Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 10, 2007 / 28 Tishrei, 5768

Where is the outrage of risque photo?

By Marybeth Hicks



Printer Friendly Version

Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I honestly thought my fifth-grader hadn't heard about the naked photos. I certainly didn't mention them to her, and she never came to me to ask about them. After a couple of weeks, I believed — much to my relief — that the "photo incident" had passed, drifting over Amy's head, where it couldn't spoil her innocent perception of reality.


I should have known better.


Fifth-graders talk, after all, and the news of nude photos of Vanessa Hudgens, star of Disney's "High School Musical" (I and II) ran rampantly across the playground and through the lunchroom, apparently within days of the media reports back in early September.


This is why I am surprised to discover nearly a month later that Amy knows all about Vanessa's "lapse in judgment" (the phrase Disney coined to describe her actions). Here's how I find out:


Amy: "Boys don't get celebrity crushes, do they?"


Me: "I don't know about that. Your brother seems to think Vanessa Hudgens is pretty. Though I don't know if he has a crush on her, exactly."


Amy: "Well, that was before the 'photo incident.' " She makes quotation marks in the air with her fingers. "Now that he knows about it, maybe he won't think too highly of her."


At about this point, I can feel my eyes darting around my van as I drive home from school, thoughts bouncing through my mind such as: "How does she know about the 'photo incident'? What does she know about the 'photo incident'? Why is there always a stinking 'photo incident'? " Of course, when a parent is confronted with the realization that her nearly 10-year-old child can casually discuss the revelation of nude photos on the Internet of one of her favorite teen stars, you can't just let the moment slide without comment.


Or can you? I consider this strategy but decide it's the coward's way out. There's nothing to do but dive into the murky waters of unseemly celebrity behavior.


"Well, this is probably something we should talk about," I say. But here's the parenting quandary: Do I use this teachable moment to address the moral issue of nude modeling? Do I delve into the religious concept of the body as a temple of the Lord? Do I highlight the irrevocable damage to one's reputation when compromising photos float through cyberspace, displaying private parts and intimate moments?


There's no time to formulate a lesson plan, per se, so I pipe up with a knee-jerk, pragmatic consideration:


"In case I've never mentioned this, if you're ever in the altogether and there's a camera around, the only picture you should let someone take is one of your bare behind running in the other direction."


"Mo-ther," Amy says. "Like I would ever get undressed in a room where someone was taking pictures." Thankfully she can't imagine a scenario in which nude photos are the result of "modeling." Vanessa's "incident" apparently hasn't spoiled Amy entirely.


But still. Somehow the whole "High School Musical" phenomenon has been spoiled for me. What previously seemed like a wholesome, innocuous TV musical just reminds me that Hollywood makes buckets o' money by playing pretend for the cameras.


Clearly, Vanessa was just pretending to be a sweet yet principled high schooler, getting the lead in the spring drama production and landing a summer job at a country club. In real life, she's a bit more ... um ... worldly.


My teachable moment comes and goes, and just as well. I'm left with that stunned, sad feeling we get when we're faced — once again — with moral corruption so commonplace that a fifth-grader isn't particularly shocked to learn that a favorite celebrity has posed in the buff.


I'm not sure whether to shake my head at the "photo incident" or my daughter's casual awareness that it happened in the first place.


Either way, my head's shaking; that's for sure.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MAYBETH'S FIRST BOOK!
"The Perfect World Inside My Minivan -- One mom's journey through the streets of suburbia"  

Marybeth Hicks offers readers common-sense wisdom in dealing with today's culture. Her anecdotes of her husband and four children tap into universal themes that every parent can relate to and appreciate. -- Wesley Pruden, Editor-in-Chief, The Washington Times
Sales help fund JWR.

JWR contributor Marybeth Hicks, a wife of 20 years and mother of four children, lives in the Midwest. She uses her column to share her perspective on issues and experiences that shape families nationwide. To comment, please click here.


Archives




© 2007, Marybeth Hicks