Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 31, 2012/ 15 Mar-Cheshvan, 5773

Passing as president: Will the electorate see through the presidential pose?

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It's an ill wind that blows nobody some good, and Superstorm Sandy has given Barack Obama the lift he needed beneath his wings.

His swift reaction to a major disaster coupled with a shrewd calculation to stop personally campaigning in order to supervise the relief effort from the Oval Office have provided him with one thing he has most needed since his first debate: the opportunity to look presidential.

I wrote before the first presidential debate that Mitt Romney had won most of his primary debates by looking the most presidential on stage. I also said that this was going to be difficult with a real president on stage.

I was wrong about that last point. The debate proved so damaging to Obama not because he looked bumbling or intellectually inferior to his opponent -- he didn't -- but because he simply didn't look like a president fighting for re-election. His failings at the debate fed into a narrative that has existed since he first campaigned in 2007: He can appear aloof, cold, academic and bloodless.

And he did so in the debate against a man who looks like a president and has become used to playing one on TV. People who were lukewarm to Obama (and there are a lot of them) came away thinking: "What's so wrong with Mitt Romney? He seems harmless enough." With more than 67 million people watching, it was a bad night for Obama to have a bad night, and he has been trying to recover ever since.

Strong performances in the second and third debates helped Obama, and Romney squandered an enormous opportunity by launching a parsing attack on Obama's rhetoric about the handling of the killing of U.S. diplomats in Benghazi instead of a real attack on what went wrong. (More about that in a future column.)

But Sandy has been the real godsend. That's terrible to say, considering all the human suffering it has caused, but politics is politics. And the politics of Sandy has helped Obama.

First, the Democrats have been effective in publicizing Romney's past opposition to FEMA, the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

In June 2011, John King asked Romney at a CNN primary debate whether states rather than the federal government should take on the more significant role in disaster relief.

"Absolutely," Romney replied. "Every time you have an occasion to take something from the federal government and send it back to the states, that's the right direction. And if you can go even further and send it back to the private sector, that's even better."

The thought of private companies providing disaster relief for profit rather than the federal government rushing immediate aid to victims seems neither sensible, effective nor humane, however.

But Romney, pressed further by King, put it all on a dollar and cents basis.

"We cannot -- we cannot afford to do those things without jeopardizing the future for our kids," he said. "It is simply immoral, in my view, for us to continue to rack up larger and larger debts and pass them on to our kids, knowing full well that we'll all be dead and gone before it's paid off. It makes no sense at all."

Which is the problem of businessmen candidates. They view government as merely an enormous business. It is not. Government does not exist to maximize profit; it exists to help people.

And when disasters like Sandy strike, people realize that more keenly.

Which is why Romney is now so tight-lipped about his comments on FEMA.

On Tuesday, his traveling press pool asked repeatedly as to whether he would eliminate FEMA should he become president. Repeatedly he ignored them.

This is from one pool report:

"He (Romney) went over to the crates of water and began loading them into the truck. 'Governor, are you going to eliminate FEMA?' a print pooler shouted, receiving no response. Romney continued loading up the truck. Wires reporters asked more questions about FEMA that were ignored. Romney kept coming over near pool to pick up more water. He ignored these questions: 'Governor, are you going to see some storm damage?' 'Governor, has Chris Christie invited you to come survey storm damage?' 'Governor, you've been asked 14 times, why are you refusing to answer the question?'"

Christie, the Republican governor of New Jersey, has been lavish in his praise for Obama and FEMA in recent days.

He has called Obama "outstanding" and said that Obama "deserves great credit."

"He gave me his number at the White House and told me to call him if I needed anything," Christie also said. Christie told Fox News that Obama has helped "tremendously."

"He's been very attentive, and anything that I've asked for, he's gotten to me," Christie said. "So, I thank the president publicly for that. He's done -- as far as I'm concerned -- a great job for New Jersey."

Fox News' Steve Doocy asked if there was "any possibility that Gov. Romney may go to New Jersey to tour some of the damage with you."

"I have no idea, nor am I the least bit concerned or interested," Christie replied. "If you think right now I give a damn about presidential politics, then you don't know me."

But Obama does care about presidential politics, and so does Romney, and so far, Sandy has blown a lot of good political news Obama's way.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate