Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct 11, 2011 / 13Tishrei, 5772

I live better than Rockefeller --- and do so with thanks, not resentment. Some want that to stop

By Jack Kelly




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Steve Jobs, the founder of Apple Inc, died Oct. 5, evidently of cancer. He was 56.

Mr. Jobs was one of those rich guys of whom President Barack Obama disapproves...when he's not attending $35,000 a plate fund-raisers, or vacationing in their homes. Mr. Jobs made a fortune Forbes magazine estimated at $5.4 billion.

Mr. Jobs wasn't always rich. He dropped out college because his working class parents couldn't afford the tuition. He and high school buddy Steve Wozniak founded Apple in the garage of his parents' home in Cupertino, California.

That was in 1976. Apple Inc. today is worth about $340 billion, and has more than 46,000 employees.

My wife and I have contributed to Mr. Jobs' wealth. We both have Apple Mac laptop computers and iPhones, and Pam has an iPad. We don't begrudge Mr. Jobs the profit he made when we bought those products. They've enriched our lives.

I'm just a middle class American, getting squeezed by stagnant wages and rising prices for food and gasoline. I worry a little about being able to pay the bills each month, a lot about whether I'll ever have enough money to retire. It's easy to forget that I, arguably, live better than did John D. Rockefeller (1839-1937).

I don't have mansions or servants. But my home has indoor plumbing, central heat and air conditioning. I have a color television (and cable), a microwave oven, a computer and a cell phone. I eat fresh fruit and vegetables year round. My car is better than any Mr. Rockefeller ever owned, and my health care is superior. I have to fly coach when I visit my daughter in Denver. But I can make in a few hours a trip that would have taken Mr. Rockefeller days on the train.

I've worked hard all my life. But most of what I have I owe to the genius of others.

Until about 200 years ago, all but a handful of people in every society that's ever existed lived at or barely above a subsistence level.

Then came the Industrial Revolution. Within a few decades, ordinary people in Britain and America were living better than royalty had in the millenia preceding.

The Industrial Revolution happened because the geniuses who invented the steam engine, the railroad, the mechanical reaper, interchangeable parts, the telegraph and telephone and so much more were free to pursue their ideas for the betterment of mankind.

And to line their own pockets too. Most successful innovators became rich.

I've never resented the successful for enjoying the fruits of their labors. Democrats do. The top one percent of earners pay nearly 40 percent of the federal income tax. The top one tenth of one percent pays about 20 percent. But "the rich" still don't pay their "fair share," Democrats say. They're "greedy" if they don't want to pay more.

"At a certain point, you've made enough money," President Barack Obama said.

The truly greedy, it seems to me, are those who think they've a right to live well at the expense of others.

The vacations Michelle Obama has taken so far this year have cost taxpayers $10 million, calculated the National Enquirer in August.

Most of that is for transportation and Secret Service protection. But the Obamas have been remarkably extravagant. Michelle and daughters Sasha and Malia took a separate jet to Martha's Vineyard in August, even though they arrived within four hours of the president. A separate Air Force jet was sent for the presidential dog, Bo, when the Obamas vacationed in Maine last year.

In the interest of "fairness," Democrats want to redistribute wealth from the people who've earned it to people they think will vote for them. Democrats forget that before wealth can be redistributed, it must be created. If producers are demonized, and too many obstacles are thrown in their path, less of it will be.

"Throughout history, poverty is the normal condition of man," wrote science fiction writer Robert Heinlein. "Advances which permit this norm to be exceeded -- here and there, now and then -- are all the work of an extremely small minority, frequently despised, often condemned, and almost always opposed by all right-thinking people. Whenever this tiny minority is kept from creating, or (as sometimes happens) is driven out of a society, the people then slip back into abject poverty.

This is known as bad luck."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Jack Kelly, a former Marine and Green Beret, was a deputy assistant secretary of the Air Force in the Reagan administration.

Jack Kelly Archives


© 2011, Jack Kelly

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles