Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 20, 2005 / 17 Tishrei, 5766

The neo-Nazis didn't do it

By Michael Graham


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | You've probably seen the headlines from Toledo, Ohio:

NEO-NAZI RALLY TURNS VIOLENT—Detroit Free Press

WHITE SUPREMACISTS RIOT IN TOLEDO—ABC Online

SIX ARRESTED AFTER NAZI MARCH TURNS VIOLENT—Newsday

Only one problem: They are completely wrong.

Yes, the streets of Toledo did turn violent last weekend, it's true. Police arrested 114 people after looters broke into and robbed a convenience store and a bar, destroyed an ambulance, overturned cars and set a building on fire. Rioters injured at least a dozen cops, including one officer who suffered a concussion after a brick hit her in the head as she sat in her squad car.

But despite what you read on the front page of your paper, none of this—not a single action—involved Nazis, neo or otherwise. As the Toledo Blade reported: "Toledo police canceled a planned Nazi rally through North Toledo before it even started because of disturbances among protestors along the route." The "Sieg Heil" squad left some two hours before the looting and fires ever started.

L-rd knows, if there's any group I'd like to blame for the ills of the world, it's the Nazis. If we could blame the world's problems on the "I Love Hitler" crowd, we'd have a world without problems because there are—what, 45 neo-Nazis in the entire country? If you got every member of the American Nazi Party together, you might be able to over turn one car, as long as it wasn't too big. Maybe a Volkswagen.

So how did these fringe fascists get blamed for the Toledo riot?

Maybe it's the press's anti-Nazi bias. If so, they'll get no complaints from me.

Or maybe the mainstream media buys the argument, offered by some of the rioters and their defenders, that the riot was a civil rights protest against fascism.

"You can't allow people to come challenge a whole city and not think they weren't going to strike back," said one local resident. Several others complained that the city should never have allowed the Nazis to gather in the first place. One man who lived near the looted bar said "They don't have the right to bring hate to my front yard." OK, so at first glance, burning down your neighbor's house to protest free speech might not appear to be in the tradition of Dr. King at Selma, butů

To his credit, Toledo Mayor Jack Ford—who happens to be black—defended the First Amendment to the angry mob in his city's streets. To his shame, he also explained it to the known gang leaders he negotiated with in a failed attempt to prevent violence.

Afterwards, he reported that the gang members he negotiated with "weren't interested" in making a deal.

Darn! And those gangbangers are usually so reasonable about these things.

So to recap: In response to a Nazi rally that didn't happen, several hundred black Americans burned down buildings and looted businesses in their own community, apparently in protest of the First Amendment, while the elected mayor of a mid-sized American city negotiated with the gangsters among them to plead for order in the streets.

And it's all the Nazi's fault?

Even if you believe that neo-Nazism poses an imminent threat to the Republic, how does destroying a Toledo gas station or setting a local bar on fire help hold back the Aryan hordes? I just wonder how many other Americans, watching the disturbing images of hundreds of black neighbors rushing a local convenience store, were reminded, not of Nuremberg, but New Orleans?

I can understand why headline writers at places like Newsday and ABC were quick to make the Toledo story a "Nazi" story and not a "race riot" story. Goose-stepping Nazis are just a freak show story. It has no connection to real issues in mainstream American society. The story of yet another mob of black citizens assaulting their own community with shameless crime and pointless violence, cannot be so easily dismissed. It raises uncomfortable questions that "nut Nazi" stories do not.

I realize that, as a white guy, I am supposed to let this behavior go by without comment. That was certainly the mainstream media's strategy.

I'm also not supposed to notice that on the same day, a thousand miles away in Washington DC, thousands of black Americans gathered to hear Louis Farrakhan's latest theory on how the Bush administration blew up the levees in Louisiana. If I'm alarmed by the sight of great masses of my fellow Americans in support of a anti-Semitic loony waiting to be beamed up to the Mother Ship, it's my duty as a white guy not to let it show.

But it does make me nervous. If the American Nazi Party had a million members, I'd be nervous about that, too—even if that number represented a mere1% of America's white population. The same would be true if thousands of Hispanic Americans were rioting on behalf of the "reconquista" movement to return the southwestern US to Mexico.

But they aren't. There is only one community in America where this irrational, self-destructive street violence occurs again and again. As an American, I'd like to do something to help change that fact. But I don't think I'm allowed to, because I don't think I'm allowed to even acknowledge that there's a problem.

Unfortunately, the problems facing black Americans are very real. The lingering racism black Americans face is real, too, as are the setbacks some black Americans choose to bring upon themselves.

A lot of very smart people, from Dr. Thomas Sowell to Ward Connerly, have ideas on how to confront these problems and make a positive difference.

Blaming the Nazis, however, is not one of them.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Michael Graham is a talk show host and author of the highly acclaimed "Redneck Nation: How the South Really Won the War." Listen to "Michael Graham, Unleashed" weekdays at www.rightalk.com. To comment, please click here.



Archives


© 2005, Michael Graham

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles