Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 24, 2012/ 8 Mar-Cheshvan, 5773

Do you enjoy going out to the movies?

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Somewhere in the world, someone is walking out of some theater and saying something like this: "They don't make movies like they used to."

This general dissatisfaction with the quality of movies comes in many forms – "Movies are getting dumber" is a popular lament – but the sentiment is the same.

However, I don't necessarily agree with the sentiment.

It is my contention that there were always good movies and bad movies coming out of Hollywood, but the good ones are shown on TV more than the bad ones so we have a distorted view of the quality of old movies. Hollywood has been churning out 300-400 movies a year for 100 years. How many "Casablancas" or "Citizen Kanes" have there been? Isn't it a fair assumption that earlier generations had their versions of "Battleship" and "Hangover 2?"

But it doesn't matter how good the movies are if the movie-going experience is not great. I hear as many complaints about movie theaters as I do about movies.

How you watch a movie is as important as the movie you're watching.

Not everyone can watch movies the ideal way, which is to be invited by a movie studio to a private screening room with perfect sound and picture. Nobody is munching popcorn in front of you, or kicking the back of your seat.

Another way is to watch at home. But unless you're rich enough to have your own professional screening room, it's still TV-watching.

Finally, there is the movie theater. This is where most people watch their movies. If people are not going out to watch movies as often as they used to, blame the theaters, not the movies.

I watch plenty of movies in private screening rooms, and I also watch movies at home. But I pay to watch movies in theaters at least once a week. I usually enjoy watching movies in a theater, but I know what I don't like about the experience as well. I'd like to know what you dislike about going out to the movies. I'll record your complaints in a future column. Maybe local theater owners will pay attention, and do something about it.

Feel free to borrow any of the 20 most commonly heard complaints listed below, or compile your own list of pet peeves.

Unfortunately, I can do nothing about the quality of movies coming out of Hollywood. Movie studios will continue to baffle us with what they consider entertainment. In the meantime, let's concentrate on the theaters, and hope that bigger theater audiences will inspire Hollywood to make better movies.

If they assume that only 12-year-old boys are going to the theaters, they won't bother to offer the best movie experience.

Here are the 20 biggest complaints about movie theaters, which happen to coincide with my 20 biggest complaints about movie theaters:

1. Movie tickets are too expensive – Honestly, ticket pricing is probably out of the control of theater owners.

2. Popcorn is too expensive – Is there a limit to how big those tubs can grow?

3. The commercials are annoying – Theater owners keep trying to convince us that people like them, but I'm not convinced.

4. Cell phone usage is not controlled – Yes, we know you're popular.

5. Movies are getting louder – Perhaps headphones are the answer?

6. Theaters are too cold – You might consider bringing a sweater.

7. What's in the fake butter? – I flunked chemistry so I can't figure it out.

8. Seats are uncomfortable. Vibrating foot rests would be nice.

9. Ban parents from taking their young children to R-rated movies – Yeah, I'm talking to you, lady.

10. Enforce no-talking rules during the movies. I would like to suggest ejection seats.

11. Stop selling hot dogs. They stink up the whole theater.

12. Don't allow the unwrapping of hard candy. And that includes my own mother.

13. Clean the sticky floors – It's disgusting.

14. Tell us the actual starting time of the feature presentation – Some people need to time their bathroom breaks.

15. Don't allow seating after the feature begins. Fashionably late is obnoxious at the movies.

16. If you're going to insist on building multiplexes, make them more soundproof so that the sound from action movies doesn't bleed into the drama next door. Meryl Streep doesn't come with a soundtrack.

17. Stop charging extra for 3D and calling it "event pricing." You might as well call it "price gouging."

18. Better candy selections – What do the AMC and Regal theater chains have against Goobers?

19. The ban on outside food should be enforced. The theater doesn't like it because it cuts into their overpriced concessions, but I hate it because of the noise.

20. Stop reminding us that for an extra 50 cents, we can a much bigger tub of popcorn. Can't you see that we're fat enough?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

Sylvester Stallone, the Dalai Lama and me
Watch August movies at your own risk
Nothing new in the new Spider-Man movie
Grading the summer movies . . . so far
Readers are angry about TV network practices, too
TV networks have some explaining to do
The night Johnny Depp made me a star
Summer movies: the dark horses
Lindsay, Ashton, Kim --- are they kidding?
Readers pick their favorite baseball movies
Our 10 favorite baseball movies
The most over-hyped movies of 2012
The 10 worst best pictures ever
The greatest Oscar acceptance speech NEVER given
The worst biopics ... ever
20 celebrity questions that must be answered in 2012
The Golden Globes are meaningless
The 10 Most Annoying Celebrities of 2011
The funniest comedy teams
Fake celebrities ignite real controversy
Hollywood: Stop spoiling our movies
Mob expert reveals his favorite gangster flicks
Good riddance, Harry Potter
The coolest car movies ever made
Our favorite teacher movies
Are women funny?
Our special snarky summer movie guide
The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles