Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 14, 2013/ 10 Mar-Cheshvan, 5774

Siri Tells All

By Peter Funt








http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Susan Bennett, a veteran voice-over artist from Georgia, was recently outed by CNN as the voice of Siri, Apple's often admired, sometimes hated and frequently mocked digital know-it-all.

Adding to the intrigue, Bennett says she spent over 100 hours back in 2005 recording voice tracks for Apple but didn't realize until years later that the tech wizards used her words to create the world's most renowned digital diva.

Upon learning this, I immediately grabbed my iPad and summoned Siri - in the new and improved iOS 7 incarnation. (Everything herein is transcribed verbatim.)

"How may I assist you?" she asked. "Siri," I said, "Are you Susan Bennett?"

"I cannot answer that," she replied, using the tone she is famous for, shrewdly disguising whether the truth of the matter is, "I don't know," or "I'm not at liberty to say."

I persisted. "Siri, are you actually Susan Bennett?"

This time, to my complete surprise, she delivered a page of YouTube links featuring Susan Bennett and a blog by CNN's Jessica Ravitz explaining how she broke the story. It seems this Pulitzer-worthy piece of investigative reporting began months ago as Ravitz was doing a feature about the airport in Atlanta, where Bennett is also the voice of Delta Airlines. Ravitz blogged:

"For reasons I can't explain - I was still struggling to understand my first iPhone - I blurted out, 'Hey, are you Siri?'

"She gasped. And then I gasped.

"'Oh my G0D,' I said. 'You're totally Siri, aren't you?'

"What followed was a short, panicked flurry of non-denials and non-confirmations, and a promise from me that I wouldn't do or say a thing."

Apparently Ravitz hadn't downloaded the Woodward and Bernstein App to calculate what to promise a source.



The secret remained hidden for months, but recently began to leak. Sparing no expense, CNN then hired an "audio forensic expert" to confirm Siri's identity, thus outing Bennett - and revealing Ravitz as the reporter who first stumbled upon the story.

"Siri," I inquired, "are you angry at Jessica Ravitz?"

"I can search the Web for Jessica Rabbit," she replied.

"No, not Rabbit, Ravitz. Are you angry at CNN?"

"I can't answer that."

Then she flashed a message on my screen that said I could ask her what time sunrise is in Paris.

"No thanks. Say, do you like Susan Bennett?"

"I'm sorry, Peter, I can't answer that."

"But, Siri, I just want to know how you feel about her."

"This is about you, Peter, not me."

Clearly Apple has clamped down on Siri's comments to journalists following CNN's report.

Taking a wild shot in the dark I asked, "Well, tell me this, is Susan Bennett also the voice of Nancy Pelosi?"

"Let me think about that."

A few seconds later, Siri delivered a 2011 report from something called the Cyberspace News Service:

"House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D.-Calif.) told a recent gathering of the Women's Political Committee that the spirit of suffragist Susan B. Anthony...spoke to her at the White House."

Gasp! "Siri, is Susan Bennett also the voice of spirits in the White House? Siri? Siri?"

There is obviously way, way more to this story than CNN has uncovered.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Peter Funt's column by clicking here.




Previously:


10/08/13 Rushing Print's Demise
08/08/13 Pervs in the Press
07/24/13 Monitoring Media
07/16/13 TV on Trial
07/03/13 With Trayvon, who has won? Not us or the U.S.
07/01/13 When history comes with ink stained fingers
06/25/13 An E-Z Fix
06/11/13 Mister, Mister
06/04/13 Branded


© 2013, Peter Funt. Columns distributed exclusively by: Cagle Cartoons, Inc., newspaper syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast