Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 29, 2012/ 13 Mar-Cheshvan, 5773

How trillions are poured down a black hole

By Star Parker




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | In the midst of the third presidential debate in Florida, which was supposedly about foreign policy, President Barack Obama interjected a few words about American education.

The rationale was not unreasonable. A better-educated America will be a better-performing and more internationally competitive America. "Let's talk about what we need to compete. ... Let's take an example that we know is going to make a difference in the 21st century and that's our education policy," he said.

Unfortunately, as is so often the case with politicians, what we hear sounds so logical, so compelling. If only it had anything to do with reality.

According to the fractured political logic on education, which is not much different from what we hear regarding most areas of public policy, the reason we have failure is we're not doing enough of what already isn't working.

In the case of education, we're spending a lot of money and not getting results. So the problem must be, in the brilliant political take on matters, we're just not spending enough money.

"I now want to hire more teachers, especially in math and science, because we know that we've fallen behind when it comes to math and science," Obama said. "And those teachers can make a difference."

But, Mr. President, what information do you have that leads you to conclude that more teachers can make a difference?

According to information recently published by Face the Facts USA, a nonpartisan project of the George Washington University School of Media and Public Affairs, over the last decade the federal government spent $293 billion and states spent a combined $5.5 trillion -- money targeted to improving academic performance -- with no discernable change in reading and math scores. "A quarter of high school seniors don't meet basic reading standards and a third fall below basic math proficiency," Face the Facts USA reports.

Throwing money at education may make those who get the money better off, but there is little, if any, evidence that it makes any difference at all in improving academic performance.

Recently, I sat down and interviewed one of my heroes: Dr. Ben Carson, director of pediatric neurosurgery at Johns Hopkins Hospital.

Outside of his work, Carson's passion is education. As someone who grew up in a Detroit ghetto, whose mother was a domestic who could not read, he has some idea what it means to start with nothing and achieve the American dream.

But listening to Carson -- whose latest book is titled "America the Beautiful: Rediscovering What Made This Nation Great" -- you get a much different take on what is wrong with education and our nation today than what we hear from politicians.

Carson says, "We were a 'can do' nation and now we're a 'what can you do for me' nation."

He talks about the two biggest influences when he was a boy: a demanding and caring mother and his church.

According to Carson, "we're being crucified by political correctness -- that any lifestyle is equivalent to any other lifestyle."

Through the Carson Scholars Fund, he provides $1,000 college scholarships to kids "who excel academically and are dedicated to serving their communities." He also builds reading rooms -- there are now 77 at schools in 11 states -- designed to provoke kids to want to read.

After a half-hour interview with Carson, here's my takeaway: Education is about family, meaning, personal responsibility, standards of right and wrong, and appreciating the uniqueness of every child.

Without these fundamentals, truckloads of taxpayer money will accomplish nothing. Which is why the trillions being spent are poured into a black hole.

I would add that, given the realities of today's public schools -- defined by the political correctness that Carson says is crucifying us -- there is no hope of meeting his standards for education without giving parents freedom to choose where to send their kid to school.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Star Parker is an author and president of CURE, Center for Urban Renewal and Education.



Previously:


10/21/12 Missouri Senate race model for the nation
10/15/12 On the road to 'death panels'
10/08/12 Why the Obama bubble still hasn't burst
10/01/12 To promote freedom abroad, practice it here
09/24/12 A time for truth, not word games
08/20/12 America ready for Paul Ryan's adult conversation
08/13/12 Our economic crisis is a values crisis
08/06/12 Black pastors press Democrats on gay marriage
07/30/12 Is Christianity now un-American?
07/23/12 Entrepreneurs, not politicians, build the nation's prosperity
07/16/12 The new American food stamp plantation
07/09/12 In search of conservative leadership
07/02/12 Light v. darkness in racial politics
06/25/12 Republicans missing chance on education
06/11/12: Raise levels of personal responsibility, not the minimum wage
06/11/12: Free societies soon won't be free if its citizens see freedom as something that should be of responsibility
06/04/12: Americans have become decidedly more pro-life
05/28/12: Booker's comments about Bain, capitalism should not surprise
05/21/12: Obama forcing blacks to make hard choices
05/14/12: Fairness? The struggle in our public spaces is about competing worldviews, not neutrality
05/07/12: Morality and economy are separate universes?
04/30/12: How to keep the poor poor
04/23/12: Obama's real 'stay-at-home mom' problem
04/16/12: Obama makes foul call for economic 'fairness'
04/09/12: GOP's black, Hispanic problem
04/02/12: A wakeup call to a nation still sleeping through a crisis
03/26/12: Supremes to confront new, energetic efforts to undermine the principles upon which this nation stands
03/19/12: Republican race is just getting started
03/12/12: Contraception flap 'defines deviancy down'
03/05/12: Breitbart's final message to the Left
02/27/12: Support for Santorum will grow despite attacks
02/20/12: Libs' recent victories fuel Santorum surge
02/06/12: Memo to Mitt: Whole nation is on government plantation
01/30/12: Obama's vision puts America last
01/23/12: Court ruling on ultrasound law worth celebrating
01/16/12: Capitalism on trial
01/09/12: NAACP plantation masters play race card again
01/02/12: Youths' support for Ron Paul is misplaced
12/26/11: In search of an ambiguous conservative leader
12/19/11: Thank U.S. troops, notably wounded warriors
12/12/11: Land of the envious and home of the victim
12/05/11: Payroll tax ‘cut’ is another welfare scam
11/28/11: Pray every day that America does not lose its way
11/21/11: We're ignoring the Constitution
11/14/11: The central issue of our time will define the 2012 presidential election
11/07/11: Separation of . . . morality and economy?
10/31/11: Every American should listen to Paul Ryan
10/24/11: Disrespect for life and disrespect for property go hand in hand
10/17/11:The right argument for Cain
10/10/11: Occupy Wall Street: More from the culture of narcissism
10/03/11: Why so many blacks continue to fail
09/26/11: So many GOP debates, so few candidate revelations
09/19/11: The the last vestige of the triumph of hope over experience is throwing itself a party. They'll be passing out palms-up portions of pity, but few solutions
09/12/11: I'll defend Perry on Social Security Ponzi scheme
09/05/11: Marco Rubio's Courageous speech
08/28/11: The Steve Jobs/Martin Luther King Jr. Connection
08/19/11: Blacks' dilemma with Obama





© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles