Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

The Broader Picture of What These Elections Mean

By Ron Hart




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "Anyone who fights for the future, lives in it today." -- Ayn Rand

The trajectory of this country over the past eight years has been troubling to those of us who understand the power of individual freedoms. Encroachments on individual and corporate liberties, such as making us buy health insurance while exempting favored unions, go almost unnoticed by the average person. That is why the next two elections matter so much.

We might well look back on this time as the period of history in which we lost the freedoms and opportunities we all enjoyed, to prosper, build a better life and be proud of our accomplishments.

This election is not only about the indifference to debt of Obama and Pelosi; when they say "$13 trillion in debt," it seems they have no idea it is a real number. It is about the spirit that has made Americans great. Alexis de Tocqueville, the author of Democracy in America, called it "American Exceptionalism," and we are on the brink of losing it.

Our elitist, narcissistic, condescending President is all too happy to squelch the individual and entrepreneurial spirit of Americans who he thinks rival him in importance. When it is about you and me, it cannot be about him.

As government takes more and more control of our lives and of the economy, the creeping incrementalism which it uses to gain power over us is often not noticed by the average citizen. It is hidden in the false promise of what an all-powerful government will do for you.

Liberals control an education system that has pandered to the lowest common denominator and which has resulted in falling math and science test scores when measured against rival developed countries. If we know too much and are allowed to think for ourselves rather than as part of the collective, we might question government's power. Education has gravitated toward the lowest form. How else do you explain reality TV's exploding popularity and the success of "Jersey Shore"? More people can identify "The Situation" (a man nicknamed for his abdominal muscles) than can name any Supreme Court Justice. Sadly, their vote counts as much as yours and mine.

Our pop culture has been so blurred with politics that Forbes' list of most powerful women has Lady Gaga ahead of House Speaker Nancy Pelosi. Donald Trump has thrown his hair into the ring for President.

Even The Tea Party does not seem to agree on what programs to cut from the budget, nor has a clear leader emerged. They are a traditional group, so I assume the only thing they have decided for sure is that South Carolina will secede from the Union first.

For the most part, however, the Tea Party movement is on the right track -- if it can avoid being hijacked by the religious right into becoming another vehicle which seeks to codify their view of the Bible into law. Their leading candidate, Christine O'Donnell, spends time telling voters "I am not a witch," which, sadly, beats her Democrat opponent's "I dabbled in Marxism."

It turns out O'Donnell lied about some of her college credentials. The next thing you know we will find out she did not graduate from Cauldron College in Salem, Mass. If she is elected, be prepared for her top legislative priority, the "Omnibus Anti-Masturbation and Reconciliation Act of 2011." Now you know why I am a libertarian.

In a society where the liberals silence the voices of freedom, we must all fight for it. As I type my column on my Word document program, I notice that it shows "Ayn" in "Ayn Rand" as misspelled with no corrections suggested. It's like Word does not want to acknowledge one of the most admired writers of modern times. Interestingly enough, Word does correctly spell both "Kucinich" and "Dukakis."

Do not fall for campaign promises. Remember, Obama was going to get us out of the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, be a post-partisan president, heal racial divides, and go line-by-line to make budget cuts. He has done just the opposite. Do not base your vote entirely on campaign promises; they last about as long as appliance warranties. Vote on the person, on his or her personal beliefs and actions as they relate to the role of government. The less government does, the better off we all are.

=<<


BUY THE BOOK


Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).


Comment by clicking here.


JWR contributor Ron Hart grew up in Tennessee and began writing a column for his hometown paper in 2002. He attended The University of Memphis and the Institute for Political and Economic Systems at Georgetown University. Ron graduated Magna Cum Laude and was elected student government president. Upon getting his MBA, he went to work for Goldman Sachs. He was appointed to the Tennessee Board of Regents by then Governor Lamar Alexander and is now a private investor. He appears on CNN and has been quoted in numerous publications including the Wall Street Journal.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Previously:

Dem-moralized: ‘Dead Fish’ taken to the trash cant

Ships Passing in the Night

Obamanomics continue to add up . . . for Republicans

She had Tiger by the tail: If Elin did not get Tiger's money, Obama would have


© 2010 Ron Hart

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles