Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct 13, 2011 / 15 Tishrei, 5772

Hollywood: Stop spoiling our movies

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The two most meaningless words in Hollywood today are "spoiler alert."

Movie critics traditionally use the words before revealing a particular scene or action while writing a review. It's a considerate thing to do, but hardly necessary in the gutless climate that now pervades the selling of movies.

There is nothing for critics to spoil anymore. Everything is revealed.

Movie studios are so fearful of failure that they want to leave nothing to chance. They won't hesitate to include a movie comedy's funniest lines and an action film's most exciting scenes in trailers that are shown in theaters and on TV. They believe that movie-goers are as fearful as them, and want the studios to reveal everything so that tickets are never purchased without knowing everything about a movie, including the ending.

This practice has riled me for many years - I'll never forget the trailer for the 1993 family film "Free Willy," which actually included the surprise ending when the whale jumped to its freedom - but the occasional sprinkling of spoiled scenes has turned into a downpour.

The most recent example was the Taylor Lautner action film "Abduction," in which the "Twilight" werewolf plays a teen who discovers his own photo on a website dedicated to missing children.

Since the movie underperformed at the box office its opening weekend, I am going to assume that most of you have little interest in this movie and never intend to see it. Therefore, I will proceed freely with a discussion that once would have begun with the words "spoiler alert." If you plan to ever see this movie, and have not paid attention to the trailers or TV ads, then please skip the next few paragraphs.

Lautner's character lives in a nice neighborhood, and is the only son of tough but caring parents. As he attempts to discover how his picture wound up on the Internet, it becomes apparent to the moviegoer that something more sinister is going on, and men with bad intent are pursuing him. When those bad men appear at his front door, the unaware moviegoer thinks that the boy's sweet and innocent mother is in serious danger when she opens the door. Instead, it turns out that she is adept at martial arts and easily can defend herself in a dark alley. It was a nice surprise to the casual moviegoer, but it probably came as no surprise to anyone who had seen the trailers beforehand. I saw the film in an advance screening, but when I finally saw the trailers weeks later, I felt sorry for moviegoers who don't have the luxury of seeing movies before the marketing campaign begins.

In fact, when people ask what I enjoy most about my job, I say that it is not seeing movies for free, or even meeting the biggest movie stars in the world. It is, by far, the privilege of seeing movies long before the studios have ruined them for the serious movie fan.

Just before my interview with Lautner, I was standing in the studio's hotel hospitality suite watching a loop of the various trailers for "Abduction." I couldn't believe how much of the movie's surprises were revealed in the trailers, including a scene in which a couple of federal agents pretend to be dead to lure some bad guys into a diner. There was no reason to reveal that scene, except that the studios have grown so accustomed to spoiling movies that they don't even think about what they're doing.

While I was watching the trailer, a studio executive walked in and stood beside me. "I can't believe how much you give away in these trailers," I said.

"What are we supposed to do?" he responded. "We can't trust people to come see the new Taylor Lautner action movie just because we ask them. We have to show these scenes, or people won't want to see the movie."

Hey, guess what? Nobody wanted to see the movie anyway, and I believe that one of the reasons is that they felt they had already seen the movie in the marketing campaign.

It is fear that drives these marketing campaigns, but it is also laziness.

These studios are dream factories inhabited by creative individuals whose sole job is to entertain. And they entertain by being clever. They are clever in making movies, and then for some reason forget how to be clever when trying to sell their movies.

That's all I'm asking - I want the studio's marketing people to put as much creative thought into selling their movies as the filmmakers do in making them. There is nothing creative about giving away all the best parts of the movie.

If "Citizen Kane" were released today, I assume the trailers would include the revelation that "Rosebud" is a sled. Oops, I should have said "spoiler alert."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

Mob expert reveals his favorite gangster flicks
Good riddance, Harry Potter
The coolest car movies ever made
Our favorite teacher movies
Are women funny?
Our special snarky summer movie guide
The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles