Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 17, 2005 / 14 Tishrei, 5766

Perceived Racism in the Workplace: A Survey

By Marty Nemko

Nemko
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | To what extent do employees perceive that racism exists in their workplace?

To help answer that question, I posted an online survey for 10 days, ending Oct. 4, 2005. 77 people completed the survey. Unfortunately, there was an average of just 5.8 respondents from each non-white racial groups (African-American, Asian, Native American, Filipino, and mixed-race), far too few to provide any valid data. But among the 48 white respondents, 27 percent believed their race hurt them in getting a job, being promoted, salary, and/or training opportunities.

In addition to the multiple-choice questions, I included an open-ended question asking respondents to describe how their race has affected them in the workplace. They also had the option of leaving me their phone number so I could interview them about it. I made multiple attempts to contact each U.S-residing respondent. Here are their responses. I am withholding their last names because publishing them could endanger their careers.

Vince, a Causasian, who has been a manager at a number of Fortune 100 companies, said, ‘There was so much pressure as a middle manager to hire minorities, we felt we had to choose the person who wasn't our first choice. Because we had these quotas, I mean — goals— (said laughingly), some people didn't get the opportunities they should have. For example, I promoted a black female even though I had another person who would have done a better job.’

Warren is an attorney. He said, ‘I feel it has been an advantage to be Asian. At least here in the Bay Area, I've never felt that I'm a minority.’

Wanda, an African-American, said, ‘It happened a long time ago. I was working at Ford Motor Credit Co. My job was to verify that people had insurance. For three years in a row, I applied to be promoted. The other two people who did what I was doing were white and they got promoted but I didn't. I developed a whole lot of personal problems because I didn't get my promotion, so I went on disability.’ I asked, ‘What led you to believe race was a factor? ’ She said, ‘ I never got a bad performance review. ’

Patrick, a technology sales rep said, ‘ (Political correctness) puts a lot of pressure in the workplace. You really have to watch what you say. For example, if a white person were to say, ‘He aksed’ instead of ‘He asked’ to repeat what a Black person said, that could get him in trouble. So we feel pressure. ’

Bryce, a Caucasian technical writer, said, ‘When I was in the job market, there were three or four times when I was a finalist for a job and I knew the other candidates, and in each case, a minority got the job. They were on the ball, but it really seemed that race was the tie-breaker. ’

‘I applied to the U.S Military Academy Officer Candidate School. The recruiting officer told me, flat out I'll never get the job this year because I'm white. He had a ‘quota‘ to fill and all the white slots were filled’ According to last census, we are now the minority so does that mean affirmative action for whites? The government is the great ‘equalizer. ’ Without it, we might have actually had a society that worked. ’

‘I had a Korean boss. During the 14 months I, the only Jew, was at the facility, it became clear to all that the Korean boss set up a pay scale with Asian males at the top. The bottom was left to me and a dark-skinned Indian woman. After one year of excellent service to her business, I approached her and asked for a raise more in line with my responsibilities, performance, education, and experience. I told her that I discovered that I was being paid half of others with much less education, experience and excellence were earning. She made my life hell for five weeks (closing down the departments I oversaw, cutting me out of projects that I was responsible for) and then fired me.’

No doubt, many minorities have, and perhaps still do, experience discrimination in the workplace. It has, however, been 140 years after slavery, 40 years after the Civil Rights movement, compensatory government programs, and affirmative action began. So, I m wondering whether society is best served by policies and practices in which more than one-fourth of white people feel that they have been rejected for jobs, promotions, training opportunities, etc., in favor of less qualified people merely because of their race. Apart from the injustice, hiring a less qualified person because of race will hurt people of all races: from the competence of customer service we get to the quality of our medical care.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

400+ of Dr. Nemko's published writings are on www.martynemko.com. Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2005, Dr. Marty Nemko

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles