters play race card again
01/02/12: Youths' support for Ron Paul is misplaced
12/26/11: In search of an ambiguous conservative leader
12/19/11: Thank U.S. troops, notably wounded warriors
12/12/11: Land of the envious and home of the victim
12/05/11: Payroll tax ‘cut’ is another welfare scam
11/28/11: Pray every day that America does not lose its way
11/21/11: We're ignoring the Constitution
11/14/11: The central issue of our time will define the 2012 presidential election
11/07/11: Separation of . . . morality and economy?
10/31/11: Every American should listen to Paul Ryan
10/24/11: Disrespect for life and disrespect for property go hand in hand
10/17/11:The right argument for Cain
10/10/11: Occupy Wall Street: More from the culture of narcissism
10/03/11: Why so many blacks continue to fail
09/26/11: So many GOP debates, so few candidate revelations
09/19/11: The the last vestige of the triumph of hope over experience is throwing itself a party. They'll be passing out palms-up portions of pity, but few solutions
09/12/11: I'll defend Perry on Social Security Ponzi scheme
09/05/11: Marco Rubio's Courageous speech
08/28/11: The Steve Jobs/Martin Luther King Jr. Connection
08/19/11: Blacks' dilemma with Obama





© 2013, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast