Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 28, 2013/ 24 Mar-Cheshvan, 5774

Sense may be in short supply, but that gives us plenty to write about

By Christine M. Flowers

Christine M. Flowers


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Sometimes, life can be overly generous. You go from a dateless Saturday night to an overflowing eHarmony inbox. You want just one little tomato for your salad and the garden yields enough produce to feed the entire population of Sicily. There is such a thing as "too much."

That's what occurred to me this week. Normally, I can find one or two things that spark my interest (and 800 words of indignation) by Thursday afternoon. But this week was a veritable cornucopia of bounty, and I felt like a kid in a candy shop with one shiny quarter to spend. How to choose among all of the examples of cowardice, arrogance and bigotry presented on a big multimedia platter?

Well, I couldn't.

My Facebook friends made some great suggestions, which I was more than happy to consider (except the one about the school district mandating the reading of Howard Zinn, which sends me to the bathroom with nausea). So here is a rapid round-up of the macabre, the horrible and the merely repellant, just in time for Halloween.

Let's start with Alan Grayson, congressman from Florida, who compared the tea party to the KKK. In a state famed for its reptiles, gruesome Grayson blends. His use of burning-cross imagery to conflate the Klan with legitimate political activism is hardly surprising, given the type of campaign he ran in the last election. But despite his attempts to smear and slander conservatives, the esteemed Democrat has simply succeeded in reminding us that most of the people who wore the sheets were members of his own caucus.

Then we have Kathleen Sebelius, who has carried so much water for her boss she needs a lifetime supply of Pamprin. The Health and Human Services secretary has made the media rounds in defense of the administration's abysmal rollout of Obamacare, including a website that makes Pac-Man look state-of-the-art. While this major technical failure won't put the stake through the heart of the health-care vampire, it is comforting to know that Sandra Fluke will have to wait just a little bit longer before she can charge Uncle Sam for her birth control.

But it hasn't just been Democrats behaving badly this week.



Next door in New Jersey, Gov. Chris Christie had a major fail of his own when he decided to raise the white flag of surrender in the same-sex marriage offensive. In withdrawing his appeal of a lower-court decision mandating gay nuptials in the Garden State, Christie has turned his back on his tough-prosecutor past and essentially allowed one lower-court judge to dictate the law in his state. This is not only an insult to every resident who opposed so-called "marriage equality," it is a slap in the face to the rest of us who believe that legal process should be respected and that seeing the "writing on the wall" doesn't allow you to abrogate your duties. You expect this from someone like Kathleen Kane, who rode the wave of "hope and change" into office. You didn't expect this from a maverick like Christie.

I do need to add something here. The liberals who are dancing with joy over Christie's capitulation shouldn't be too quick to adopt him as their mascot. As my good friend and PR sage Dan Cirucci observes: "I think Christie's learned how long and how far a matter can be pursued. I don't think this changes his basic view about gay marriage — a position he's held for quite some time. He simply made a clear-headed, practical decision. Once again, he's shown himself to be a principled pragmatist."

I'm not as sanguine as Dan about the guy who used to be my favorite governor. But the progressives need to stop gloating and get back to fixing that website.

I could go on (like, what kind of person greets Ted Cruz as a hero?) but I've run out of space. If only we would run out of disgrace.

Christine M. Flowers is a lawyer and columnist for the Philadelphia Daily News. Comments by clicking here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Previously:



10/16/13: Hail to the Redskins
10/14/13: It's the most wonderful time of the year
10/07/13: Congress teetering on the edge
09/18/13: It is Miss 'America,' after all, not Miss 'Special Interest Group'
09/16/13: America & its Miss'ed opportunities
09/10/13: We still must be civilization's gatekeepers
09/03/13: Around the world, the cross is in the crosshairs
08/19/13: Blood is on stop-and-frisk judge's hands
08/13/13: Hey, social progressives: Women can actually think with an organ other than a uterus
08/06/13: Media make our enemies seem friendly
07/29/13: Mrs. Anthony Weiner = Hillary 2.1
07/08/13: A voice of reason, from the dustbin
07/04/13: Heroes are all around us
05/27/13: Vietnam vet's words soothe modern tragedies
05/22/13: Circling the presidential-protection wagons
05/15/13: Divorce can't be just the pursuit of happiness
05/07/13: We knew Jackie Robinson, and Jason Collins is no Jackie Robinson
05/01/13: Blame pro-choice lobby for Philly monster
04/23/13: Of damnation, and staring back
04/15/13: Margaret Thatcher changed the world, and didnít have to be a feminist to do it
04/08/13: Taking great pleasure in the death penalty
04/01/13: An easy prediction --- bet on the unpredictable
03/26/13: 'The personal is political' is no reason to change
03/19/13: A word to the whines --- it was just some high jinks
03/11/13: The Great Race Debate, revisited
03/04/13: Marriage goes beyond love
02/19/13: 2 women, and what they're fighting for
02/04/13: Sadly, Scouting seems poised to give up the fight
01/15/13: Reflections from Gettysburg
01/02/13: The mentally ill vs. those who love them
12/27/12: Rapper learns he's just another guy on probation
12/20/12: Cold, hard truth about the killer
12/10/12: When a warm heart meets a cold manipulator
11/22/12: Some women don't know how good they have it


© 2013, Philadelphia Daily News. Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast