Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 21, 2005 / 18 Tishrei, 5766

Parents may need to brush up on discipline

By Lori Borgman

Lori Borgman
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I have just received my second blinking toothbrush in two months.

This, by the way, highlights a fundamental difference between business CEOs and newspaper columnists. CEOs receive freebies like golf outings, time in beach front condos and excursions on yachts, whereas columnists are more likely to receive plastic freebies pertaining to children's dental hygiene.

Not that it matters, and journalists do not accept gifts, but I just thought it was a tidbit of interest you college students might want to ponder as you make those all-important career and education choices.

Anyway, the first blinking toothbrush had a clear handle with a red light that flashed for 60 seconds at a time. The package said, ‘ Perfect for kids who don't brush.’

I was a little confused as to why a kid who didn't brush would need a toothbrush, but then I realized they were hoping that the novelty of the flashing light would turn non-brushers into brushers and get them brushing once, twice, maybe even three times a day. Of course, this was assuming the little non-brushers had any teeth left to brush.

Eight weeks later, I received another blinking toothbrush. This was a new and improved blinking toothbrush that featured, and I quote, ‘ blinking technology.’ It had a clear handle that contained blue sparkles and a yellow duck with a red light inside him that blinked like a coastal lighthouse warning approaching ships in a thick fog. It is the Cadillac of blinking toothbrushes.

I read through the press kit that accompanied the new and improved blinking toothbrush and, once again, was left thinking that something was amiss.

The press release said that the toothbrush ‘ gives children the inspiration to brush . . . ’ That's right, the inspiration to brush. So, I'm guessing that giving children the inspiration to brush is the new, preferred method of avoiding tooth decay, as opposed to the old method where a parent simply looked at a kid and said, ‘Hey, go brush your teeth.’

I called a dentist friend to ask what he thought about giving kids inspiration to brush. He said he liked it better than giving them miniature Snickers bars, but nothing beats a good toothpaste with fluoride.

I can't remember offering inspiration for our kids to brush their teeth. But then I couldn't remember offering them inspiration to do anything else, either. Just because we didn't offer inspiration, doesn't mean we didn't offer other things.

When the oldest received shaky mid-term reports in high school, I didn't offer inspiration, I offered warmth. It was called lighting a fire. I graphically explained what his sequestered and secluded life would look like if the grades were not pulled up by the quarter s end. Oftentimes my speech radiated such warmth that it left him with a light perspiration covering his entire forehead. If he was inspired, it was mere coincidence.

When the girls would get territorial in the bathroom, we suggested the possibility of each girl being limited to a maximum 10 minutes of bathroom time before school. They called it a threat. We called it a promise. Whatever it was, it restored peace, so in the long run it must have been inspiring.

After giving the matter some thought, I realize there are many means of providing inspiration. Some parents rely on blinking technology, others prefer to simply show a little fang.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lori Borgman is the author of , most recently, "Pass the Faith, Please" (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) and I Was a Better Mother Before I Had Kids To comment, please click here. To visit her website click here.

ARCHIVES

© 2005, Lori Borgman

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles