Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 3, 2012 / 18 Tishrei, 5773

Timing the American Experience Just Right

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | My parents' generation timed it just right.

Born in the thick of the Great Depression, they were taught from an early age how to pinch a penny.

Though they were little at the time, they experienced the sacrifices of World War II. My father was drafted and served two years in the Army during the Korean War.

By the time my parents married in 1956, America was on its way. Like many couples of the Silent Generation, they were filled with confidence and optimism that the world was secure and the American economy would prosper.

It prospered beyond anyone's wildest imagination for the next five decades.

My parents would have six children between 1957 and 1971. My father worked hard to generate income, as my mother worked harder at home to minimize the costs of running a large household.

My father never expected to live a long life. His father died at 34. His mother died at 69. My father didn't expect to make 70.

So when he had an opportunity to retire at 60, after 37 years of 60-hour weeks, he took it. He was able to do so, in part, because his Social Security benefits would supplement his retirement income.

He's 79 now, retired for nearly 20 years, and he is saddened by the mess our country is in. America's massive debt, deficit and spending worry him.

His generation could never borrow and spend so recklessly.

How will younger generations foot the bill? What will the country be like for his kids and grandkids long after he is gone?

Will they ever get to enjoy the sort of retirement he's still enjoying? The answer is probably "no" for most of us.

It's simple demographics. My mother and father entered the world with little and acquired more in wealth and good fortune than they ever would have asked for.

After World War II, as politicians established a number of entitlement programs, the costs were initially sustainable.

The population was growing. The economy was growing. And so the politicians kept on promising and spending and, for the most part, all was well.

Until the collapse of 2008.

America is broke now. We are producing about $1 trillion less in government receipts than we are in government expenditures. We need massive growth to meet our obligations but our growth rate is anemic.

Medicare and Social Security are two big reasons for our indebtedness. As baby boomers begin to retire, those entitlements' costs are growing by leaps and bounds.

Consider: When the Social Security Act was passed in 1935, there were 16.5 people working for every person receiving benefits. The average lifespan was much shorter than it is today.

Now, every person receiving benefits is supported by just 2.9 workers. The average recipient is getting thousands of dollars more than he or she ever paid in.

Medicare spending is growing massively every year. It cost nearly $600 billion in 2011 accounting for about 60 percent of our current budget deficit and will double over the next decade.

The average Medicare recipient's benefits are well in excess of $100,000 more than he or she paid in.

It is the younger generations that are footing the bill for these costs. Anyone with basic math skills can see that these programs' future is not looking so good. Their costs are soaring so rapidly that there are not enough working young people, or tax revenue, to cover them.

That certainly isn't my parents fault. They worked hard. They contributed well to their country and community. They produced six responsible children who are working hard and generating far more tax revenue than my parents are receiving in Social Security benefits. (They have private insurance and do not use Medicare.)

Still, my parents timed their American experience just right. They had a fantastic run at a fantastic time in American history.

And they worry that if America doesn't get its affairs in order, their kids and grandkids may never enjoy the sort of golden years that they have been so blessed to enjoy.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2012, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles