Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 6, 2005 / 3 Tishrei, 5766

Pitching America, despite the boos

By Max Boot


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I feel Karen Hughes' pain. Really I do. On a "listening tour" of Egypt, Saudi Arabia and Turkey last week, the undersecretary of State for public diplomacy got an earful from interlocutors who weren't won over by her Texas-style attempts at folksiness, as when she introduced herself as just a "working mom." (Admittedly, it would have been more accurate to say that she just happens to be a pal of the working dad in the Oval Office.)

In Egypt, she met with university students, one of whom emerged to tell the Christian Science Monitor, "I didn't find her answers very convincing." In Saudi Arabia, she met with a roomful of women who denied that they were oppressed and claimed that they loved living in a state that bars them from driving and forces them to wear stifling head-to-toe abayas. And, in Turkey, she met with numerous critics of the Iraq war who told her that it was "never, ever" possible to "export democracy and freedom from one country to another," which would come as news to Germans, Indians or Afghanis.

Been there, done that.

Like many other policy wonks of all political persuasions, I've given a number of lectures abroad sponsored by the State Department. In fact, I'm hitting the stump again this week in Mexico. (If Mexican/American relations take a precipitous turn for the worse, you'll know why.) And wherever I've gone, I've hit my head against an almost impenetrable wall of envy, resentment and hostility toward the United States, a wall built for the most part out of pervasive ignorance and malevolent fantasy.

In Turkey, for instance, which I visited less than a year ago, I heard numerous questions along these lines: Why is the U.S. conspiring to create a Kurdish state? (Actually, the U.S. opposes Kurdish independence.) Why is the U.S. using chemical weapons in Fallouja? (Huh?) And why did the CIA place in power Turkey's Islamist prime minister, Recep Tayyip Erdogan? (Far from being an American stooge, he has strained relations with Washington.)

Luckily, I have some experience in handling moonbat queries because I've spoken on numerous college campuses — the only places in the United States where savants such as Noam Chomsky and Michael Moore are taken as seriously as they are everywhere outside our borders. I have therefore tried to display some patience in explaining that, no, the CIA isn't responsible for the actions of every world leader, and, yes, the World Trade Center really was brought down by Muslims, not by the Israeli Mossad.

I realize that my answers usually cut no ice with pseudo-sophisticates who think that every explanation offered by the U.S. government for its actions is a cover for some deeper, darker purpose that can only be divined by multiple viewings of "Fahrenheit 9/11." A favorite trope is to assert that every U.S. military deployment is explained by the search for oil. When a Turkish student made this argument to me, I asked her how she could explain the presence of U.S. troops in Afghanistan, Haiti, Bosnia and Kosovo, all places with no known oil reserves. I never did hear her answer because, while I was speaking, she stormed out of the room in a theatrical display of disgust.

Most people, however, are too curious, too polite or simply too lazy to walk out. They stay, they listen — and they may actually hear something that causes them to rethink the anti-American drivel peddled by their press and politicos. Tours such as the one that Hughes undertook may not change many minds, but even if her message resonates with only one or two people in every auditorium, it was worth the attempt.

Or at least so I've convinced myself. Maybe I just don't want to admit that I'm wasting my time. But I really do think there is value in conversing with people who may not realize that their poisonous perceptions of the United States are based on flimsy foundations. Given the paucity of pro-American voices around the world, it's up to Americans to go out and make these arguments ourselves.

Unfortunately, the State Department has not traditionally been very interested in speaking to foreign societies; it prefers to communicate with foreign ministries. Hughes has made a good step forward by engaging with more or less regular folks. If she can make that the State Department's normal operating mode — a big if — she will have achieved something valuable, notwithstanding all the derision heaped on her maiden voyage.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

BOOT'S LATEST
The Savage Wars of Peace: Small Wars and the Rise of American Power  

The book was selected as one of the best books of 2002 by The Washington Post, The Los Angeles Times and The Christian Science Monitor. It also won the 2003 General Wallace M. Greene Jr. Award, given annually by the Marine Corps Heritage Foundation for the best nonfiction book pertaining to Marine Corps history. Sales help fund JWR.



Max Boot is Olin Senior Fellow in National Security Studies at the Council on Foreign Relations in New York. He is also a contributing editor to The Weekly Standard and a weekly columnist for the Los Angeles Times. To comment, please click here.


Archives

© 2005, Los Angeles Times. Distributed by Los Angeles Times Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles