Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 13, 2005 / 10 Tishrei, 5766

Stop Miers now!

By Michael Graham


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | If George W. Bush were just a rich Texan and Harriet Miers was back in her Dallas law offices, do you know what she would do if he walked in off the street today and asker her to take a case involving constitutional legal issues?

She'd refer him to someone else. That's what a good lawyer does with cases she is not qualified to handle.

Unfortunately (for the Constitution), George W. Bush isn't just an oilman anymore. He's President of the United States. And Miss Miers isn't just an undistinguished, second-rate attorney. No, she's an undistinguished second-rate attorney who is a buddy of George W. Bush.

And so we face a future in which a woman who would never get hired to appear before the Supreme Court will soon be sitting on the Supreme Court. If you think I am being unfair to Harriet Miers, Esq., you should hear what her friends have to say about her.

Sen. Arlen Specter, who labeled conservatives like me a "lynch mob" (hey—didn't he steal that from Clarence Thomas?) says Miers' legal experience is so thin that "she needs a crash course in constitutional law."

Former Sen. Dan Coats, Miers' handler in the upcoming confirmation process, acknowledges that she is no "great intellectual powerhouse." However, he suggests that her mediocrity would prevent the court from being "so skewed on the intellectual side that we may not be getting representation of America as a whole."

First there was the "Jewish Seat" on the court. Then the "Black Seat," and the "Woman's Seat." Now, we've apparently added another one: The "Stupid Seat."

The worst thing anyone has said about Harriet Miers is that her life experience is so limited she thinks George W. Bush is the most brilliant man she's ever met.

Unfortunately, that remark was made by Harriet Miers.

For a week now, I've been calling Miers the worst court pick since Portland took Sam Bowie over Charles Barkley, John Stockton and Michael Jordan in the '84 NBA draft. I've been challenging her supporters—when I can find one—to give me a single reason to change my mind.

I am left to conclude that such a reason, fact or argument simply does not exist. Miers defenders make no arguments, only demands. They demand that I be mindlessly loyal to President Bush and back any choice he makes, no matter how badly he betrays his constituents and the Constitution.

When I do bully an affirmative answer out of a Miers' supporter, it is nearly always "because she's a Christian."

While I agree that nobody should be DIS-qualified from the SCOTUS because of his or her religion, Bible-thumping is not, in and of itself, a qualification for high public office. My mom is an evangelical Christian. I love her dearly. But if the president called her tomorrow and said "Pat, I'm puttin' you on the Supreme Court," my mom would politely reply: "George, have you started drinking again?"

The idea that a Judge Miers is going to vote the way Jesus would vote is preposterous on its face. Jesus Christ wouldn't be involved in a deliberative body in the first place. He's "all powerful, no appeals." Not even Antonin Scalia can overturn THAT precedent.

But evangelicals who look at Miers more practically will see for themselves why the Church Lady is a lousy choice for the court. G-d calls on us to do what is right. Being a judge means doing what is legal.

Just the other day, for example, the Supreme Court heard a case involving the state of Oregon allowing doctors to use prescription drugs to help sick people commit suicide. The Bush Administration argued that the federal government regulates these medicines and how they can be used, and the feds don't want the people of Oregon to use them to kill people. So the Bush administration asked the Court to overturn Oregon's state law.

According to Miers' supporters, her pro-life views would make her a solid vote against physician-assisted suicide and she would almost certainly smite down the laws of Oregon, yea verily.

Here's the problem: If it's unconstitutional for a state to regulate medical procedures like prescription drug use, then it's unconstitutional for states to regulate other medical practices, like abortion. And if medical decisions like what drugs your doctor can use are a federal issue, then certainly medical decisions like allowing abortion are federal, too.

Congratulations, Judge Jesus: You just upheld Roe vs. Wade!

The reason the Supreme Court should strike down Roe tomorrow isn't because abortion is wrong (it is) or because it's not God's will. Roe should be reversed because it is clearly unconstitutional. That's it. End of story.

Do we really want to appoint someone to the Supreme Court who needs a "crash course" to figure that out?

I have one last question that the Kool-Aid drinking wing of the GOP cannot answer: If Ruth Bader Ginsburg suddenly converted to Lutheranism but kept her current judicial philosophy, would that make her a judge you would want on the court? Of course not.

But if Harriet Miers announced tomorrow that she had converted to Kabbalah with Madonna and planned to adopt the philosophy of Jewish mysticism, would you still be on the Miers bandwagon?

I rest my case.


For more information on the Miers pick, check out www.stopmiersnow.com

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Michael Graham is a talk show host and author of the highly acclaimed "Redneck Nation: How the South Really Won the War." Listen to "Michael Graham, Unleashed" weekdays at www.rightalk.com. To comment, please click here.



Archives


© 2005, Michael Graham

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles